Child car seats: Compare features & prices Britax Baby-Safe Plus II SHR (with Isofix base) review

The Britax Baby-Safe Plus II SHR is a rearward-facing belted Group 0+ Infant carrier suitable for babies from birth to 13kg (around a year to 15 months old). It can be used mounted on an Isofix base, or belted directly into the car. It comes with the single handed release system (SHR) which allows the parent to click it free of the base using the same hand they use to lift it.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
zoecarol wrote:
Not perfect but I've been happy with it
I bought this seat not long after it was first available for sale. I have had the head lolling problem (in my 2005 Golf Plus, not a sports car) but it never seemed to bother baby at all and for a while we used one of those newborn inserts which was lent to us by a friend, and as my baby got older it got better. I now have the wedge but haven't tested this as she has just outgrown this car seat (at 16mths old, 10kg - she is quite small for her age). I have never had a problem with the handle.The reason for moving up to a new seat was largely that in a winter coat, getting the straps done up was becoming tricky, otherwise she is still in the weight and height limits of the seat.I loved using it with the BabyStyle Oyster pram - as a travel system they've been an excellent pair, and having the isofix base makes transferring from car to pushchair a doddle.I think that this is still a good seat and I trust the crash reports from Which?, but would recommend you perhaps get it fitted and compare with other car seats at the same time to see if you're happy with the recline position in your car.If we were to have another child, I would probably buy the Britax sleeper and use that until baby is too old and then switch back to this seat.
Pros:
Cons:
9/3/2012 11:35 AM GST
User Image wrote:
germain_laure wrote:
Very, very poor
We have had this car seat and base for 5 months now and we have hated it from the moment we started using it... Our baby boy's head kept flopping forward whenever we were going anywhere which made me extermely paranoid (rightly so) whenever I was driving anywhere alone with him. We went back to the independent shop we bought it from only a few days after our baby was born. They came to have a look at the seat in our car and concluded that nothing was wrong with it... So we carried on thinking it was just us who were experiencing this problem until i started looking into it on the internet a couple of months ago. I was quite angry to see that it is a common problem (we have a Ford Focus by the way, not exactly a sports car!) and that we hadn't been warned about it or told about the wedge you could request. I phoned Britax who fobbed me off nicely saying that they would send me the wedge and that basically our car was at fault not their seat. The wedge arrived but sadly didn't make much of a difference. We ended up putting a towel under the base and now our baby can nap a bit more comfortably. Now the other problem we are facing is the straps being way too short. Our baby is only 21 weeks old and we have to squeeze him in and really pull on the straps to be able to buckle. I find that it is absolutely ridiculous to have made the straps so small and I don't understand why. We are going to have to buy another seat as this one is now too small - our baby is quite big for his age, he weighs 7.5 kg but the seat is supposed to be for up to 13 kg.. what a joke!Anyway I would also like to see this product in the list of "Don't Buys" and would advise anyone not to buy it. It was the first time we bought a Britax product (bought the whole Britax travel system) and I shall never buy Britax again. I have regretted from day one not to have bought a Maxi-Cosi seat instead.
Pros:
Cons:
3/2/2012 1:23 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Moocow wrote:
Extremely disappointed
like some of the other reviewers, we bought this based largely on the which review. This was last July/August and we took possession of it in Sept, a month earlier than expected! We were also buying the babystyle oyster and it was the primary carseat recommended by them to make it into a travel system. The safety features, esp the 5 point harness and the d-sip technology helped swing us in favour of this over the maxi cosi. However, it seems in testing and reviewing this seat, a basic safety feature got overlooked: can your infant sit comfortably, with their head supported and not lolling forward? Because it would seem that the answer to this is NO. Our son is now 16 weeks old and the seat was becoming unusable: when he dozed off in the seat, his head would loll forward and br totally unsupported. It made driving on your own with him torturous, pulling in every 5 mind to try to prop him up. We bought this from an independent retailer in Dublin, ROI who were totally unaware of any issues with this seat, either of this nature or to do with the handle. They were excellent to deal with and I couldn't fault their customer service. The Irish distributor were also unaware but came back to say it didn't effect any sold in Ireland. However we were offered the wedge, just in case. Kind of contradictory IMHO. I was a but taken aback to read about the which? withdrawal of bestbuy on the britax site, together with t the 2 safety notices. I subsequently logged into which? and read all the reviews of people's similar experiences. I think this seat should be in the don't buy section - there is a serious design flaw and I hate to think what it's going to take to get britax to take this matter more seriously, and not suggest to use a rolled towel. Please, anyone considering buying this, don't.
Pros:
Cons:
12/1/2012 8:52 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Britax issues contact details for handle failure problem
Britax has approached us and has asked us to include contact details for people who have any questions about the handle failures. These are as follows: Tel 01264 386020 Email Britax_Consumercare@britax.com We ask you to continue to inform us about issues you experience with this seat and to let us know how Britax responds. We will keep you informed of progress in our discussions with Britax.
Pros:
Cons:
22/12/2011 1:17 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Update for those suffering problems with failed seat handle
BEST BUY RECOMMENDATION SUSPENDED We have reached a decision to suspend the Best Buy recommendation on this seat, because of this issue. We have been in dialogue with Britax about this, which was aware of the issue. Despite your reports that the seat has been recalled (including reports that Mothercare and Halfords were asked to remove seats from shelves), Britax says this is not the case. However, Britax considers this a serious enough problem for its designers to have made a modification. It tells us the modified version has an additional label on the handle to help users avoid the failure. But Britax has so far declined to tell us how many seats of the old design are currently in circulation, or still available for sale, without asking us to sign a non-disclosure agreement. As we cannot tell consumers that purchasing this seat will not lead to them owning one that may exhibit this problem, we have reached the decision to suspend the Best Buy recommendation. If you own one of these seats and you experience the problem, our advice is to return the seat to the retailer and ask for a replacement seat (of the modified design) or a refund. Apart from the issues raised by consumers, the Baby-Safe Plus II SHR is still an excellent seat that, in terms of crash protection and ease of use, and makes the Best Buy grade in Isofix and belted modes. We ask you to continue to inform us about issues you experience with this seat and we will keep you informed of progress in our discussions with Britax.
Pros:
Cons:
12/12/2011 11:41 AM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-06 17:36:37.887 wrote:
New version much better
The handle broke on the original seat red seat and we have been sent the new version after Mothercare told us Britax acknowledge the handle fault. The new one is the black version and is much better quality with the backrest putting our baby's head is in the right place.
Pros:
Cons:
25/11/2011 5:20 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Britax Baby-Safe Plus II broken handles
Which? Response to postings from MAC001 Thank you for your detailed comments about his seat, and in particular the recall. We had not heard about this and it is not something we could account for in our testing. Please be assured, that in response to your information we are following it up with Britax to find out the details and the models affected. We will communicate more information - and make it more widely available than currently seems to be the case as soon as we receive it. Once again, thank you for highlighting the issue, which we were not previously aware of.
Pros:
Cons:
4/11/2011 11:00 AM GST
User Image wrote:
MAC001 wrote:
Further to my below...
Further to my below review, I have received a full refund on the seat and isofix base without any quibble from Halfords. I have learnt yesterday, upon going to Mothercare and Halfords, that both shops received urgent "remove from the shelves immediately" notices from their respective head offices in the summer, and all stock was returned under recall to Britax. Apparently, Britax recalled the Baby-Safe Plus II SHR from sale for approx. 2 months whilst they investigated (and resolved?) the breaking handles and baby's head falling forwards issues. My seat, replaced on 1st October by Halfords, was proof to me that they hadn't resolved the issue very well before restocking their retailers "approx 5 weeks ago".... Anyway, this is all hearsay from 2 teenage staff on a Sunday at Halfords and Mothercare. In my opinion, considering these staff offered this info to me immediately without checking elsewhere, I'd say it was pretty big and continuous news to them. I was shown 4 returned seats, all with broken handles, at the Mothercare shop. In fact, the example on the shelf for sale was one with a broken handle!! I have seen no press announcement about the recall and there is nothing I can see on Britax's website about it, so I wonder if someone from Which can check this out? I have always bought products based upon Which's "Best Buy" over the past few years, and this is the first time I have the need to so strongly disagree. In my opinion, because of my experience, others' experience in these comments and feedback comments on other websites, I believe Which should urgently remove this product as a "Best Buy" on potential safety issues alone.
Pros:
Cons:
31/10/2011 11:35 AM GST
User Image wrote:
MAC001 wrote:
Poor build quality and design - broken handles and poor head support
We bought this seat as it is a "Best Buy". Unfortunately for us, we bought it when on offer a couple of months before our baby's birth, and more importantly before any other comment was listed from other users. Here's our experience:1. Our initial seat broke after 2 uses. The handle would not release properly - one side was firmly stuck to the seat in the vertical position whilst the other side was loosely swinging forwards and backwards.2. Our replacement seat broke yesterday after no more than 5 uses. Same problem as above.3. Our baby's head falls forwards, with no support from the seat. The seat is fixed to our car via Isofix so cannot have been fixed incorrectly. The "wedge" hasn't arrived and Britax aren't able to confirm when they can send it as none are yet in the UK.As a result of the handle breaking again, we shan't be getting another seat replacement. It's fair to say that our confidence in this seat is irretrievably lost - our baby isn't yet a month old!As an aside, upon speaking with a lady at Britax Customer Service when our first seat broke, the excuse for the need for a wedge was that "modern cars can have shaped seats". We drive a Ford S-Max and Ford recommend this particular seat. In my opinion a more accurate reason for the head flopping problem may perhaps have been "we didn't test this properly on a mass produced car that recommends Britax and that has been in existance for a number of years".
Pros:
Cons:
24/10/2011 5:39 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Response to 2011-08-01 06:03:19.72
Hello Thank you all for your comments. What you describe for both the seat and the pushchair sound like serious quality concerns (which, unfortunately our testing cannot account for, unless we experience anything similar in the samples we purchase for testing). We are not aware of any reports of wide-spread problems with Britax products in general, and we have never encountered any such issues in our testing. Our advice would be to return both products to the retailer and explain the situation. You need to give the retailer a chance to rectify the situation (which it appears you have already done for the pushchair). It is difficult to judge without seeing them, but your description sounds like the goods may not have been ‘fit for purpose’ which, if this were the case, would give you grounds for asking for a full refund, once the retailer has had the chance to make good any problems you have raised.
Pros:
Cons:
26/9/2011 9:46 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-01 06:03:19.72 wrote:
The handle broke off with baby inside
Bought this car seat based on Which review. Agree with previous head reclined position comments. But there is more...Our release button on the handle was faulty from the beginning but didn't want to take it further and thought that careful use would suffice. As one side of the handle broke off when stuck - could not repair as was travelling; one month on - the handle broke off on the other side too, but this time it nearly ended up in an accident as the little one was in - the seat plunged down to the ground transferring it from the travel system into the car. Thank God my boy was strapped in! Unfortunately bought this car seat and the Britax pushchair too.. as the travel system...Can't even start telling what's wrong with this item...First breakes went wrong and got repaired but had to pay for one way dispatch to the workshop. Breakes went again after a month. Now, two month on I try not to put breakes on as spend 5-10 min getting the pushchair going. We are buying another pushchair but might keep the carseat for another four months as then will need another car seat. All in all, the pushchair was and is a complete waste of money - and dangerous too.
Pros:
Cons:
18/9/2011 6:49 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Further response to all concerned:
Following up on the issues raised, I have now heard from Britax, which acknowledges this can be an issue with some cars and now explains its position on the Britax website (http://www.britax.co.uk/customer-service/product-information-angle-wedge) The new angle wedge is included in all its black BABY-SAFE Belted Base and the black BABY-SAFE ISOFIX base from October 2011. Consumers who already own one of the two products and would like to obtain the angle wedge can request this free from August 31st 2011 from either its Customer Service Department or selected retailers. Hopefully this will help resolve the issue for anybody who experiences it.
Pros:
Cons:
5/9/2011 12:27 PM GDT
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy