Barbecues: Compare features & prices Weber One Touch Premium Charcoal Barbecue 57cm review

The Weber One Touch Premium 57cm is a stylish charcoal kettle barbecue with lots of the high-spec features Weber are renowned for, and a price-tag to match. But do these features really enhance the barbecuing experience, and does this Weber One Touch Premium charcoal barbecue actually cook good food? We put it to the test to find out.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
russ.p wrote:
RP
I've used Webers for about ten years including the one touch premium and smokey joe portables. they have always been just superb although you do need to learn how to light them and get used to cooking 'with the lid on'. We live by the sea so beach barbies happen often throughout the summer and over the years all our friends have converted to Webers once they see how well made they are and how well they work. There's an almost spiritual quality to these barbies - they look great and simply work - and becuase they last forever they become like old family friends. I can't recommend them higly enough.
Pros:
Cons:
13/4/2014 12:06 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
RobScriv wrote:
The standard to judge others by IMHO
The Weber is the ONLY charcoal BBQ to buy (if you can afford it). There are a multitude of accessories, from tool holders, lid holders, lighting chimneys to side tables and covers etc. Every thing that you could want from a charcoal BBQ this does it. I've had one for over 10 years and it is great, it has lived outside most of the time (except the depths of winter) and mostly without a cover. I've never bothered with anything other than a warming rack, tool holder and chimney and for a brief period a cover. I have cooked everything from whole legs of lamb to burgers and sausages and it does it all brilliantly. I've just replaced the ash cleaner at the bottom of mine which has finally given up the ghost and other than a bit of rust on a few dings it looks good for another few years (hopefully).Don't buy cheap Chinese crap it won't last and will be worse value long term.
Pros:
Cons:
31/5/2013 4:51 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
csdcom wrote:
Warranty
I have to agree with the comments made by everybody else regarding this BBQ. The one thing that is not mentioned in the review is that it comes with a 10 year warranty. You do not even need to put it away in the winter mine has been outside for three years and still looks like new. you could always buy a cover if you wanted to but there is no real need
Pros:
Cons:
22/5/2013 7:17 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
CMR400372341 wrote:
Simply the best
I was slightly shocked when i saw this product wasn't included in the 'Best Buys'. At the sub £500 mark there is no BBQ which comes close to this product. If you're looking for a BBQ which you can cook top quality meat on then this is the one to go for. If you're only planning to cook sausages and burgers then buy somthing cheaper. But even then the Weber cooks even the basics to a high standard. Worth the extra money, you'll end up using this all year round
Pros:
Cons:
4/6/2012 10:47 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-28 20:43:44.793 wrote:
Webber Lover
I have had a webber performer bbq for 5 years now. It overcomes the issues regarding storage of the lid with an integral lid holder, has a large table to place all the heavy dishes and it is very stable to move around the garden even when hot. Its great for grilling, I have cooked the Christmas turkey and various roast joints on it as well because the indirect cooking is excellent. The meat is always juicy, full of flavour and well cooked and I would recommend it to everyone.
Pros:
Cons:
2/6/2012 7:33 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
virtual3 wrote:
A classic
Just bought this wonderful barbecue in lime green. Having a lid and a built in thermometer is a fantastic idea as cooking time is vastly reduced. No more dodgy undercooked meat!I would recommend getting the attached bamboo side table and the little hooks for hanging your cooking utensils on.Weber are about to release a pizza unit which replaces the lid. It allows you to get up to 400c, so if you are a pizza fan this is the 'must have' item of the summer.
Pros:
Cons:
1/6/2012 12:14 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Manouverability, cleaning and indirect grilling
Thanks, all, for posting such detailed feedback about this barbecue. It’s really useful for other readers to know about the wide range of Weber accessories available because we have to test all models with just the accessories that come ‘in the box’ so we can be consistent. Didhams and exoldbill – The manoeuvrability rating in made up of scores for how heavy it is to move, how stable it is during transport and how easy it is to manoeuvre. While the Weber One Touch Premium is light and easy to move around our testers found it could suddenly tip up on an uneven surface or if the front handle is lifted too high. They also found it overly unstable when wheeling, so people may be more inclined to lift and carry it by the two handles. Overall, they felt this makes it harder to move about than some of the other models we tested. By contrast, the Outback Omega was stable during transport, but it was heavy and awkward to manoeuvre. Both barbecues had good points but they also fell down in other areas of this test, hence their overall rating of two stars each. Didhams – when it comes to cleaning, eight out of the nine charcoal barbecues we tested had either ash collectors or removable charcoal trays, so thankfully scooping messy charcoal out of the base by hand was not something we had to contend with. The Weber’s One Touch’s ash collector was easy to remove but the handle wasn’t insulated very well, so you could easily burn your fingers if you try and empty it too soon after use. These two elements combined accounts for its three star rating. Exoldbill – you raise an interesting point about this barbecue’s cooking versatility because it’s geared up for both direct and indirect grilling (ie roasting). This year’s test just assessed grilling ability, but I agree it would be really useful to highlight that hooded barbecues can roast food and that some allow you to alter the heat source to do this more effectively. It’s something we will consider carefully for the next barbecue test and look at how we can incorporate it into the total test score.
Pros:
Cons:
5/8/2011 12:07 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
chris wrote:
Accessories should be acknowledged
I feel this Which review is overly critical. You say there is no warming rack, but one is commonly available, along with a lot of other accessories. You criticise manouverability, but its ridiculous to give it the same two stars as the Omega Outback that doesn't fit through a shed door. I do agree that the lack of shelving means a side-table is required, but I specifically didn't buy the Outback because its shelves don't fold for storage.The lid is heavy but the slide-aside holder accessory addresses this. And doesn't heavy mean its going to last a long time?The review also fails to mention the ash collector mechanism which means you don't have to remove any grills and scoop out the ash.I would also recommend the lighting chimmney which vastly speeds up the process and gets all the coals evenly alight. It also just needs firelighters rather than messy liquids.Granted these accessories add further cost, but they can be bought economically online and add a great deal of support to a quality product.
Pros:
Cons:
28/7/2011 8:56 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
osprey99 wrote:
Opens your eyes to a new world!
It soon becomes your best friend for life!
Pros:
Cons:
15/6/2011 3:30 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
keithhickson wrote:
The best I've used
Firstly I don't know what the Which testers use as a guidline for manouverability, this BBQ has smooth running wheels and two handles and can be moved with one hand. Now I have to agree with the not-so Mad Major, there are so many add-ons available for the Weber BBQs you can easily get overexcited. The BBQ cooks superbly both in direct and most importantly indirect grilling. Indirect grilling is something not easily done other that on a kettle BBQ. Weber includes racks to hold the charcoal to the perimeter of the grill allowing food to be placed between them. This, with the addition of soaked woodchips, allows for "smoke-roasting" and the ability to impart a heavy or light smoke to your food if you wish.
Pros:
Cons:
8/6/2011 1:05 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
chrisburn wrote:
I bought this barbe...
I bought this barbeque after spending a Saturday afternoon racing round Leicester trying to buy a barque to cook for the family that had just arrived from America for my daughter's wedding. We found a flimsy Chinese affair which sufficed for the day but has many drawbacks like a tipping top which required alot of room to work with. By contrast, the Weber has a neat carrier for the top which hangs off the side of the barbeque and acts as a small windbreak when lighting up. The obvious benefite of a Weber is the superb construction. I have had many barbeques over the years, mainly because of the cheap nature of the product sold in the UK. I discovered the quality of American barbeques whilst working there, everything is built to last with a proper paint finish designed for the job in hand. The MadMajor is right, you become a Weber fan but of course this makes it easy for the kids to buy you presents as they know what you like but also that their present will last and last as well as meaning there will be good food when they come to stay. It's a quality product with ne sharp edges, the lid is easy to fit and keeps the rain off the food. I've never found the need for a storage rack, the food is eaten as soon as cooked. We do a nice slab of sirloin 30 - 40mm thick - absolutely beautiful although it has to be said that barbequing cheap chipolatas gives the best improvement of flavour ever. A very good product, well made, easy to use with an excellent support structure
Pros:
Cons:
5/6/2011 12:01 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Major01803 wrote:
THEMADMAJOR
I selected this barbecue in a hurry but have not regretted it. The feature I really do like is the roasting coupled with the ability to control the temperature by careful adjustments of the air vent in the bottom and the vent at the top. The newer units do come with a built in thermometer fitted on the top. If you have the older unit a purpose built thermometer an be purchased which fits into the top section.One is given two containers for holding the barbecue fuel, and by just using one rather than both it is possible to roast at lower temperatures but with a finer temperature control. If one finishes for the night, and decides to shut all the vents the burning will completely stop enabling one to use the fuel for next time with some more briquets added of course.Purchasing this barbecue has made me a bit of a Weber fanatic since I now obtain my fuel from them, lighters, cleaning materials, heat protection for hands etc. They do have a plethora of items one can purchase for this barbecue unit, and most importantly this includes grilling racks which can become so embaked from the grilling it is better to purchase again. Needless to say there are regular emails featuring recipes, new products, competitions etc.One item I did purchase from Weber on offer at the time which I thought would be a white elephant was a wireless thermometer which enabled one to push a probe into the chicken, turkey, meat etc and then monitor the temperature if one had other duties to fulfil such as greeting guests who were some distance away.This has proved most useful and enables me to convince some of these barbecue sceptical type guests that the chicken really is fully roasted or at least ready to be eaten.
Pros:
Cons:
21/5/2011 9:23 AM GDT

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy