Breadmakers: Compare features & prices Panasonic SDZB-2502 review Back to Results

The Panasonic SD-ZB 2502, with its unique yeast dispenser, is billed as the 'ultimate bread-making machine'. We reveal how it fared against two other popular Panasonic models in our full test results.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
Bettys1 wrote:
Bettys1
So far this is the best machine I've owned, the baking times seem long, but your not sitting watching it (I hope). as for the paddle I've had no problems at all with it, as is turns out the paddle is very thin and only makes a narrow slit in the loaf which sort of heals as the loaf cools.
Pros:
Cons:
1/12/2014 3:36 PM GST
User Image wrote:
CK137695 wrote:
Excellent
We've used this breadmaker every other day or more for the last 18 months and never had the paddle stick. It consistently makes lovely bread, though I do find you need decent flour but that's fair enough. The only disasters have been human error when I've forgotten the yeast or the water! My only slight complaint is that now, after quite a lot of use, the catch holding the ingredient dispenser shut is a bit loose and the mixed fruit or seeds have been dumped into the flour as I've been filling it. Otherwise excellent machine. We wouldn't be without it and now never buy shop bread.
Pros:
Cons:
29/11/2014 5:08 PM GST
User Image wrote:
RowleyB wrote:
Outstanding bread from an outstanding bread maker
Like a number of your customers I wonder if Which tested the same machine model that I have. The instruction booklet alone is the best of any appliance that I have owned kitchen, workshop or otherwise. I, reluctantly, loaned this to someone who was having trouble with one of Which's best buys & she found the booklet solved her problem. I've had the breadmaker for about 10 months after having a Zoirushi model for 15 excellent years & the bread is in a different league - it uses much less of all the ingredients except the flour! The separate yeast dispenser is a wonderful improvement & I expected the raisin & nut dispenser to be too small but it's excellent & capacious. I spent a considerable amount of time researching not just Which customer views & taken overall, this model had the least complaints. Where complaints existed I got the impression that most were from people relatively new to this kind of bread making; for example, the paddle sticking in the loaf is common to most makers &, yes my Panasonic's paddle stuck after I prepared a rye loaf... then I found that I'd used the wrong paddle! Since then I've had no problem & perfect bread every time.
Pros:
Cons:
1/5/2014 10:16 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
MichaelB wrote:
MichaelB
My wife bought me this machine as a present and it has been a big disappointment. I have tried three different recipes, following the instructions exactly, and each one has been poorly mixed, has risen unevenly and is under-baked. The ingredients are not to blame as my old machine still delivers an excellent loaf using identical flour etc. When my wife phoned Lakeland (who supplied it) she got the clear impression we were far from alone in complaining. All credit to Lakeland, anyway, as they are offering a refund with no quibble at all.
Pros:
Cons:
3/3/2014 8:14 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Chirpy wrote:
I looked at the the low score the Panasonic SDZB-2502 received from Which Magazine and I'm wondering if they've reviewed the same machine as the one I bought? I've used mine three times a week for two months now and I've never had the paddle stick in the bread. Admittedly I haven't had it very long but I just keep coming up with excellent results time after time. The Spicy Fruit Loaf (the recipe is in the instruction manual) is to die for and the Raisin Nut Dispenser works a treat. Cleaning it is a doddle too. Well done Panasonic on producing an excellent breadmaker. I used to have an Aldi (Delta) one before this and although I was pleased with the results, the bread produced by my Panasonic is in a totally different league, even though I'm using exactly the same ingredients. I'm so pleased I based my decision to buy it on the reviews from Amazon. Sorry Which Magazine but I think you need to reappraise this machine.
Pros:
Cons:
28/2/2014 6:19 PM GST
User Image wrote:
ccwestuk wrote:
Very pleased
Bought as a replacement for 10 yr old Russell Hobbs which though still working was a bit tired. Very pleased with the panasonic, excellent bread every time, never had a sticking paddle, overnight baking is excellent too (something the old R-H was poor at), very quiet in operation. Made the panettone (twice) from the recipe book at Christmas and was much enjoyed by all. Downside … it's a big heavy old thing if you keep it tucked away like we do and get it out each time. If you've got the room, keep it out on the worktop. Sidewalls feel a bit flimsy too, so take care not to dent them by mistake when lifting it.
Pros:
Cons:
31/1/2014 2:21 PM GST
User Image wrote:
ClareC wrote:
Makes good bread, beware the ingredient dispenser
I had a bad experience with a cheap breadmaker, so I decided to trade up to this top of the range machine. In general, I am very pleased with the quality of bread that it produces. I find, however, that it is necessary to buy expensive flour in order to get good results; those who are hoping to bake bread cheaply may be disappointed. In fact, my machine came with a note advising users to buy extra-strong Canadian flour, which comes at a price and is not available at my local shop.Alas, this breadmaker hasn't quite been the trouble-free machine I had hoped. Unfortunately the ingredient dispenser isn't working properly. It seems to be OK if it only has to deal with a few seeds, but it cannot cope with the 150 grams of dry ingredients which some of the recipes in Panasonic's own recipe leaflet require. Indeed, it cannot cope with 100 grams. The release mechanism simply doesn't produce the force necessary to open the box. Since many customers appear to find that their machine functions without a problem. I can only conclude that I have somehow acquired a dud. I have contacted Panasonic support and await a response ...There are a few other quirks that potential buyers should be aware of. First of all, the machine has a long 'rest' perod at the beginning of each programme. This can mean up to an hour in which the machine jus tsits there doing absolutely nothing. It can, therefore, take five hours for the breadmaker to produce a loaf. I've read that the rest period is to allow the ingredients to reach the correct temperature and 'mingle'. That way, apparently, better results are obtained. However, there is absolutely no way to override the rest period. I think there should be. Personally I'd be prepared to take a risk on the sitting-there-doing-nothing bit of the programme if I were pushed for time. Other breadmakers seem to cough up satisfactory results without it. In fact, in general there is little flexibility with this machine; there is no way for the operator to tweak programmes to their own requirements.If you stick to the recipe book and want a bung-everything-in-and-forget machine, this is a very good one. As long as you get a functioning ingredient dispenser.
Pros:
Cons:
26/1/2014 8:56 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-02 15:27:11.797 wrote:
great
Bread is good, it does what it says it will do. Haven't tried all the programmes, but a good variety to choose from.
Pros:
Cons:
27/5/2013 3:04 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
steve.lockwood wrote:
I now use the machi...
I now use the machine on 'bake rapid' and get just as good wholemeal loaves as I did when I used the full programme.Choice of a good yeast and good flour is key. Start using the machine with Panasonic's recipes and instructions but do not feel afraid to experiment when you get some experience.We've seldom bought bread in the past 12 years, since we had our first Panasonic.Brilliant machines.
Pros:
Cons:
27/5/2013 9:34 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2010-09-03 11:45:16.133 wrote:
just goes on working
Reliable, consistently great bread, using overnight is the best
Pros:
Cons:
24/5/2013 10:12 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
astare wrote:
Panasonic SDZB-2502
This breadmaker is brilliant and I have never experienced the problem of the mixing paddle getting stuck in the loaf. I have experimented with my own recipes, especially using oats, and these have come out very well. It appears to be virtually foolproof and is vastly superior to my previous breadmaker. I highly recommend this machine to anyone wanting a breadmaker. It's not cheap, but like everything else in life you get what you pay for.
Pros:
Cons:
21/5/2013 10:21 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Chappers wrote:
Chappers
Absolutely excellent never fails to be consistent. However as long as one uses yeast meant for bread makers
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2013 8:51 PM GDT
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy