Best large cars

Cars

Best large cars

By Martin Pratt

Article 4 of 12

Large cars mightn’t be as popular as they once were, but these Best Buy hatchbacks and saloons are better and more comfortable than ever, with the latest technology with efficient engines.

The large car class includes premium models such as the Audi A4, BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class, plus more modest mainstream designs such as the Ford Mondeo, Skoda Octavia and VW Passat. 

With plenty of sleek saloons available, plus slightly more practical hatchback models, there's bound to be a large car to suit your needs and budget.

Below are the very best large cars we've tested - Best Buy designs that excelled in our tests, offering decent fuel economy and good reliability.

Which? members can log in to see the large cars we recommend. If you're not already a member, take out a £1 trial to unlock this table and all our expert impartial reviews.

Best new large cars

Typical price £21,995
Brand score 78%
Tested Jul 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

They don't get much more efficient than this large car, but performance isn't compromised - it's a great all-rounder.

Typical price £33,395
Brand score 77%
Tested Jul 2012
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

If you want to save money at the fuel pump this could be the car for you. It's big, economical and simple to drive.

Typical price £16,975
Brand score 77%
Tested Jan 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This popular motor isn't short on space and if you're looking for a safe, reliable family cruiser they don't get much better.

Typical price £29,175
Brand score 77%
Tested Jun 2013
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This large car has a spacious, well-laid-out cabin that is as comfortable as they come. It's not bad to drive either.

Best used large cars

Typical price £3,095
Brand score 77%
Tested Jan 2004
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This hybrid isn’t short on space even with the on-board batteries. As you might expect, it's cheap to run too.

Typical price £17,135
Brand score 77%
Tested Sep 2008
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This large car borders on being a limousine but it still handles well and it's cheap to buy.

Typical price £22,690
Brand score 76%
Tested Mar 2005
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Towing the line between luxury car and family saloon, this iconic car isn’t short of admirers.

Typical price £23,475
Brand score 75%
Tested Jun 2007
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This large car has a smaller cabin and boot than its rivals but it compensates with luxury and class.

Typical price £17,010
Brand score 75%
Tested Apr 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

It may not be the most exciting car out there but this large saloon is, at least, economical and comfy over long distances.

Typical price £1,650
Brand score 74%
Tested Mar 2003
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

The quality of this car shines through even though it's not the most inspiring to look at. We were impressed by the range of options and relatively low price.

Typical price £18,125
Brand score 74%
Tested Oct 2007
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
Model reliability:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This roomy hatchback is cheap to buy and run thanks to an array of economical diesel engines. It's a perfect family cruiser too, thanks to its high safety rating.

Typical price £18,704
Brand score 74%
Tested May 2004
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This low-priced large car is worth every penny wth good handling and comfort.

Typical price £21,735
Brand score 73%
Tested Jan 2012
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This four-wheel drive family saloon didn’t last long on the market, which is a shame - it's a well-equipped, attractive car that deserved better.

Typical price £1,095
Brand score 70%
Tested Mar 2000
Ride comfort:
Handling & performance:
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This luxury saloon has the comfort and style to justify its high price, but it needs a bigger boot.

Want to see even more choice? Click to jump straight to all our large car reviews

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 900 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, take a Which? trial for £1 and you'll receive access to all our expert reviews and advice, plus Which? magazine itself.