Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy.

Best Cars

Best Estate Cars for 2017

By Martin Pratt

Article 9 of 15

The best estate cars will give you load-lugging versatility, reliability, great handling and efficient engines. Find your next estate car.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Estate cars aren't the default choice for large families these days, thanks to the increased popularity and availability of SUVs and MPVs. But with a lower profile, they're often more efficient and rewarding to drive.

Estate cars are also immensely practical, with almost all models offering capacious boots. These are capable of swallowing everything from holiday luggage and kids' bikes, to pets and purchases from the local garden centre.  

Nearly all the big brands offer at least one estate car in their line-up. Popular models include the Ford Mondeo Estate, BMW 3 Series Touring, Audi A4 Avant and the huge Mercedes-Benz E-class estate

Estate cars need more than a big boot to be a Best Buy, our tests look at reliability, comfort, fuel-efficiency and safety. If a model doesn't stack up in those key areas we won't recommend it.

Below are our Best Buy recommendations – new and used estate cars that are supremely safe, reliable and versatile. As well as some estates that are best avoided.

Which? members can log in to see the estate cars we recommend. If you're not already a member, take out a £1 trial to unlock this table and all our expert impartial reviews.

Best new estate cars

Skoda Superb estate (2015-)
Typical price £19,784
Brand score 77%
Reviewed May 2016
Best Buy
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Model reliability 0-3 years:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

For many, this large estate will be the most complete and well-rounded car currently on sale. It's particularly likely to appeal to growing families but also cuts the mustard as an executive cruiser. It may not be the most engaging estate to drive, but in all other respects it excels.

BMW 3 Series Touring (2012-)
Typical price £25,827
Brand score 77%
Reviewed Feb 2012
Best Buy
Driving stability:
5 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Model reliability 0-3 years:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This estate is the driver's choice of premium compact estate cars, but is comfortable and practical enough to make it an extremely easy to live with family car. The interior is improved over the old model, too.

Skoda Octavia Scout (2014-)
Typical price £24,427
Brand score 76%
Reviewed Oct 2015
Best Buy
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This Best Buy estate's practicality, quality and ease-of-use appeal is bolstered further by the addition of four-wheel-drive. It's no more difficult to drive than the standard model, and now has added traction and stability in slippery conditions. It will handle the odd field, too.

Seat Leon X-Perience (2014-)
Typical price £23,814
Brand score 75%
Reviewed Dec 2014
Best Buy
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This model has a big boot, loads of passenger space and is comfortable, too. Add four-wheel drive and mild off-road ability to these virtues and you've got one of the best medium estate cars we've tested.

Toyota Auris Touring Sports (2013-)
Typical price £16,777
Brand score 74%
Reviewed Jun 2013
Best Buy
Driving stability:
3 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Model reliability 0-3 years:
5 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This family-focused estate car impressed us with its efficient engines and comprehensive safety equipment. It’s a touch straight-laced, but is unlikely to let you down.

Best used estate cars

Honda Accord Tourer (2008-2015)
Typical price £4,549
Brand score 76%
Reviewed Sep 2008
Best Buy
Driving stability:
5 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

The estate version of this popular large car has premium aspirations, which it comes close to achieving with a comfortable, high-quality interior. Both the 150 and 180bhp diesel engines are sufficiently powerful, and the car doesn’t feel sluggish when overtaking. The boot isn’t the biggest we’ve seen on an estate car, but at 365 litres it’s not small by any means and the capacity almost doubles to 685 litres when you fold the rear seats.

Mini Clubman (2007-2014)
Typical price £4,881
Brand score 73%
Reviewed Nov 2007
Best Buy
Driving stability:
5 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Model reliability 3-8 years:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This car sits somewhere between a true estate and a sizeable hatchback with its 220-litre capacity boot. It’s probably not the estate to go for if you want boat-loads of boot space, but it does excel in other areas. Its engines are powerful and responsive and it has go-kart-like handling that other estate cars can only dream of.

Subaru Legacy (2009-2013)
Typical price £6,196
Brand score 70%
Reviewed Oct 2009
Best Buy
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive

This Japanese brand is better known for its high-performance large car, but we were impressed with its estate. It’s a bulky 4x4 estate with hulking diesel engines that accelerate effortlessly. It’s practical, too, with plenty of headroom in the front and the back seats. The cavernous boot is the icing on the cake for this Best Buy estate.

Not found the car for you? Browse all our estate car reviews

And here are three estate cars to avoid

The formula of what makes a great estate car is simple - there should be plenty of interior space, it needs to be comfortable and it should have a massive boot. That seems straightforward enough, but there are models that miss the mark.

For example, just because a boot's big, it doesn’t mean it will be well designed. We don’t just test the capacity of a boot; we look at how easy it is to fill. A boot could be as deep as the Mariana Trench, but it’s useless if you can’t get your heavy items over a high load lip. 

The success of small and large SUVs has eaten into the sales of estate cars, but being lighter, with a lower centre of gravity means they can be more efficient and handle better. One estate we tested proves it by achieving a staggering 74.3 miles to the gallon – the highest of any petrol or diesel car we’ve tested. On the other hand, a similarly sized estate managed just 31.7mpg.

The huge gulf in the efficiency of estate cars highlights the importance of our fuel-economy testing. It’s easy to assume all estates are the same - big, spacious and sturdy. But our in-depth testing finds the important differences, such as efficiency, that separate a good estate from a bad one.

Here are the estate cars we recommend you should avoid.

Which? members can log in now to see the cars you should avoid. If you’re not already a member, take out a £1 Which? trial to unlock this table and all our expert, independent reviews.

Estate cars to avoid

Vauxhall Insignia Sports Tourer (2009-2017)
Typical price £4,302
Brand score 54%
Reviewed Mar 2009
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Performance:
3 out of 5
Seat comfort:
5 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Seat space:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive
CO2 emissions (best measured):
Member exclusive

It’s reliability that lets this car down. Our most recent survey found that faults with the electrics, brakes and exhaust system were common. It’s a shame because otherwise this car is a competent estate with interior and boot space to spare. Still, the best car in the world is no good if it’s constant need of repair.

Volkswagen Passat Estate (2011-2014)
Typical price £7,449
Brand score 53%
Reviewed Jan 2011
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Performance:
4 out of 5
Seat comfort:
5 out of 5
Ride quality:
5 out of 5
Seat space:
4 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive
CO2 emissions (best measured):
Member exclusive

This short-lived estate isn’t a terrible car, but in a competitive class it was overshadowed. It’s pricey, even as a used car, and it’s not as fun to drive as its rivals. Petrol engines add a bit of excitement to the drive, but they are also thirsty. You’re better off sticking to one of our Best Buys.

Volvo V50 (2004-2012)
Typical price £2,733
Brand score 53%
Reviewed Apr 2004
Driving stability:
4 out of 5
Performance:
4 out of 5
Seat comfort:
4 out of 5
Ride quality:
4 out of 5
Seat space:
3 out of 5
On sale date:
Member exclusive
Boot space with seats up (litres):
Member exclusive
Combined mpg (best measured):
Member exclusive
CO2 emissions (best measured):
Member exclusive

Good-looking? Check. Easy to drive? Check. Acres of interior space? Check. Reliable? No. This estate car has so much going for it, but with only a two-star reliability rating out of a possible five in our most recent survey, it’s more prone than most to breakdowns and expensive to repair faults. One to avoid.

We test cars more thoroughly than anyone else

Our tests go further than those carried out by other organisations, and because Which? is independent and doesn't accept advertising or freebies, you can trust our reviews to give you the full, honest and impartial truth about every car we test.

Every car we review is subjected to more than 100 individual tests in a lab, on a test track, and on real roads – and we really clock up the miles, driving around 500 miles in every car we test.

Testing in controlled lab conditions means the results we collect are directly comparable between different cars, helping us determine exactly which models are better and why, and helping you find the perfect car for your needs

And so you know which cars are likely to prove reliable for years to come, we also gather feedback from thousands of UK car owners through the Which? Car Survey, using it to generate detailed reliability ratings for the cars we test.

To take the guesswork out of choosing your next car, take a Which? trial for £1 and you'll receive access to all our expert reviews and advice, plus Which? magazine itself.

SHARE THIS PAGE