Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy.

Top five best cheap Blu-ray DVD players under £100

By Elisa Roberts

There are plenty of cheap Blu-ray DVD players, but how can you tell which are worthwhile? We explain exactly what to look out for when buying a bargain Blu-ray player.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

A Blu-ray player can cost anything from £50 to £500, but as our testing has shown, price isn't a reliable indicator when it comes to quality.

We've found that some expensive models are a let down when it comes to picture quality, while certain cheaper models have blown us away with their abilities. There's no way to know which will be which without buying them and using them. That's why we've picked out seven Blu-ray players that offer superb picture quality, all for under £100.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, you can get instant access by taking a £1 trial to Which?

Top five best cheap Blu-ray DVD players under £100

Samsung BD-H6500
Today's best price £86.81
Which? score 73%
Reviewed Jul 2014
Best Buy
Picture quality:
5 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
5 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A premium player which can upscale Blu-rays to suit the latest 4K Ultra-HD TVs, and also plays DVDs, Blu-rays and 3D Blu-rays on HD tellies. Feature-packed, it has built-in wi-fi, access to smart-TV services including BBC iPlayer, and screen mirroring to let you share from Samsung Android phones and tablets with the TV. We found that it is superb at upscaling Blu-rays to a 4K telly - nice if you have one, but will movies look good on your HD TV and how easy are all those features to use?

Panasonic DMP-BDT280
Today's best price £119.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This player will upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs, too. There are also smart apps and built-in wi-fi so you can be fully connected to the internet without the need for wires. But how did this player fare with all factors considered? Read our expert review to find out.

Panasonic DMP-BDT180
Today's best price £74.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This player will upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs, too. There are also smart apps so you can access the internet and online catch up services. But how did this player fare in the all-important areas of picture and sound quality? Read our expert review to find out.

LG BP350
Today's best price £64.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A Blu-ray player packed with plenty of smart features for a very reasonable price. It certainly looks like it may offer good value, but how did it do in our rigorous lab testing? Read our full review to find out whether it's worth your money.

LG BP255
Today's best price £48.95
Which? score 65%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A basic Blu-ray player with some smart features, it won't upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution, or play 3D discs, but can still stream online content through its smart apps. Most importantly though, it's very reasonably priced.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

They aren't all bargains though - here's a few cheap Blu-ray DVD players that aren't even worth their meagre asking price.

Three cheap Blu-ray players under £100 to avoid

Sony BDP-S3500
Today's best price £49.00
Which? score 48%
Reviewed Jul 2015
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
1 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

An entry-level Blu-ray DVD player which also offers access to Smart TV apps, such as BBC iPlayer and Netflix over an ethernet or wi-fi connection. It lacks 3D Blu-ray playback found on models higher up in the range but it offers a 'screen mirroring' feature to display videos on TV from an Android device. We liked its compact size and range of apps, but that's where it ends - find out just what went wrong with the full review.

Panasonic DMP-BD84
Today's best price £53.00
Which? score 52%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A Blu-ray player with smart features, you'll be able to access a range of apps, including catch-up TV and on-demand services such as BBC iPlayer, YouTube and Netflix, as well as play content from an external hard drive if you have one. Models from this brand usually score well in our tests, but we couldn't recommend this one.

Panasonic DMP-BDT167
Today's best price £76.00
Which? score 53%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

The price may be tempting for a feature packed Blu-ray player from a big brand name like this, but our testing revealed it's just not worth it, even at this price. Read the full review now to make sure you know which model we're talking about - and to avoid it.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

How much should I pay for Blu-ray?

Which? tests all major Blu-ray player releases on a monthly basis from the biggest brands on the market - including Sony, Panasonic, LG and Samsung - and we've discovered that even the most trustworthy names occasionally drop the ball.

You don't have to pay a premium to get a Best Buy Blu-ray player - our tests reveal price is no indicator of how good a model is and we show you which offer the best overall package. Which? Best Buy Blu-ray players will not only make your favourite films look crystal clear and sound great, they are quick to load discs and won't have you throwing the remote control across the room in frustration.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all blu-ray dvd players