Food processors: Compare features & prices Kenwood CH180A review

The Kenwood CH180A mini chopper has one push-button control that operates its two speeds - pushing halfway down is speed one, and pushing all the way down gives you speed two. We tested this mini chopper food processor to see how well this works, and to assess how good it is at a range of chopping tasks.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
CMR400557065 wrote:
Great mini processor
Great mini processor, excellent for small quantities of food. I have been using it to prepare baby purees and it is excellent at mashing up cooked vegs and meat. Very easy to use, store and clean.However it will not replace bigger and more powerful processors.
Pros:
Cons:
31/3/2014 3:47 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-13 07:12:20.367 wrote:
great little kitchen aid
Ideal for making small quantities of mayonnaise. The ability to drizzle oil through the hole in the lid an advantage on the older version I have (over 10 years old). New model bought from T J Hughes was on offer so paid £14.99 a real bargain Use for herbs onions etc. Always hand wash
Pros:
Cons:
25/1/2014 11:18 AM GST
User Image wrote:
SueofSevenoaks wrote:
A GODSEND
I was given the Kenwood Mini Chopper 180A for Christmas and I love it! Chopping onions and grating ginger are two pet hates but these are no longer a problem. I chop an onion into chunks and put it in the bowl. A couple of pushes and I have beautiful finely chopped onion and no runny eyes. It also grates ginger far better than I can and can finely chop a couple of garlic cloves. Mine does have a hole in the lid for pouring in oil although I have not yet tried making mayonnaise. At the price it would be worth it even if I had to replace it every year.
Pros:
Cons:
18/1/2014 1:10 PM GST
User Image wrote:
ReneeP wrote:
Great wee thing
I have had one for over 10 years and find it perfect for chopping small amounts of almost anything. It cleans easily too. I never put it in the dishwasher as I find plastic gets a bit brittle with the heat and the blades get dulled. It is small enough to clean by hand or I sometimes run a bit of bread through it to remove the worst of any grease or stains before wiping. I rarely use it to chop nuts or hard foods as I feel it was never really meant for that and use my processor instead. The only complaint I have is that there is no cord storage and wrapping the cord around the machine doesn't really work either.
Pros:
Cons:
22/5/2013 12:49 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
David64 wrote:
A Which? Best Buy but customers don't like it
Yet again, Which? readers sem to be at variance with Which?'s own lab testers. This seems to be happening with increasing frequency across a range of products - and I think I've now learned which (definitely not a pun) views to go by. I think it could be time for Which? to take a serious look at the way it tests consumer products.
Pros:
Cons:
22/11/2012 8:03 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Many thanks for you...
Many thanks for your comments.If you discover a faulty product we'd recommend contacting the retailer where you purchased it from. You can find more help and advice in the free Which? guides below:http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/sale-of-goods/understanding-the-sale-of-goods-act/ http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/making-a-complaint/dealing-with-faulty-goods/ The guarantee for the Kenwood CH180 mini chopper is 1 year.The plastic parts can be washed in the dishwasher, but the instructions state only on the top rack of the dishwasher. We'd also suggest avoiding the any hot drying cycles as these can damage the plastic parts on food preparation appliances and cause the plastic to spilt. @ mustoofauk - if you're able to provide us with some more information on what part breaks, and how this happened, we'd be happy to pass this into Kenwood for you.
Pros:
Cons:
16/3/2012 11:00 AM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-05-06 13:50:12.467 wrote:
Get something else
Awful, no power, jams up, can't put much in, mashes up onions, awkward to set up and use and died quickly. On the plus side it is small, neat and easy to store after it broke.
Pros:
Cons:
15/3/2012 12:48 PM GST
User Image wrote:
JeanPo wrote:
Great but fragile
Agree with previous views. Very small, easy to use and convenient but despite only using it a few times the plastic on the base which holds the bowl in place has broken and I shall have to replace it. Great shame.
Pros:
Cons:
28/11/2010 12:58 PM GST
User Image wrote:
mustoofauk wrote:
Its very Fragile.
Push it a little hard and it breaks. i broke 2 and now on my 3rd one. only buying it again because of the smallness and convenience. otherwise its ok for the money.
Pros:
Cons:
26/11/2010 4:41 PM GST
User Image wrote:
JoeBaker wrote:
Kenwood CH180A mini chopper
I bought the Kenwood CH180A mini chopper little over a year ago and have used it only for chopping a few nuts and seeds each morning to put on my breakfast cereals. The machine was easy to use and performance was excellent.However, after six months the centre plastic spindle sleeve split open. I made up a collar to reinforce it and it worked for about another eight months. Then the tiny lugs on the drive spindle wore away the plastic sleeve.This machine incorporates several design incompetences that would have been obvious to an engineer. I am annoyed they were not identified by the Which? team who classified the product as a 'Best Buy'. In collecting my subscription Which? imposed upon themselves a 'duty of care' which, in my view they failed to exercise in this case.
Pros:
Cons:
14/5/2010 10:40 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Jimmylav wrote:
Tiny
This thing is good but it is tiny, one onion fills it
Pros:
Cons:
11/1/2010 12:28 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Ianpaton3 wrote:
Great machine at a reasonable price
Really useful, efficient & effective. It is easy to use, clean and store. I use this machine often and have thrown my complicated, difficult to clean and store food processor in the bin!
Pros:
Cons:
16/10/2009 12:17 AM GDT

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy