Cookies at Which? We use cookies to help improve our sites. If you continue, we'll assume that you're happy to accept our cookies. Find out more about cookies

Best cars

Best 7-seater Cars for 2017

By Martin Pratt

Article 11 of 14

The best seven-seater cars are perfect for family duties, offering flexible seating when you need to squeeze in extra passengers, or a huge boot when you don't. 

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Seven-seater cars are great for large families, especially when you need to transport extra friends home from school – or perhaps grown-up friends to the airport. 

The best seven-seaters offer a comfortable experience whether you're riding up-front, in the second row or right at the back. When the extra seats in the boot aren't needed, they'll usually stow away neatly, freeing up a huge load space. 

Buying a seven-seater doesn't necessarily mean you have to choose an MPV, though..There are plenty of SUV options, too. There's even an all-electric seven-seater in the form of the Tesla Model S, although the rearmost seats are optional.

We've also listed some seven-seaters that are best left alone. These models make too many compromises to squeeze in two extra seats. Whether it's interior space, boot capacity or miles to the gallon, these seven-seaters are poor examples of the class.

Below are the best seven-seater cars you can buy – every one a true Which? Best Buy. Scroll down to see which ones you should avoid.

Best 7-seater cars

Which? members can log in to see the seven-seater cars we recommend. If you're not already a member, take out a £1 Which? trial to unlock this table and all our expert impartial reviews.

Best new seven-seater cars

Toyota Prius+
Typical price £25,409
Brand score 83%
Reviewed Nov 2015
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This is a great seven-seat MPV all-rounder. It may be a little sluggish on the road, but this is a comfortable, economical car with lots of interior space, especially when used as a five-seater.

Toyota Verso
Typical price £17,967
Brand score 80%
Reviewed Mar 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

There's a lot to love about this versatile seven seater - it oozes practicality and the huge well-equipped cabin is a pleasure to be in.

Volkswagen Touran
Typical price £19,138
Brand score 79%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This seven-seat family MPV majors on practicality and space. It's versatile and has proven itself brilliant for those with large families. This latest model drives well, too.

Ford Grand C-Max
Typical price £18,904
Brand score 79%
Reviewed Sep 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

A thrilling driving experience isn't something we often associate with a seven seater, but this one manages it while still being practical and spacious.

BMW X5
Typical price £45,292
Brand score 79%
Reviewed Nov 2013
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This muscular 4x4 handles like a dream and has more than enough space to comfortably seat five or seven people.

Best used seven-seater cars

Toyota Verso (2004-2009)
Typical price £2,410
Brand score 83%
Reviewed May 2004
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
5 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This seven seater is one of the most spacious available. The back seats are better suited to children but the upside is a colossal boot.

Audi Q7 (2006-2014)
Typical price £12,093
Brand score 81%
Reviewed Jul 2006
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
5 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This huge seven seater is unquestionably the daddy of the road. The two-and-a-half tonne seven-seater SUV should accommodate even the largest family.

Mazda 5 (2010-2015)
Typical price £5,726
Brand score 77%
Reviewed Jun 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

They don't get much more versatile than this seven seater. With twin sliding doors and a good build quality this hulking car even manages to feel sporty.

BMW X5 (2007-2013)
Typical price £11,736
Brand score 77%
Reviewed Apr 2007
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This bulky SUV drives well and has an attractive interior that is sure to please, whether you're up front or on the back row.

Volkswagen Touran (2003-2010)
Typical price £2,375
Brand score 76%
Reviewed Aug 2003
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

As long as you go for one of its beefier engines you'll be happy with this seven seater. It's secure, and the interior is practical and well laid out.

Volkswagen Caravelle (2010-2015)
Typical price £21,512
Brand score 74%
Reviewed Jan 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Responsive on the road and huge inside, this seven seater may be short on luxury but the size of the interior cannot be understated. If you need a lot of room then look no further.

Mitsubishi Outlander (2007-2013)
Typical price £5,671
Brand score 74%
Reviewed Mar 2007
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
3 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

The off-road pedigree of this car doesn't mean it isn't a practical seven seater. It easily seats seven with room for a fortnight's-worth of shopping in the boot.

Ford S-Max (2006-2014)
Typical price £5,059
Brand score 74%
Reviewed Jun 2006
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This sporty seven seater manages to be sporty and practical with more than enough space for the full quota of passengers to sit comfortably.

Ford Galaxy (2006-2015)
Typical price £3,919
Brand score 74%
Reviewed Jun 2006
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This is a full-size MPV that majors on practicality, offering comfortable seating for seven passengers and a huge boot.

Peugeot 807 (2002-2010)
Typical price £770
Brand score 73%
Reviewed Oct 2002
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
5 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

A full-sized MPV with seven seats - or even eight, in a layout which was optional - and now very cheap. Ride quality is good, as is comfort and design.

Renault Espace (2003-2012)
Typical price £1,494
Brand score 73%
Reviewed Feb 2003
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This early seven seater is an oldie but a goody. It won’t win any awards for reliability, but it's pleasant and easy to drive.

And here are three seven-seaters to avoid

There are seven-seater cars across a range of classes, not just MPVs. You could get a seven-seat 4x4 if you wanted, or an estate. The choice is no bad thing, but it does mean some seven-seaters share the negative traits of those classes.

Adding two extra seats to a car can mean a loss of interior space. Is a car a true seven-seater if no one over the age of seven can comfortably use the rear seats? You don’t have to compromise on space, and our new and used car reviews show you which models to avoid if you want all seven seats to be suitable for adults.

If you’re more attracted to estates than tall MPVs, then you need to consider boot space. Adding two more seats will eat into how much room you have in the back. 

It’s not just estates that have this problem - our testing has found MPV-style seven-seaters with barely any boot space unless you put the rear seats down. That’s no good if you’re going on a family holiday and you’re trying to squeeze seven people’s luggage into an inadequate boot.

Our tests found a 7-seater car with less boot space than a Ford Fiesta.

Our testing found a seven-seater car with just 235 litres of boot space - that’s less than a Ford Fiesta. But you don’t need to settle for a small boot, as we’ve found models with more than 1,000 litres of boot space.

4x4 estates introduce their own problems. Choose the wrong model and you’ll be paying a fortune in fuel. Seven-seat SUVs are some of the biggest and heaviest models in the class - while no one expects them to be as frugal as a Prius, there is still a significant difference between the most and least-efficient models.

One seven-seater we tested managed a miserable 21.9mpg, while the top-performing model achieved 61.1mpg - an enormous difference of almost 40 miles.

The large number of options across multiple classes makes our expert advice even more important. Our guides can help you choose between an estate, 4x4 or classic MPV-style seven-seater, and our in-depth testing shows you which models not to buy.

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 900 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, take a Which? trial for £1. You'll receive access to all our expert car reviews.

SHARE THIS PAGE