Coffee machines: Compare features & prices DeLonghi Icona ECO310R review Back to Results

The DeLonghi ECO 310R Icona coffee maker certainly brings a touch of Italian glamour to your kitchen, and it can make espressos and cappuccinos from either ground coffee or ESE pods. We put this coffee maker to the test to find out if, as well as looking good, it can also make an impressive cup of coffee.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
Josalt wrote:
Strength of coffee
Has anybody else had problems with strength of coffee . Bought this machine last week, being our first one. Have followed the instructions but am having problems getting a strong cup of coffee. Even when I have tried doin the amount of ground coffee for two cups ( for a mug) it comes out strong initially but then gets very weak. Is this normal? Am I doing anything wrong?
Pros:
Cons:
4/5/2014 10:46 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Which.co.uk editor wrote:
Which? response to itstony
Hi itstony, thank you for your comments on this coffee machine.

It is true that excessive noise and leaks can be a sign that a coffee machine needs to be descaled. Regular cleaning, descaling and maintenance definitely helps keep coffee machines in good condition.

However, if you’ve already tried descaling, and feel the issues are down to a fault with the product then it’s worth following things up with the manufacturer. For more information on dealing with a faulty product please refer to our consumer rights guide, here:
http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/problem/what-do-i-do-if-i-have-a-faulty-product/(please copy and paste the above web address into a separate web browser window).
Pros:
Cons:
6/12/2013 4:05 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-04 17:55:55.35 wrote:
itstony
I bought this product almost 5 moths ago (june 2013) and am very disappointed. it leaks both from the steamer and from the filter and has got progressively noisier. I called Delonghi customer service and held on for more than 20 minutes. When they finally answered they did not comment on the problems but just told me to descale the machine. This made no difference.
Pros:
Cons:
21/11/2013 5:03 PM GST
User Image wrote:
sweetpea44 wrote:
Great tasting coffee
I have this machine for nearly 3 years and have been very happy with it. It heats up very quickly and makes excellent cappuccinos. However it has now started to leak quite badly from underneath the machine although it still makes great coffee. I am looking to replace it but am not sure whether I will buy the same machine due to the leakage problem. It is very easy to use and the milk frother is excellent.
Pros:
Cons:
26/7/2013 11:24 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
PJHart wrote:
PhilH
Very good coffee; well-made machine. I owned mine for nearly 3 years, but then it started blowing fuses. The repair shop said it had rusted through on the inside - due to a pin-hole sized leak in the boiler. This also caused the pump to short-circuit. Its failure was down to me - I had tried using a vinegar solution to descale it. You need to buy the descaler recommended by the manufacturer, or you risk damaging or, as in my case, destroying your machine. Expensive lesson learnt.
Pros:
Cons:
6/7/2013 9:42 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Lizbeth wrote:
Lizbeth
We got this very elegant looking machine as a wedding anniversary present, having used all sorts of coffee making methods in the past. From the start it wouldn't steam and dripped water all over the worktop. It was repaired by a not very local agent, it appeared the steam pipe was not attached. My main concern however is the temperature of the coffee produced, especially when making it with steamed milk. By the time the milk is ready the coffee is too cold and we now heat it up in the microwave!
Pros:
Cons:
26/5/2013 11:21 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
steevedh wrote:
Just Brilliant
We love our machine, stylish, reliable, easy to clean, efficient and IT MAKES GREAT COFFEE. No issues or problems whatsoever.
Pros:
Cons:
21/5/2013 12:29 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-11 09:36:44.65 wrote:
Faultless and simple machine!
It is quick to use and makes a good shot with a good crema provided the filter basket is cleaned every few weeks. It is also easy to clean.
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2013 9:45 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Diescu wrote:
Brilliant!
I've had this for a year and I was a bit sceptical about home espresso machines having had one that died after about three weeks 10 years ago. However this machine is simply brilliant turning out cup after cup of really good coffee. What I would say is that you have to remember to descale and clean properly. I did have a problem at one stage after about six months with the kind of dripping/leak described elsewhere but when I performed a descale the problem went away completely - not a single drip. Similarly if the milk nozzle isn't working well it'll be because you've not cleaned it properly. I've found that I can still use the same coffee I was using in my old cafetiere (Sainsbury's French style) but it makes a far superior cup. Another plus is that I find it works equally well with cow's milk and soya milk (although I only use soya light - the regular kind might not work as well). When I bought it I was a bit worried it would end up being an attractive but useless addition to my kitchen but I've been very pleasantly surprised. Some have complained of the machine being noisy - I guess it is, but as it's only for the 15 seconds or so it takes to produce the coffee I don't really find it an issue. As another reviewer mentioned the only real downside is that it will make you increase your coffee consumption!
Pros:
Cons:
18/1/2013 10:39 AM GST
User Image wrote:
kentrek wrote:
As good as it gets
I have had mine for about a year now, no issues, breakdowns or gremlins.I use it about 2-4 times per week. I usually make 2 cups at a time, I steam about 400ml of milk in a Pyrex jug at the same time as I get the dripper ready. I use several different roasts of bean and all produce excellent results, better than shop bought lattes. it warms up in about 5 minutes.I once made 9 cups on the trot with superb results. I had a lesser model before, (same brand), that lasted about 2 years. I upgraded so it could cope with a larger quantity.
Pros:
Cons:
28/12/2012 10:02 PM GST
User Image wrote:
andrew.bassett wrote:
simply doesn't last
we have just returned our second machine. One lasted 10 months, the other 11. The second one was too loud. Both begun to leak from machine base and the second one leaked from steamer and filter after a few months. Time to move on.
Pros:
Cons:
18/12/2012 10:11 PM GST
User Image wrote:
LeonZNewman wrote:
Vagaries of this page
Due to the vagaries of this Which page my review suggested a high price of £1803!! Actually I meant £180 - obviously, followed by point number 3
Pros:
Cons:
3/9/2012 7:09 PM GDT
1 2 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy