Pushchairs: Compare features & prices Mamas & Papas Sola review Back to Results

The Mamas & Papas Sola travel system pushchair can be used as a pram with the Sola carrycot for newborns or a Cybex Aton or Primo Viaggio car seat - although all of these will cost you extra. We put the Mamas & Papas Sola travel system pushchair through its paces in our expert tests.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
unclebull wrote:
2 years later and worth every penny
We bought this for our first baby and have found it to be really reliable. Our son is now almost 2 and half and we still use it regularly - I've not experienced any problems with it, (although I do know what people mean about the back rest as on the odd occasion it has not clicked into place properly however I always check it is secure - which I think I would do with any backrest?!) I bought the footmuff and changing bag but didn't bother with the parasol. We used the maxicosi car seat with it which needed special adapters, but that was the car seat I wanted and it all worked fine. I love the fact that you can turn the seat to face you - and still put it up this way if my little boy is sleeping :) The storage basket is very roomy, I always manage to stow everything away in it. The adjustable handle it great, I'm 5'6 and OH is 6'2, we both find it very comfy to push. It's also pretty light compared to friends pushchairs I've pushed.
Pros:
Cons:
1/4/2013 7:23 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
CMR400607001 wrote:
Thought it was good
Nice to start with. Worked perfectly in the beginning. After only 6 months use the left back wheel fell off. This cannot be due to wear and tear since we have never taken off the wheels to out it into a car. In general this is not a quality product you would expect at this price range. We will not be trusting this brand with our child again....
Pros:
Cons:
25/3/2013 5:40 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-08 20:55:03.237 wrote:
sola disaster
We have also been disappointed by the quality of the sola having brought it on the grounds that it was a which best buy. We have found the recline mechanism unreliable _ not always clicking into place - resulting in a sitting up baby suddenly finding herself lying down! Then a few weeks ago one of the back wheels fell off and wouldn't go back on. M & p were unwilling to help as we'd purchased from 'baby planet'at the baby show. Baby planet were unable to offer a replacement for the 2 weeks it took to be repaired as we couldn't visit their shop in Leicestershire (we live in Sussex). There must be pushchairs out there that are better quality, I certainly wouldn't buy this one again and following our experience of m & p's customer services we won't be buying from them again at all.
Pros:
Cons:
24/3/2013 7:37 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-10 18:02:42.28 wrote:
Super Dad
We love it and even took it on holiday with us. It is a great pram and is great for going on family walks and to Manchester city centre when we go shopping
Pros:
Cons:
28/10/2012 3:38 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-07-30 10:19:20.337 wrote:
Disappointed
We have also had the same wheel problem, have had buggy for a year and one of the wheels comes right off, making it totally unusable. Mamas and Papas seemed familiar with the problem when I rang and will repair for free but we live miles from the store and I dont drive, so have had to take the collection option for which there is no replacement buggy. So we have had to buy a second buggy while the repair takes place! Obviously won't be buying M&P again.
Pros:
Cons:
21/9/2012 8:59 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-06 11:23:39.507 wrote:
Great travel system push chair
I LOVE this pushchair! I researched for months before buying this, and had a good look at a friends one. My baby is a large 15 wk old and has just grown out of the cot attachment but I borrowed it from my friend and it was great would recommend as it made a great travel cot during the first few months, and was very good when out and about for him to sleep in - perhaps why he's been so easy to take out and about. The buggy itself is very, very easy to use and has some great features that make it handy such as a good basket, easy to collapse and put up, and a really good adjustable handle. It maneuvers really well too - I managed to steer it with one finger today, with shopping in and my baby! I use with a MaxiCosi Cabriolet car seat which works very well too. Only negative is the parasol - not worth buying as it falls over but a scarf or muslin over the front of the buggy works well so not a problem. Would definitely recommend. Is is big though so lucky I have a car with a big boot.
Pros:
Cons:
31/7/2012 10:33 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
CMR400755155 wrote:
good pushchair - but still go out and try before you buy
We looked at various pushchairs, read reviews on sites like Which, Amazon and in the end we narrowed down to a few of them.Luckily for us in Huddersfield there is a Mamas & Papas factory outlet - we saved over £100 by buying from the outlet ratehr than the normal M&S shop.We went there, the staff were very helpful and try few of them and it came down between M&S Sola and Urbo.It was a close call but decided to go with the Sola because:- 1 - when folded the Sola stands perfectly upright without needing to lean it against the wall- 2 - when carrying it folded, because the Sola has a tubular frame it's much more comfortable to lift & carry then the Urbo which has a sharp metal edge between the front wheels.Although it does take most of the boot our new Polo it does fit which was a relief ;)
Pros:
Cons:
26/7/2012 9:53 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Thanks for your comments about the backrest
Thank you to everyone who has posted comments about the backrest.We will be talking to Mamas & Papas about this issue to see if we can get them to provide advice about what to do if this problem occurs and take a look into why this occurs and do something to address it. We hope that we'll be able to report on our progress with this issue soon.
Pros:
Cons:
20/7/2012 3:43 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-15 09:33:24.177 wrote:
Mr. Dad
The wheels are fine and very easy to push and maneuver but chair is not good. The back of chair always falls down. I wouldn't recommend you to buy this product.
Pros:
Cons:
4/7/2012 8:50 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-16 09:34:36.187 wrote:
I'm surprised this is still a Best Buy
We bought this on the strength of the Best Buy rating but experienced many of the problems described by others here. The backrest is definitely a problem but the fatal flaw was the difficulty folding it down. The mechanism began to stick in the first three months and finally jammed altogether. Mamas & Papas took a long time to understand that we couldn't return it to a store - we'd bought it online as there was no store near, and even if there had been it wouldn't fit in the car because we could no longer fold it down! There's plenty of others to choose from - avoid this one.
Pros:
Cons:
29/5/2012 9:20 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
kw1981 wrote:
Even with the backrest problems - love this pushchair
I have been really happy with my Sola,overall. It's good value for money, easy to manoeuvre, easy to fold, pretty lightweight and looks really good. But, I have to agree with the other comments about the backrest. My son is 14 months now and a BIG BOY! I don't think it can quite cope! The backrest has difficulty in 'clicking' in to the upright position and often goes a bit lopsided, which leaves my son looking a little uncomfortable. I am expecting again and just about to sell it for a double. If I were keeping it longer term I would definately complain to M&P about it. Hopefully they are working to resolve the issue if so many people are noticing the same thing.
Pros:
Cons:
30/3/2012 7:13 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
CMR400201284 wrote:
Good in theory, poor quality lets it down
I loved my Sola at first - I loved the fact it could be rear-facing or forward-facing, and thought it looked great and was nice and light. The folding mechanism seemed easy enough and the wheels felt sturdy. However, after only three months use, the folding mechanism began to stick, which eventually led to me taking the pushchair back to M&P to get repaired. When I went to collect it a week later, the problem hadn't been fixed at all, and I couldn't collapse the pushchair no matter how much I tried, and neither could the member of staff who was helping me. The shop staff were obviously embarrassed by this, and gave me a new chassis. Within five months, the front wheels were sticking when I went down kerbs, sometimes jamming completely. One of the wheels didn't seem to touch the ground properly (meaning the chassis was twisted). Also, the side bar of the chassis kept coming unfolded without me doing anything, so it was partially collapsing on one side as it went along. Not good. So I took it back to M&P again, and they sent it off for repair. Then, two months later, the back right wheel just randomly came off when I was walking one day! Not good at all. So I took the pushchair back AGAIN and this time demanded a refund (which I got). I wouldn't recommend this pushchair at all, despite it looking great and seeming like a good product at the outset. The quality is just very poor. I had four different faults with my two Solas. I wouldn't recommend M&P either - very bad customer service. They just try to fob you off. I only bought the Sola because of the positive Which? review. I wish I hadn't, now. I know it's difficult to assess how well a product will wear, but this is quite a major factor with things like pushchairs. I'm more bothered about how long-lasting it is than how good it looks at first!
Pros:
Cons:
15/1/2012 8:14 PM GST
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy