Cookies at Which? We use cookies to help improve our sites. If you continue, we'll assume that you're happy to accept our cookies. Find out more about cookies

Best child car seats

Top 10 best child car seats

By Anna Studman

Article 2 of 2

Which? experts round up the best child car seats from Group 0+/1 to Group 2/3. 

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Whether you are looking for an Isofix or belted child car seat, our reviews and crash test results can show you the safest models.

We've rounded up 10 of the latest Best Buy child car seats in the table below. These are selected from the top scoring of the most-recently tested models.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table. If you're not yet a member, get instant access by taking a trial to Which?.

Top 10 best child car seats

Kiddy Evo-Luna i-Size
Typical price £360.00
Which? score 82%
Tested May 2016
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
5 out of 5
Fitting in car:
5 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

We rated this seat highly because of its excellent crash test results and the position your baby is held in in the seat when it's in the car. The seat can actually recline with your baby in the seat, while it's in the car, and doesn't take up the entire back seat, as some lie-flat seats do. This car seat did so well in our crash tests that it achieved an excellent five-star rating across the board for overall safety as well as for frontal- and side-impact protection. Rearward-facing, Isofix installation only.

Maxi Cosi Pebble Plus (belted)
Typical price £190.00
Which? score 80%
Tested Nov 2015
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
4 out of 5
Fitting in car:
4 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
5 out of 5

When this seat is installed using the car's adult seat belt it gets a good four-star overall rating for safety, with a good four-star rating for both front and side-impact protection with a very low injury risk. Parents should have little trouble with installation, thanks to clear instructions and warnings. One thing to be aware of is that the seat has a weight limit of 12kg, which is different to the usual 13kg for infant carriers. Rearward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Besafe Izi Kid X2 i-Size
Typical price £350.00
Which? score 79%
Tested May 2016
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
5 out of 5
Fitting in car:
4 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

Our experts struggled to fault this i-Size seat: it gets an excellent five-star overall rating for safety based on the results of our unique crash testing. It's fairly easy to install and use, and will keep your child rearward-facing until they're around four-years old. One thing to note is that it is very heavy - but this helps keep it stable in the car. Rearward-facing, Isofix installation only.

Maxi Cosi Pebble Plus (2Wayfix base)
Typical price £380.00
Which? score 79%
Tested Nov 2015
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
4 out of 5
Fitting in car:
5 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
5 out of 5

This is a really safe seat overall. It gets an excellent five-star rating for frontal-impact collisions, and four stars for side-impact protection with a low injury risk. There is very little danger of wrongly installing the seat and base in your car - the installation process is quick and easy. The seat is quite bulky when used with the base, and parents should take note that the weight restriction is 12kg instead of the usual 13kg. Rearward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Joie i-Gemm
Typical price £110.00
Which? score 78%
Tested May 2016
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
5 out of 5
Fitting in car:
4 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

An excellent quality car seat that protects well enough to be a Best Buy whether it's used on a base or just strapped straight into your car. The seat doesn't take up much space in your car, so it won't restrict the use of other seats, and it weighs less than 5kg, so its easily portable. There's a good amount of space for your baby in the seat and the headrest and harness can be adjusted easily as your baby grows by pulling up on the headrest. Rearward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Joie i-Gemm i-Size (with base)
Typical price £235.00
Which? score 77%
Tested May 2016
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
4 out of 5
Fitting in car:
4 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

This is a travel system compatible baby car seat that achieves a good safety rating with both base and belted installation. It's easy to install and neither the seat nor the base is that heavy. The harness can be adjusted easily as your baby grows by pulling up on the headrest. This saves having to re-thread the harness, like on some other seats. Rearward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Besafe Izi Go Modular i-Size
Typical price £180.00
Which? score 77%
Tested May 2016
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
5 out of 5
Fitting in car:
4 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

This is a high-scoring baby car seat that can be used as part of a modular system to keep your child rearward-facing for longer. The seat is easy to install and doesn't take up much room in the car. The seat comes with side-impact cushions included, and these are effective in helping to provide crash protection. The padding also means your baby will be comfortable, with good support for little legs. Rearward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Britax Römer KidFix SL SICT
Typical price £125.00
Which? score 76%
Tested May 2015
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
4 out of 5
Fitting in car:
5 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

A good option if you're looking for a Group 2/3 car seat that can be fixed to your car using a seatbelt. The seat is light so it can easily be swapped between cars, and is easy to fit. Is scored well in our crash tests, achieving an excellent five star rating for side-impact protection. The seat isn't small though, so will take up a fair amount of space in your car. Forward-facing, Isofix and belt installation possible.

Cybex Solution M-Fix
Typical price £160.00
Which? score 74%
Tested May 2015
Best Buy
Overall safety rating:
4 out of 5
Fitting in car:
5 out of 5
Avoiding misuse and instructions:
4 out of 5

This impressive-looking car seat has numerous safety features - the built-in side protection works, as it gets an excellent five star rating in our side impact tests. It also gets a good four star rating for front impact protection. It's relatively light, so lifting and moving it isn't an issue, but the seat shell is quite wide so it'll be a tight squeeze with more than one car seat in the back. Forward-facing, Isofix installation only.

How Which? tests child car seats

All child car seats sold in the UK must meet the test requirements of the compulsory standard ECE R44/04. This simulates a low-speed crash test at around 30mp. But the test doesn't use a realistic car, just a mock-up of a car's back seat. There's also no side-impact test or ease-of-use assessment for child car seats.

When we test child car seats, we use a real car body. The speeds at which we conduct our crash tests are also far more realistic. Front-crash tests are conducted at 40mph and side-impact crash tests at 17.5mph. The dummies we use are wired up to record forces on the head, neck, chest and pelvis, which allows us to accurately predict how likely a child would be to sustain an injury in a crash.

To find out more, read how Which? tests child car seats.