Freestanding cookers: Compare features & prices AEG 49332I-MN review Back to Results

This freestanding electric cooker with a double oven from AEG offers plenty of choice when it comes to cooking methods, and benefits from the speed and convenience of an induction hob. The 49332I-MN is fully programmable too - but does it cook quickly and evenly? We sent this electric induction cooker to the test lab to find out.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
MaggieC wrote:
Disappointing
I'm amazed that this is a 'best buy'. bought this cooker 4 weeks before Christmas and was quite excited by it's sleek looks, easy cleaning and great hob. My Christmas turkey was undercooked and had to go back in for an hour, but I put this down to my inexperience of the different cooking functions. However 4 months and several underdone roasts, pasty roast potatoes and soggy bottoms later, I read the review above (Nice hob, shame about the rest) and bought an oven thermometer. Lo and behold, the top oven is consistently 60c below the set temperature across all functions, while the main oven is between 40c and 60c below depending on function. Given the price and the reputation of AEG, I find this extremely disappointing. One of the reasons I bought it was the fact that the oven supposedly heats up to 280c for baking pizza, but the most I can get out of it is 220c. I've contacted their service dept for advice but haven't had the courtesy of a reply. Not happy.
Pros:
Cons:
10/4/2014 6:54 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
CMR304742382 wrote:
Best Cooker I have owned, probably the worst manual
After reading some reviews of the 49332I-MN, I was a little nervous about buying one, so much so I hung on to my old cooker just in case. I need not have worried as all the functions worked just fine during the little acceptance test that I performed. Often the problem with customer reviews is that dissatisfied customers are more motivated to write a review than a satisfied customer, thus leading to a skewed impression of the product, but you can never be sure! The temperature accuracy of the ovens was astounding; the top oven is slightly cooler at the bottom than at the top but the temperature remains even across the whole width and depth of the shelf. This top oven takes around eight to twelve minutes to reach temperature dependent upon set temperature, no real discernable overshoot suggesting a reasonably sophisticated control system. I managed to produce a tray of four perfectly risen mini Yorkshire puds at the first attempt. My previous cooker could not achieve this due to the temperature variation front to back and side to side as well as the generally poor temperature control.I have only used the main oven in anger using fan mode so far, for doing the Sunday roast. Once again because of the even and accurate temperatures throughout the volume you could not fault the results. This main oven reaches temperature more quickly than the top oven, just six to nine minutes depending upon the set temperature.The lighting in both ovens is excellent and it is useful to be able to activate them without having the oven on for cleaning purposes.Grilling with the door closed is new to me; I guess that is part of getting an ‘A’ efficiency rating. The grill in the lower oven will probably get used more for rotitherm mode than grilling but it is a useful addition.To date my only use of the hobs was during my initial acceptance test, certainly better than my old halogen ceramic hob. Having to buy a bunch of new pans was a pain, most of my frying pans and casserole pots are cast iron but all my other pans were aluminium and some only recently purchased. I do like the fact that the top stays relatively cool due to the induction heating method, less chance of hard to shift burnt on spills.The controls are a little confusing to the first time user, up / down arrows for temperature on hob controls and +/- for temperature on oven controls, why? Actually the controls are quite easy to understand after a little frantic prodding to see what happens, just as well as the manual is really not much help beyond explaining what each of the symbols mean.
Pros:
Cons:
2/4/2014 2:45 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-12 16:31:48.443 wrote:
Allan
My wife is disappointed with your best buy report as certain points not included. Timer switches off the oven when time is up. Note I am not allowed to touch so presume there is no timer only function. Also unable to have the grill and bottom oven on at the same time. Cannot have two ovens on at once hence cannot warm plates in one oven while cooking in the oven.Last cooker Belling format 600X had these facilities so obviously my wife compares the two and is disappointed with this purchase.
Pros:
Cons:
19/3/2014 7:47 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-06-08 09:42:00.063 wrote:
Problems:-1. Controls are unreadable in dim light.2. Instruction manual could be a lot clearer.3. Top over drop-down door makes access to that oven/hob quite difficult.
Pros:
Cons:
26/11/2013 7:58 AM GST
User Image wrote:
Catlady wrote:
Very pleased
I bought this cooker about 10 months ago and have been very pleased with it. The hob is easy to clean and the rings are very controllable. They can be set from 1-9 or on full power which heats a pan up to boiling in seconds. The lowest setting is barely a simmer and so I would say this is better than a gas ring in that respect. The only slight downside is the touch controls that sometimes do not react especially if the hob or your fingers are wet.The oven and grill are also excellent and heat up very quickly. This cooker has all the usual features plus a few extra ones. I particularly like the combi fan/top element setting that constantly switches between the two thus browning/crisping the food efficiently. Also, the timers for individual rings are useful as they will then switch themselves off at the end - no more pans boiling dry!
Pros:
Cons:
11/9/2013 4:18 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-30 22:31:31.867 wrote:
Does what it says
Changed to this machine about a year ago or so - and found it very easy to use. Once you get used to the console, timing and temperatures needed, it's absolutely fine - very easy to clean and keep clean, and really fast for both ovens - nb use a lower temperature than probably used on old cooker - this one is efficient and you are completely in control of what you want to do with it. It's stylish - plain with no old fashioned fiddly push buttons or switches - as a male (my wife will back this up) I find it eminently practical, and dead easy to keep clean. One tip, as we had the cooker delivered in winter, we left it first packed, then unpacked, for a couple of days to allow it to get up to ambient temperature with its kitchen setting - and ever since, no problems of any kind.
Pros:
Cons:
29/8/2013 7:18 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-02-19 18:59:12.78 wrote:
2011-02-19+18:59:12.78
Bought this appliance as it was a WHICH best buy but there was (according to information from AEG given to the retailer) a section of the underside cover missing that I only spotted whilst adjusting the feet for levelling. This then exposed the thermal insulation of the lower oven which in itself isn't unusual as other cookers have no cover at all. However, this insulation is very close to the floor and had a taped overlap joint where the cover should be which I felt could be dangerous if the tape ever parted, so I requested a replacement which duly arrived. But before bringing it into the house I had the delivery guys unwrap it on the back of the truck and again the same cover was missing although this time the insulation had a length of galvanised wire wrapped around it as well as the taped joint. This, I felt, was poor basic engineering for such a relatively expensive appliance made by a company renowned for its quality.I've requested a refund.
Pros:
Cons:
3/7/2013 11:36 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-06-21 20:32:54.93 wrote:
Nice Hob, shame about the rest
We replaced our first 49332I-MN however are about to get rid of this one as well.The induction hob is great. Quick, fairly easy to get used to and very responsive.The oven temperature accuracy is awful, despite the 'Which' review stating 'very accurate'. Why do I say this? Well having tried to cook 3 roast dinners using conventional and fan modes, on recommended pre-heated ovens, all food was undercooked. (The only way we ate at all those days was by maxing' the temperature and taking a look every so often).Worried that I had been cooking at the wrong temperatures all these years on my old cooker, I bought a stand-alone oven temperature gauge to see the difference between the oven indicated temperature and the stand-alone gauge (and yes, I appreciate that the accuracy of the separate gauge may be wanting as well). However a difference of 40deg C between oven indicated and the separate indicator (with the oven being cooler) did not bode well. As a confirmatory common sense check, I cooked a small room temperature chicken in the main oven @ 190deg C for 80 min (the advertised cooking time on the bird). After 45 min I had a look and could just about pick up the bird in bare hands. Again we only had something on the table that night by maxing the temperature.Deeply disappointed with AEG. Maybe 'Which' testers had an accurate sample, but at £1000 per cooker, I expected a lot better....
Pros:
Cons:
6/5/2013 8:43 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-08 01:27:39.187 wrote:
I do not trust it
I bought this model 3 weeks ago from the internet. First came with a faulty main oven door. It couldn't close. The suplier exchange it with a new one. The second one came with faulty hob. The left side of the hob was causing troubles to the rest and the oven and was putting the power down all the time. How can you trust this cooker? I am so sorry for the brand and the features of it. I am absolutely dissapointed from aeg
Pros:
Cons:
12/3/2013 2:21 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-12 13:34:42.917 wrote:
Love it
Controls are easy, it even took my 80 year old mother only a few minutes to understand ( alright she is also comfortable using an Ipad), fast and easy to clean hob, spacious ovens which a wide range of heating options. I like it and agree with the rating given by Which.
Pros:
Cons:
3/2/2013 1:51 PM GST
User Image wrote:
nick wrote:
Huge oven; poor design of controls; slow to heat-up grill
I had planned to buy the Belling FSE601 cooker with indction hob before I read the Which? review and bought this; I wish I hadn't read the review as I would have saved £400 and had better controls and grill.The AEG grill does not have a half side heat option, it takes a long time to heat up (the user guide says heat it for 5 minutes before use) and it then gets VERY hot; it may be fine for use when prolonged grilling is needed but not for a quick cheese on toast. Also the grill pan does not slide smoothly and has no handle.I agree completely with the review by HBA2001, that the controls for the oven are very poor; you can only see what is set for one oven at a time.The timer is not straighforward, incrementing slowly for 3 minutes then shooting up to 20 minutes in a second. The beeper is not loud enough and stops after 2 minutes.The clock display is replaced by the oven temperature when in use.The ovens are however very large (great for use once a year for Christmas dinner!)So if you have a seperate toaster, timer, clock and only need to know what is happening in one oven at a time, and do not mind repeatedly tapping the controls to get where you would be in one second with a standard knob (and have £400 to waste), then this is the cooker for you.I cannot believe the Which? team put much effort into testing this in a real life situation; I will be cancelling my subscription.
Pros:
Cons:
4/9/2012 12:56 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
HBA2001 wrote:
Controls/displays need a rethink
We agree with everything that Which says about this model (although we haven't noticed the hob zones heating unevenly as claimed in their report). But there are a few weaknesses that we feel Which could have highlighted.Firstly, each hob zone has a dedicated group of touch controls: up and down chevrons to increase and decrease power, and another control labelled "Power" which users new to the cooker will naturally assume switches on that zone. What it actually does, with one quick touch and with no confirmation required, is turn that zone on at the 3.2kW boost input level. We feel that this touch control should therefore actually be labelled "Boost" and possibly only activateable in conjunction with the chevrons, as the power level is VERY high (To be honest, we have yet to find a need for it; setting 9 using the chevrons - 2.3kW - is extremely fast anyway).But our chief criticism is of the oven controls and displays. Firstly, a minor niggle -- here up and down chevron touch controls are used not to adjust power levels (as for the the hob), but to step the ovens through their various operating modes ie nothing to do with increasing or decreasing anything! So a confusing inconsistency there. (How about symbols, Electrolux?)Far worse than that is the fact that because only one oven's temperature is displayed at a time, the user simply doesn't know what state the "other" oven is in. The only indication of power to the oven not being currently displayed is the modest lamp in the oven itself, which is not visible when looking down on the control panel. As we found in the early days, it is all too easy to inadvertently switch on the top oven at a default setting of 200 degC, and not know it. (This is achieved by touching the down chevron, which is immediately adjacent to the "oven select" touch zone). There really need to be TWO temperature bar-graphs, one above the other for top and bottom cavities. Or, if space cannot be found for this, at the very least a flashing pinpoint LED to indicate when the "other" oven is active.Having had the above moan about the display and controls shortcomings (which of course you cannot find out about in a showroom since cookers are seldom connected to the supply, and which is particularly applicable to equipment with all-electronic control), we have to close by saying that the performance of both hob and ovens is superb. The speed and CONTROLLABILITY of the hob leaves our previous ceramic type in the shade, and the individual cook timers for the four zones are proving very useful. Both ovens give excellent results with apparently very accurate temperatures maintained. Also the kitchen now stays cooler thanks to the efficiency of the induction hob, and the well insulated ovens.And, although by no means cheap, it does come with 5-years parts and labour warranty, which suggests Electrolux have confidence in the electronics!
Pros:
Cons:
2/8/2012 12:25 PM GDT
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy