Breadmakers: Compare features & prices Panasonic SDZB-2502 review Back to Results

The Panasonic SD-ZB 2502, with its unique yeast dispenser, is billed as the 'ultimate bread-making machine'. We reveal how it fared against two other popular Panasonic models in our full test results.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
MichaelB wrote:
MichaelB
My wife bought me this machine as a present and it has been a big disappointment. I have tried three different recipes, following the instructions exactly, and each one has been poorly mixed, has risen unevenly and is under-baked. The ingredients are not to blame as my old machine still delivers an excellent loaf using identical flour etc. When my wife phoned Lakeland (who supplied it) she got the clear impression we were far from alone in complaining. All credit to Lakeland, anyway, as they are offering a refund with no quibble at all.
Pros:
Cons:
3/3/2014 8:14 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Chirpy wrote:
I looked at the the low score the Panasonic SDZB-2502 received from Which Magazine and I'm wondering if they've reviewed the same machine as the one I bought? I've used mine three times a week for two months now and I've never had the paddle stick in the bread. Admittedly I haven't had it very long but I just keep coming up with excellent results time after time. The Spicy Fruit Loaf (the recipe is in the instruction manual) is to die for and the Raisin Nut Dispenser works a treat. Cleaning it is a doddle too. Well done Panasonic on producing an excellent breadmaker. I used to have an Aldi (Delta) one before this and although I was pleased with the results, the bread produced by my Panasonic is in a totally different league, even though I'm using exactly the same ingredients. I'm so pleased I based my decision to buy it on the reviews from Amazon. Sorry Which Magazine but I think you need to reappraise this machine.
Pros:
Cons:
28/2/2014 6:19 PM GST
User Image wrote:
ccwestuk wrote:
Very pleased
Bought as a replacement for 10 yr old Russell Hobbs which though still working was a bit tired. Very pleased with the panasonic, excellent bread every time, never had a sticking paddle, overnight baking is excellent too (something the old R-H was poor at), very quiet in operation. Made the panettone (twice) from the recipe book at Christmas and was much enjoyed by all. Downside … it's a big heavy old thing if you keep it tucked away like we do and get it out each time. If you've got the room, keep it out on the worktop. Sidewalls feel a bit flimsy too, so take care not to dent them by mistake when lifting it.
Pros:
Cons:
31/1/2014 2:21 PM GST
User Image wrote:
ClareC wrote:
Makes good bread, beware the ingredient dispenser
I had a bad experience with a cheap breadmaker, so I decided to trade up to this top of the range machine. In general, I am very pleased with the quality of bread that it produces. I find, however, that it is necessary to buy expensive flour in order to get good results; those who are hoping to bake bread cheaply may be disappointed. In fact, my machine came with a note advising users to buy extra-strong Canadian flour, which comes at a price and is not available at my local shop.Alas, this breadmaker hasn't quite been the trouble-free machine I had hoped. Unfortunately the ingredient dispenser isn't working properly. It seems to be OK if it only has to deal with a few seeds, but it cannot cope with the 150 grams of dry ingredients which some of the recipes in Panasonic's own recipe leaflet require. Indeed, it cannot cope with 100 grams. The release mechanism simply doesn't produce the force necessary to open the box. Since many customers appear to find that their machine functions without a problem. I can only conclude that I have somehow acquired a dud. I have contacted Panasonic support and await a response ...There are a few other quirks that potential buyers should be aware of. First of all, the machine has a long 'rest' perod at the beginning of each programme. This can mean up to an hour in which the machine jus tsits there doing absolutely nothing. It can, therefore, take five hours for the breadmaker to produce a loaf. I've read that the rest period is to allow the ingredients to reach the correct temperature and 'mingle'. That way, apparently, better results are obtained. However, there is absolutely no way to override the rest period. I think there should be. Personally I'd be prepared to take a risk on the sitting-there-doing-nothing bit of the programme if I were pushed for time. Other breadmakers seem to cough up satisfactory results without it. In fact, in general there is little flexibility with this machine; there is no way for the operator to tweak programmes to their own requirements.If you stick to the recipe book and want a bung-everything-in-and-forget machine, this is a very good one. As long as you get a functioning ingredient dispenser.
Pros:
Cons:
26/1/2014 8:56 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-02 15:27:11.797 wrote:
great
Bread is good, it does what it says it will do. Haven't tried all the programmes, but a good variety to choose from.
Pros:
Cons:
27/5/2013 3:04 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
steve.lockwood wrote:
I now use the machi...
I now use the machine on 'bake rapid' and get just as good wholemeal loaves as I did when I used the full programme.Choice of a good yeast and good flour is key. Start using the machine with Panasonic's recipes and instructions but do not feel afraid to experiment when you get some experience.We've seldom bought bread in the past 12 years, since we had our first Panasonic.Brilliant machines.
Pros:
Cons:
27/5/2013 9:34 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2010-09-03 11:45:16.133 wrote:
just goes on working
Reliable, consistently great bread, using overnight is the best
Pros:
Cons:
24/5/2013 10:12 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
astare wrote:
Panasonic SDZB-2502
This breadmaker is brilliant and I have never experienced the problem of the mixing paddle getting stuck in the loaf. I have experimented with my own recipes, especially using oats, and these have come out very well. It appears to be virtually foolproof and is vastly superior to my previous breadmaker. I highly recommend this machine to anyone wanting a breadmaker. It's not cheap, but like everything else in life you get what you pay for.
Pros:
Cons:
21/5/2013 10:21 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Chappers wrote:
Chappers
Absolutely excellent never fails to be consistent. However as long as one uses yeast meant for bread makers
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2013 8:51 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
LWAbers wrote:
Replacement for previous model
Still excellent and the "tin" matches the old model, whose tin made the bread stick after about 8 years which was disappointing. Doesn't perhaps rise as high as the previous model, but still makes lovely bread. The delay function is the only way to use it!
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2013 4:57 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Sayitasitis wrote:
First Bread Maker
Initially bought on a whim I could no longer be without this in the kitchen. Produces fantastic white and brown bread from scratch with ease; (I would advocate buying separate flour, yeast etc as the only failures have been with ready mixed Hovis granary bread....these have come out flat every time...on the other hand the ready mix white from Aldi is to die for.) Given the opportunity the bread keeps really fresh for several days so is eaten crust to crust and therefore avoids waste (unlike shop bought which tend to go dry after a day or so). Cost per loaf is by my estimate around 60p so is really good value....cheaper than the diesel to fetch one in any event!Finally I cant understand why there is such a fuss about the paddle sticking....after around 50 loaves this has only happened twice to me.
Pros:
Cons:
7/5/2013 1:59 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
FrequentFlyer wrote:
PanasonicSD-ZB2502
We have recently replaced the previous version of this product that had lasted 13 years. This version is exceptional and a significant improvement. The main difference apart from the modern look is the yeast dispenser. We have made just about every loaf in the recipe book and all have come out beautifully, if you follow the instructions accurately. The blade only gets stuck in very dense loaves but does need soaking with warm water to release it from the bread pan. Highly recommended.
Pros:
Cons:
2/2/2013 11:24 AM GST
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy