Cars

Best MPVs

By Martin Pratt

Article 8 of 12

People carriers are perfect for families, offering comfort, practicality and bags of interior space. These Best Buy MPVs also deliver low running costs and long-term reliability.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

MPVs, or multi-purpose vehicles, are the ideal choice for anyone who needs to carry a lot of people and luggage around, making them perfect for larger families(and minicab drivers...).

The Renault Espace was the first people carrier to hit the mainstream in the early 1980s, but MPVs are now available from most of the big brands. Popular models including the Renault Scénic, Citroën Picasso, Ford C-Max and S-Max, and even a premium offering in the shape of the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer.

Below are our recommended new and used MPVs – Best Buys that are truly multi-purpose, as well as reliable and affordable to run.

Which? members can log in to see the MPVs we recommend. If you're not already a member, take out a £1 trial to unlock this table and all our expert impartial reviews.

Best new MPVs

Volkswagen Golf SV
Typical price £16,527
Brand score 84%
Tested Aug 2014
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This boxy MPV is more comfortable than you might think. Despite its height it’s a pleasure to drive and the spacious cabin easily accommodates five.

BMW 2 Series Active Tourer
Typical price £21,731
Brand score 83%
Tested Sep 2014
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This is as practical an MPV as we've tested with a well thought out cabin - it’s a blast to drive too.

Toyota Verso
Typical price £17,478
Brand score 80%
Tested Mar 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

There's a lot to love about this versatile MPV - it oozes practicality and the huge well-equipped cabin is a pleasure to be in.

Volkswagen Touran
Typical price £19,063
Brand score 79%
Tested Jun 2016
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This seven-seat family MPV majors on practicality and space. It's versatile and has proven itself brilliant for those with large families. This latest model drives well, too.

Ford Grand C-Max
Typical price £19,273
Brand score 79%
Tested Sep 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This MPV is as good to drive as most hatchbacks while still being an effective people and luggage carrying car.

Mazda 5
Typical price £8,281
Brand score 77%
Tested Oct 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

If you're after an MPV with a sporty edge this is a good choice. It's still practical too, but not as spacious as some of its rivals.

Renault Scénic
Typical price £21,783
Brand score 76%
Tested Jun 2009
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
5 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

It's safe, comfortable and roomy inside - this MPV ticks all the right boxes.

Best used MPVs

Toyota Verso (2004-2009)
Typical price £3,017
Brand score 83%
Tested May 2004
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
5 out of 5
Model reliability:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This people carrier is on the larger side of the MPV scale. The space utilised well - there's plenty of versatility.

Toyota Verso-S (2011-2013)
Typical price £7,335
Brand score 82%
Tested Mar 2011
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

Despite being a smaller MPV it still has plenty of interior space. It has some stiff competition but it's one you should consider.

Honda FR-V (2004-2009)
Typical price £3,379
Brand score 78%
Tested Nov 2004
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
3 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

A unique interior layout sets this MPV apart, but despite the unusual arrangement it's still a competent, versatile vehicle.

Mazda 5 (2010-2015)
Typical price £5,804
Brand score 77%
Tested Jun 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

It's a compact, seven-seat MPV that has earned its Best Buy stripes in our testing. It's designed to be sportier than most, emphasised by the swoopy creases down its sides - it's certainly less plain-looking than some other people carriers.

Volkswagen Touran (2003-2010)
Typical price £2,256
Brand score 76%
Tested Aug 2003
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This practical MPV people carrier is feeling its age now, but important factors like safety and fuel economy have stood the test of time.

Volkswagen Caravelle (2010-2015)
Typical price £22,116
Brand score 74%
Tested Jan 2010
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This MPV is more van than car and that means there's a tonne of space inside. It's easier to drive than you might think, though, so don’t dismiss it based on size alone.

Ford S-Max (2006-2014)
Typical price £4,589
Brand score 74%
Tested Jun 2006
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This MPV somehow manages to be sporty while maintaining the core sensibilities of an excellent MPV - comfort, space and versatility.

Ford Galaxy (2006-2015)
Typical price £4,529
Brand score 74%
Tested Jun 2006
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
Model reliability:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This full-size MPV can comfortably seat seven thanks to its vast interior, though its size does make it a bit unwieldy on the road.

Renault Espace (2003-2012)
Typical price £2,070
Brand score 73%
Tested Feb 2003
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

It's not had the best reliability record but this MPV is comfy and easy to drive.

Peugeot 807 (2002-2010)
Typical price £1,709
Brand score 73%
Tested Oct 2002
Best Buy
Ride comfort:
4 out of 5
Handling & performance:
5 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This MPV is one of the cheapest we recommend. It is being overtaken by more modern rivals but there's still a lot to love.

Want to see even more choice? Click to jump straight to all our MPV reviews

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 900 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, take a Which? trial for £1 and you'll receive access to all our expert reviews and advice, plus Which? magazine itself.