Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy.

Top five best Nextbase dash cams for 2017

By Callum Tennent

The best Nextbase dash cams capture excellent footage. The worst could leave you helpless after an accident. Be sure to make the right choice.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

UK-based Nextbase currently has 10 dash cams on the market, ranging from entry-level models priced at around £30, right through to advanced systems costing up to £200.

Nextbase devices offer plenty of different features. Standard options include night-time vision and file protection. Models with GPS will record where you were and how fast you were travelling – good to prove you were driving safely, should you need to. Advanced features include 4K recording, polarising lenses to stop glare, and double cameras for more than one view. 

Cost isn't always an indicator of quality, though, and there are also some real duds you should avoid. Only Which? testing goes to the extensive lengths needed to definitively say whether a Nextbase dash cam will keep you safe - both on the road and in the court room. Our bespoke test programme covers every aspect of each model to create the most detailed dash cam reviews on the web.

We can help you choose an excellent Nextbase dash cam and avoid the disappointing ones. In the table below, we reveal the best Nextbase dash cams from our testing, with models to suit different budgets and needs.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, you can get instant access by taking a £1 trial to Which?

Best Nextbase dash cams

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 312GW Deluxe
Today's best price £88.95
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Best Buy
Video:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5

This Nextbase dash cam has a raft of impressive technology under the bonnet, including a 6G lens, 140-degree wide-angle view, and built-in wi-fi so you can view your footage on the go. It's affordably priced, too.

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 512G Ultra
Today's best price £124.99
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Dec 2015
Best Buy
Video:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5

This Nextbase has a raft of impressive technology, including a 6G lens and an anti-glare polarising filter. It also comes with the usual range of handy features, including a G-force sensor, motion detection and GPS.

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 212 Lite
Today's best price £61.95
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Best Buy
Video:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5

This is one of Nextbase's newer range of dash cams. Priced at less than £70, it's definitely a cheaper option than other big-name models. It also features the combination of features and footage to make it worth buying.

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 402G Professional
Today's best price £79.95
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Jun 2014
Best Buy
Video:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5

This is one of Nextbase's most expensive dash cams, but it offers the performance to live up to the price tag.

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 412GW Professional
Today's best price £108.95
Which? score 70%
Reviewed Nov 2016
Best Buy
Video:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5

This is an excellent dash cam and is the ideal companion if you have a crash. It offers crisp and clear footage, plus plenty of useful features, including GPS tracking and parking mode.

Pricing, recommendations and test scores correct at July 2017.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our dash cam reviews.

And here are three Nextbase dash cams to avoid

Nextbase may have produced some top-notch devices, but even Britain's most popular brand isn't perfect. With most models having such similar looks and names it can be surprisingly easy to pick up a dud. Make sure you don't opt for any of these Don't Buys.

Worst Nextbase dash cams

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 101 Go
Today's best price £34.95
Which? score 38%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Don't buy
Video:
2 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5

The compact Nextbase iN-Car Cam 101 Go is part of the same family as some respectable, high-scoring dash cams. So has Nextbase hit another winner with the budget 101 Go? We put it through our rigorous testing to see whether this dash cam would live up to expectations.

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM Duo TwinCam
Today's best price £199.00
Which? score 44%
Reviewed Dec 2015
Don't buy
Video:
2 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5

As the name suggests, the Nextbase iN-CAR CAM Duo TwinCam features two swivelling dash cams, for capturing footage both in front of and behind your car. It also has useful features such as GPS and G-force sensors. So is two better than one for this Nextbase dash cam?

Nextbase iN-CAR CAM 302G Deluxe
Today's best price £79.70
Which? score 45%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Don't buy
Video:
2 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5

The Nextbase iN-Car Cam 302G Deluxe dash cam is part of the same series as some very impressive dash cam models. So how will this mid-range dash cam stack up against more premium variants? We took it out on the road to find out.

How much do Nextbase dash cams cost?

Nextbase is undoubtedly one of the more 'premium' brands in the dash cam market. It's prolific, storied, and made in the UK - as a result, prices can get pretty steep.

One model costs as much as £200. When Nextbase releases a new, top-of-the-line model it usually costs around the £150 mark, though. There are then some cheaper, less advanced, models that cost as little as £30. The brand's prices aren't immune to fluctuation or sales, either - it can sometimes be worth waiting for prices to come down, if you can.

That's quite a large spread, and it's rare to find a dash cam either more expensive than the most expensive Nextbase model, or cheaper than the cheapest one.

Choosing the best Nextbase dash cam

Knowing what to look for in a Nextbase dash cam can be tough, primarily because of its naming conventions. Every dash cam released by Nextbase shares the 'iN-CAR CAM' prefix, be it cheap or expensive, feature-rich or basic.

The confusion can be alleviated slightly if you look at the number used in the dash cam's name. The iN-CAR CAM 101 Go is the cheapest Nextbase we've tested, while the iN-CAR CAM 512G Ultra is the most expensive single camera we've tested from the brand.

The price of the numbers in between tend to scale with their name - however, it's important to remember that price is no indication of quality.

If you're looking for other products from Nextbase to get a feel for the brand there isn't actually much else to see. Dash cams are the company's bread and butter, with only a few in-car TV-DVD combis, some wireless headphones and various mounts to its name otherwise. Right now you won't find Nextbase anywhere else on our website.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all dash cams