Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy.

What size TV should I buy?

Top 5 best 49 to 55-inch TVs

By Ben Stockton

Article 4 of 5

With the price of big-screen TVs falling, you’ll find affordable 49, 50 and 55-inch TVs with features once reserved for only the most expensive sets. Find the best from our tests.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

With many models boasting exceptional picture quality and prices gradually coming down, it isn't surprising that so many of us are investing in TVs capable of delivering a real wow factor in our homes.

From reasonably priced mid-range sets from top brands, such as Samsung and LG, to the very best they have to offer, whether your budget is £600 or you’re looking to spend big, you’ll find something for you in this size bracket.

But price isn’t everything. We’ve branded TVs costing as much as £700 as Don’t Buys. Equally, we’ve seen Best Buys for as a little as £600 outperform models two or even three times the price.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, you can get instant access by taking a £1 trial to Which?.

Best 50 and 55-inch TVs

Samsung QE55Q7F
Today's best price £1,218.79
Which? score 77%
Reviewed May 2017
Best Buy
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

This impressive 55-inch set carries a hefty price tag. But that get you stunning picture quality, supreme sound and slick design.

Samsung UE55KS9000
Today's best price £1,299.90
Which? score 77%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Best Buy
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

Another set with a sizeable price tag, this TV may leave your pockets feeling a little lighter but you won’t regret it. With all the features you could wish for, supreme sound and very good picture quality, it’s a sure-fire Best Buy

Samsung UE55KU6500
Today's best price £820.27
Which? score 73%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Best Buy
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

You could hardly hope for a better 4K picture and HD doesn't look half bad either. Match that with a slick smart-TV system and you've got a top-notch set worthy of a Best Buy award.

LG 49SJ800V
Today's best price £749.00
Which? score 72%
Reviewed May 2017
Best Buy
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

Matching a simple smart-TV platform with decent picture and sound quality is a winning formula. If you're looking for a new smart TV, this Best Buy must make the shortlist.

Samsung UE50KU6000
Today's best price £589.00
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Best Buy
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

Offering everything the modern viewer could ask for – including smart TV as well as 4K HDR – you'd be hard pushed to believe this is a mid-range set. Boasting a Best Buy award, too, don’t let this great budget TV pass you by.

Not found the product for you? Browse all our TV reviews

And here are three 49 to 55-inch TVs to avoid

Marketing jargon should always be taken with a pinch of salt. We ignore the hype, testing every TV in real-world conditions and watching the same footage over and over again to ensure we unearth the very best sets. Our picture and sound quality experts have been left disappointed by TVs promising the latest TV technology – here, we round up some the worst offending sets.

49 to 55-inch TVs to avoid

Philips 55PUS6401/12
Today's best price £739.40
Which? score 47%
Reviewed Dec 2016
Picture quality:
2 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
HDR:
Member exclusive

A poor picture and mediocre sound see this 55-inch TV amass a lowly score in our testing. Despite narrowly avoiding the Don't Buy drop, you're spoilt for choice of Best Buys, even at this price.

Hisense H55M7000
Today's best price £728.73
Which? score 43%
Reviewed Oct 2016
Don't buy
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
1 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
HDR:
Member exclusive

At this price, you'd expect top-notch quality from a 55-inch 4K TV. But dreadful sound quality and merely mediocre sound sees this one slump to Don't Buy status.

JVC LT-55C550
Today's best price £449.00
Which? score 37%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Don't buy
Picture quality:
2 out of 5
Sound quality:
2 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Screen size:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
HDR:
Member exclusive

With no smart TV and merely Full-HD resolution, this 55-inch set is clearly lacking among its high-calibre competition. The below average picture and sound make it a defininte Don't Buy.

How to choose the best 49 to 55-inch TV

Although the type of TV you choose is down to your own personal preference, it's important to think carefully about whether a jumbo TV of 50 to 55-inch is right for your home.

We often hear tales of people being tempted by a large TV in the shop only to realise it is way too big once they get it home. The vast majority of TVs this size now come with a 4K ultra-HD screen – we recommend sitting around 3 metres away and half a metre or so further for Full HD models.

Use our What size TV should I buy? online tool to work out the size of TV that will best suit your room.

If this is the right size for you, here are some key things to look out for:

  • 4K ultra-HD: Due to its sharper picture, this higher resolution features on almost all of our Best Buy TVs, especially those of this size. If you’re looking for a future-proof set, we strongly recommend getting your hands on a 4K TV to make sure you don’t miss out on top-quality content in years to come.
  • Sound quality: There’s a huge disparity in sound quality across modern flatscreen TVs. While a Best Buy sound bar will improve your experience of any TV, the sound shouldn’t be so bad that you’re forced to splash out on one. We test every TV with both music and dialogue to ensure our Best Buys not only look great, but sound great, too.
  • High Dynamic Range: You’ll now find this picture technology on most 4K sets. It should give deeper blacks, brighter whites and more subtlety of tone in between, but you need HDR content to make use of it. While this remains sparse, HDR isn't a must-have feature. But with broadcasters, including the BBC, running trials, we expect to see it boom over the coming years.
SHARE THIS PAGE