Digital radios: Compare features & prices Roberts Stream83i review

The Roberts Stream 83i is a table-top DAB, FM and internet radio, equipped with five red, easily identifiable station preset buttons and tuning and volume dials. It includes connectivity for streaming music from your computer, connecting up an MP3 player and listening to files on USB and although is has a handle it only runs off the mains, not batteries - so it's not completely portable.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (10)
User Image wrote:
2011-07-24 20:05:25.197 wrote:
roberts stream 83 1
When we moved found that could not access local radio on DAB. Went into John Lewis and this radio was recommended. An excellent radio with very clear sound. Can now access local radio on internet.
Pros:
Cons:
14/7/2014 2:51 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-06-24 19:17:32.277 wrote:
Last.FM feature has gone
Bought two years ago the radio has been pretty good sound wise and wireless connectionThe menus are not particularly well organised so if you are searching for a particular podcast you might have to try a few different methods before you find what you are looking forThe screen is small and the characters scroll very slowly often this means before you can read the podcast description the radio drops back to the previous screen /program.Last.fm was a very desirable feature allowing you to listen to a range of music and artists which you chose for yourself. Unfortunately Last.Fm decided to stop streaming services to Roberts and other radiosAlthough Roberts are not responsible for Last. Fm and their actions you are now left with a selection button that does nothing The fact that Roberts have made no effort to replace this functionality with another streaming service and instead just washed their hands of the issue might give an indication of their attitude to their customer base I have bought their stream 83i the Expression Dab and Vintage Dab radios in the last two yearsI would though think twice before buying any other radio products from them
Pros:
Cons:
10/5/2014 2:00 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
fitzrovian wrote:
Stream 83i
This is just a generic far-Eastern radio re-branded as "Roberts". Roberts don't make it.It has a solid build quality, a nice "piano" finish, and a good sound from the both the built-in loudspeakers and the audio output socket.There is no facility to pause search or rewind the podcast stream. This omission is unacceptable on an internet radio.Frontier Silicon, the source of podcasts for this radio have never responded to my requests for additional podcasts. Their range of available podcasts is limited. As I write the 'This Week in Tech' podcast has not been updated for over five weeks, and Frontier Silicon has not replied to my complaint about this.The firmware is decidedly dodgy as periodically my 'Favourites' go AWOL. The radio won't play some podcasts with the complaint: "Cannot play selected media".
Pros:
Cons:
14/11/2013 6:35 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Szymanski99 wrote:
Roberts Stream 83i
Very decent sound for classical music with the equaliser set to classical. Excellent DAB reception. Wi-fi reception sometimes drops too readily, but usually OK. Last FM has been a real find - a personalised radio station - all music with no chat and no adverts. Requires some training and some of the classical performances are a little old, but all the more interesting for that. There is the option to pay the annual subscription in pounds, dollars or euros - 3 of any per month. Choose dollars and you pay much less.
Pros:
Cons:
5/11/2013 8:26 PM GST
User Image wrote:
GeordieThompson wrote:
Roberts Stream
This is a very good product. I've had it for about three years now and find it very easy to use and robust. The sound is fine and it gets me up in the morning to the dulcet tones of the BBC Radio 4 Today Programme team.
Pros:
Cons:
25/12/2012 5:58 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Chaz01 wrote:
Roberts Stream 83i
I returned my Pure Evoke Flow and bought a Roberts Stream 83i. The Evoke Flow's sound quality was disappointing and lacked punch; there also seemed to be a background hum. The Roberts is not as good looking but worlds apart in sound quality, with Equaliser selections and the ability to set your own EQ. The menus are intuitive, and I hadn't expected to find the pairing with Last.FM so enjoyable. Really delighted with it!
Pros:
Cons:
26/8/2011 6:00 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
mozer1 wrote:
Stream 83i
mine givse very good depth of sound ( when the back is about 100mm from wall or any solid object) impressed with Internet radio & receives good signal from my BT Home Hub 3 2 rooms away.Note Can't understand your review ref sound quality (not my expeience at all) Best DAB reception of any radio I have tried in my bad reception area,
Pros:
Cons:
20/8/2011 11:30 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
wendybestbooks wrote:
Stream 83i
Nice radio, heavy weight feel, and I liked the technolgy it contained. However I had to return it as the Internet Radio only worked on the Ethernet cable. WLAN was very patchy and Roberts said that I should return it. Otherwise a great radio and a really big improvment on my old Intempo
Pros:
Cons:
23/3/2011 6:21 PM GST
User Image wrote:
gibb002 wrote:
Roberts Stream 83i
Versatile Radio with a more than reasonable sound and a good range of functions.
Pros:
Cons:
15/2/2011 11:36 AM GST
User Image wrote:
jmmilner wrote:
stream 83 1
very easy to set up the sound is 10 out of 10only down side is mains power only but not a real problem & very easy to use
Pros:
Cons:
29/12/2010 6:54 PM GST

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy