Dishwashers: Compare features & prices Bosch SMV50C00GB review Back to Results

This fully-integrated dishwasher from Bosch is designed to fit behind a kitchen unit door and blend in with your decor. It is a full-sized model which holds 12 place settings of dishes, but does it leave each and every dish clean and dry? We sent it to the Which? test lab to find out - read on for our full expert dishwasher review.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
CMR307879374 wrote:
I definitely wouldn't recommend it!
I got this through the Comet clearance site. It was supposed to be in good working order, but... The stacking trays in the dishwasher were completely different to those in the manual and it wasn't obvious how you should stack the dishes. Many of the racks for plates and bowls seem to be too close together and don't allow enough water to get through to clean properly 100% of the time. **The filter needs cleaning every second time you use it** - the cheapie Indercit dishwasher I had before it only need cleaning about one time in 7 to 10. I definitely wouldn't recommend it.
Pros:
Cons:
17/9/2013 7:24 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
NickFromSheffield wrote:
Needs careful installation
Initially we found that the door would not stay shut during washing. The problem was that the casing is quite flexible and so, if it is not installed with a rigid piece of wood above the top of it, the case moves and releases the catch. After re-installation it has been fine.The cutlery basket is not as good as the one in our previous Bosch machine. Our table knives get stuck in the slots, which are a bit too small. Also the lower rack tends to derail very easily when pulling it out; the old one was better.Like another reviewer, we find that plastic and non-stick items are not dried successfully. (How do dishwashers dry without a flow of air?)We usually use the 60 C setting. The half load option can be useful. It cleans very well with a cheap Waitrose powder, apart from baked-on scrambled egg.At first we used to accidentally open the door while the machine was running and get sprayed with dirty water, as it is quieter than our old one and there is no external indication that it is running.
Pros:
Cons:
17/9/2013 6:59 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-01-01 15:18:03.96 wrote:
A very good dishwasher
An excellent reliable machine that does everything you ask of it.It is easy to use and cleans very well as long as you keep the salt and rinse aid topped up. Heavily soiled cutlery is no problem like my last machine.The only thing I can criticise is that it's a bit noisy.
Pros:
Cons:
11/9/2013 5:56 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Tony1934 wrote:
It's OK
After six years had to replace the dishwasher that was installed in our new house - it was a good machine but regrettably had a short life., It was beyond repair. We decided to use a local supplier with a complete install-take away service. Wanted the Siemens as recommended by Which? but the supplier recommended the Bosch as the equivalent. The Eco Wash is slow and didn't perform well. The installer recommended the 45 degree wash but wasn't brilliant for the mixed wash (pots and pans, cutlery, glass and crockery) - didn't dry well and left bits of food, etc. We now use the 65 degree wash as standard - that's OK. The only complaint is that the racks are not as well thought out as the de Dietrich it replaced. We use Finish tablets as recommended by Bosch and the installer - they appear to be better than others we have tried. It is a quiet runner. So, so far so good. The de Dietrich performed well but gave up the ghost after 6 years. The previous machine - an AEG - was sold with our last house and had run trouble free for 20-ish years
Pros:
Cons:
9/9/2013 8:08 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
wilcatch wrote:
pelynt37was
The washer SMV50cooGB is noisier than we thought,and the cleanliness of the crockery is not as good as our old machine.I would not recommend to pour friends.
Pros:
Cons:
9/9/2013 5:19 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Bluebirdnick1927 wrote:
Good machine, only problem is drying
I bought and installed one of these last year. We are moving house and I'm thinking of buying the same machine again, which should demonstrate that I am, overall, very happy with it. It sometimes leaves residue baked on to the dishes, but that is very rare and I imagine it is due to the way I stack the machine. It is also a struggle to get wine glasses in, but that's no big deal really.The main problem however is the fact that it just does not dry plastics or non-stick surfaces. It is generally fine with stainless steel, crockery and glassware, but plastics come out really wet. It is quite annoying, and am considering buying a different machine this time which is able to dry everything. Which? need to reconsider their ratings - the cleaning performance of the machine is excellent (provided you use finish tablets - we've tried budget options and you can tell the difference when it comes to cleaning glasses), but the drying performance is not- which is contrary to what the ratings suggest.On the plus side though it cleans well, is very easy to use, and the 3, 6, or 9 hour delay is a great function. I see that Which now consider this to be a bit limited as some machines offer 24 hour delays, but 9 hours is enough for me. It's reasonably quiet, although nowhere near silent. It is also very well designed when it comes to installation. There is a tool that allows you to adjust the back legs from the front of the machine which is a huge benefit. Fitting the door was also very straightforward due to the very accurate and helpful instruction booklet which doubles as a template for the door.
Pros:
Cons:
23/6/2013 12:09 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
bleachfreak wrote:
bleachfeak
Had this fitted in July 2011. From first fitting (by Professional Engineer) the drain has been a problem. Works well for weeeks thenrefuses to drain. Had Bosch out twice and theycould find nothing wrong with it. Provided a new arm but this madeno diffference whatsoever. Only use recommended tables (finish) and wash with finish washer every month. washer next to it and further from drain and this drains without any problem. Always pouring hot water and bleach down sinkto stop any blocking and do not pour oil into sink. Therefore must be a problem with dishawasher. This is my 4th dishwasher mainly changed through moving houe, and never had this problem although just under 2 years old am looking to buy new one as I get fed up with not knowing if it is going to work and having to empty and wash all dishes. Not a cheap one but won't buy Bocsh again found Customer service a bit lacking as well.
Pros:
Cons:
14/4/2013 7:08 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-09 09:43:57.427 wrote:
Brimac
A very quiet easily usable machine. 98% of the dishes/pots/cutlery is cleaned very well. Only the very dirty pans where the food has slightly burnt require a further wash by hand to get them cleaned properly.
Pros:
Cons:
23/9/2012 12:40 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-21 21:55:33.013 wrote:
Clean, quiet but layout could be improved
This new dishwasher has recently been part of our kitchen refurb, and so far we have found the programmes are very long, but the machine runs very quietly, which is a plus. Only very small plates can be stacked on the top rack, which limits the amount of crockery, and it's not the best width for washing cups and mugs, as they need very careful placing, so that they do not fall over. Overall everything is exceptionally clean.
Pros:
Cons:
19/9/2012 9:57 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
NeilPW wrote:
An excellent dishwasher
Purchased the fully integrated version recently to replace a 20 year old Neff that had died. The Bosch is much quieter and has more features including a half wash cycle which is fine for our regular daily use. No complaints so far
Pros:
Cons:
11/9/2012 12:49 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
185778 wrote:
Steph74b
Machine is very quite, but washing programmes are very, very lomng nearly 3 hours to be precise, which is a very long cycle!Also washing performance is not as good as i was led to believe.Would not recommend, please chose another model as I am quite dissapointed as all new kitchen appliances were ordered and purchased on the rating they were given via this site and this machine was rated 5/5 (July 2011)
Pros:
Cons:
4/9/2012 9:45 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
jcousins1968 wrote:
Satisfied Customer
The Bosch SMV50C00GB was purchased to replace an ageing Creda integrated one which packed up recently. Paid £400 from Very.co.uk delivered in 4 days i thought was good. Anyway, installation is a bit fiddly the kitchen cupboard door to dishwasher door was ok using the template. But, the height adjustment of the machine is easy to use but the top of dishwasher was short of 1.5cms to screw machine to counter. Had to use additional strip of wood and getting the whole thing square was tricky. Once installed, the machine is a revelation, very quiet in operation, the 45c program we tried was very efficient and quick about 40mins and items came out clean and very dry. have not tried the other programs yet but confident will exceed expectations. Recommend!!
Pros:
Cons:
23/6/2012 4:41 PM GDT
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy