Electric shavers: Compare features & prices Philips PowerTouch PT870CC review

The Philips PowerTouch PT870CC electric shaver claims to lift hair as it cuts for a closer, smoother shave. But how good is this electric shaver at cutting through beard growth and stubble? And is it gentle on your skin? We put it to the test to find out.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (7)
User Image wrote:
marcusstewart wrote:
Irritation
Good on the face, but if not very careful it scratches my neck and leaves it irritated. For the neck I find a foil shaver better - but for the face this rotary (except for sideburns: a rotary can't cut a straight line!) Thus I often use both types.The cleaning station is annoying, as some Amazon users have posted: the difference between min and max solution levels is very small, so the unit only works a few times - having been topped to max - before it needs refilling to max again. And it won't work at all if this isn't done... I'd say this is a serious design flaw.
Pros:
Cons:
3/11/2013 10:13 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-05 19:46:49.06 wrote:
Hawke45
An excellent shave,and the fact it does cleaning,drying and charging by itself in the base unit is wonderful
Pros:
Cons:
10/8/2013 4:28 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
appletop wrote:
Good razor, not sure about the cleaning system
The head frame on my old Philips razor broke and the replacement part was discontinued in UK/Europe 6 years ago, so I bought this one recently as a replacement. The shave is slightly better than my previous razor (possibly down to the newness of the blades). The Jet Clean system is bulky as some of your testers have found, and I think the instructions (which are all pictorial) are unclear. The cleaning solution at around £5 for 300ml will work out expensive in the long run and I may revert to rinsing the razor under the tap, as I did with my previous razor all those years. By the way, I subsequently found a replacement head frame for my old Philips razor on Amazon.com (the US site) - they use the name Norelco over there - and luckily I knew someone who was coming over to the UK and could bring it with them, so I now have a spare razor.
Pros:
Cons:
14/10/2012 9:32 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-29 13:57:58.31 wrote:
Disappointing performance
This gives me a very poor shave, not nearly as good as the Remington I had 2 shavers ago, even when used for twice as long.The good points are that it is very quiet, and it does not irritate my skin - but these are because it doesn't really shave effectively!
Pros:
Cons:
10/9/2012 4:52 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
minard wrote:
check the model reference
The price information here refers to the PT870, and not the PT870CC with the self-cleaning system. Otherwise, and it's easy enough to clean anyway, it's the same shaver.
Pros:
Cons:
12/2/2012 5:05 PM GST
User Image wrote:
TallAndy wrote:
Great replacement.
I got this as a replacement for an ageing Philips shaver, which was a replacement for a Braun. Loved the old one which died after over10 yrs service and looking forward to a minimum of 10 yrs for this one. Nice shave and so easy to clean, can't really fault it. Also the washing machine is handy if a tad big but I can't see how it could be made any smaller with out getting rid of the shaver.
Pros:
Cons:
15/1/2012 6:27 PM GST
User Image wrote:
singletonb4 wrote:
Irritates my neck s...
Irritates my neck skin causing a rash and makes it unusable for me. It doesn't shave as close as my Remington foil. I wouldn't recommend it.
Pros:
Cons:
13/12/2011 10:30 AM GST

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy