MP3 players: Compare features & prices Apple iPod Classic 160GB review Back to Results

The iPod Classic from Apple is the most conventional player in the iPod family. Although it has undergone a number of upgrades since it was launched, its iconic design is still instantly recognisable. We put it through our tests to see if this MP3 player can live up to the hype.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
harrymoscow wrote:
ipod Classic 160GB
I use my ipod classic everyday for listening to audiobooks and it is perfect for this. As I wanted audiobooks mostly, rather than music, this is one of the reasons I chose this mp3 player with such a large memory.Transferring audiobooks from CD/cassette is quite possible (although all the books I had in these formats I re-bought from AudioGo at very reasonable prices. Life is too short to be stuck in front of a PC sorting out tracks -re naming etc - once downloaded from CD or cassette).An excellent purchase all in all.
Pros:
Cons:
2/10/2013 11:54 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Dave111 wrote:
A good machine
I bought a Classic about 6 months a go and from day one it has performed perfectly - I have an old desk top running Windows XP but the latest version of itunes. I do have a good pair of headphones which greatly enhance my enjoyment of my music. I love the massive memory - I have 13000 photos stored. The screen is small but adequate for occasionally viewing photographs, I normally use a TV. I down load a lot of podcasts and again this function has worked flawlessly. This is a robust piece of kit, I have dropped it several times, and is very easy to use.
Pros:
Cons:
16/7/2013 6:16 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
joe30567 wrote:
perfect travelling companion
Had over a year now.and the Classic is the only mp3 i,d use on my motorbike. great for long touring journeys,all weathers. Iv,e thirty gig of rock,twenty of blues and sixty of of classical. it fits all moods .Only one problem,check your,e speedo during some led zep tracks etc..volume/ increases speed (yee ha)joking!note ;used with cardo 9 intercom system (helmet),so good quality sound with voice control via sat nav (tom tom rider) iv,e used other systems and this is the best setup.(been riding forty+ years)
Pros:
Cons:
6/4/2013 9:55 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Jenny1000 wrote:
They are expensive,...
They are expensive, but I love my iPod. It has such a massive capacity and instinctively easy to use. I am on my second one - my first one froze completely after about 5 years, but given I use it every day and it gets quite a rough ride in my bag and pockets, I didn't think that was too bad.
Pros:
Cons:
29/10/2012 6:08 PM GST
User Image wrote:
krl100 wrote:
Over-rated
I've owned two of these - the first was damaged beyond repair and out of warranty. The second I bought 6 months ago. Since then I have had nothing but trouble with it. Whenever Apple issue an update to the iTunes software which I use on my PC the iPod invariably gets corrupted, all of the tracks get lost on it but the ones on the PC are fine. I then have to spend hours reformatting the iPod and restoring the tracks. I kick myself that I bought this and did not opt for another MP3 player which communicates with Windows much easier. I suppose if you own an Apple computer (which I do not - give me a PC anyday) and intend to buy your music from the iTunes stores this is fine but otherwise think again.
Pros:
Cons:
20/8/2012 12:19 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
howard wrote:
Brilliant but needs bit more volume
I have invested is some high quality headphones; Bose in-ear for day to day and the gym and Bose noise cancelling over ear ones for travelling. Voulme level with the in-ear is fine but just slightly lacking with the noise cancelling where you need to adjust the sound setting within the ipod's equalizer and turn the volume to maximum at times to get an acceptable level. This could be more of a Bose issue however a lot of people use the noise cancelling sets (which incidentally sound fantastic!) a bit more output from the ipod would allow better volume control and take away the need to have to have full volume selected most of the time. Other than that I just love my ipod classic - a music lovers MP3.
Pros:
Cons:
11/8/2011 1:38 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
helen66 wrote:
Think twice before buying a
My Classic has crashed its hard drive. I can no longer download from iTunes but can use what I've downloaded so far. I've only had it for 14 months and had less than 2gb. Very disappointing and I have two friends with a similar experience. I understand this to be a relatively common problem with the Classic (it has a physical hard drive NOT a flash drive).
Pros:
Cons:
24/10/2010 10:39 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
healinghands wrote:
Can't live without it
I love my ipod. I try to use every feature on the ipod to get the most out of it. so far so good. Still have so much space even with all the music I've loaded and continue to build on my library.
Pros:
Cons:
18/10/2010 5:12 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
mail wrote:
Great player
I have used the ipod classic v5 for two years now with successive iterations of iTunes on my iMac. Both work perfectly together and I have only ever had one problem with music, video, audiobooks, podcasts, apps, etc. I listen to pop, rock, classical, etc and watch the occasional TV show or movie. It synchronises perfectly. Sound is fine ( I use a pair of Shure in-ear 'phones), probably as I have no expectations that it will be as good as my hifi at home. Battery life is fabulous; I've never yet run it down and can go for days without recharging. As for the Which 'con' of it being big and heavy this is relative. How small do you want to go! It fits comfortably in a pocket. I have about 140Gb of media loaded on it. For those who've read this far my problem was with tracks recorded from an LP. This turned out to be an issue with the recording format and once I had coded to Apple Lossless (as I should have done in the first place and don't know why I didn't as all my other music is in that format) it was fine. A great combination.I posted this in answer to two previous posters who seemed to be having problems.
Pros:
Cons:
15/8/2010 10:53 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Ali1234 wrote:
Best Ipod if you just want music.
Had this this Ipod for nearly 12 months now, and still working fine (albeit protected by a solid case).However, needs some decent 'phones to really be appreciated, as the EQ settings are useless. Sounds great for pop/rock when paired with Klipsch S4s - smooth treble, great bass, and lots of clarity. Also great with Klipsch X10s, or X5s if you prefer less bass.
Pros:
Cons:
6/8/2010 3:04 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
JohnH1 wrote:
Great till it locked up
Apple's itunes 9.3 makes Sony's hideous Sonic Stage software look good, not only has it crashed on my computer by not responding as sonic stage often did. When I did the "ctrl alt delete" button press procedure to get windows task manager up. I ended and rebooted itunes to find my new ipod had frozen. This being a 2 day old apple, I decided to return it along with its huge memory to get a refund. I see little point in having a machine thats prone to crashing along needing memory contents wiping before trying to sync it up! If my experience is anything to go by. I would reckon anybody getting more than 5gb of itunes onto its 160gb memory would be doing well! I have just bought a new Sony 16gb mp3 player after being told that Sony have made them functional without needing sonic stage. Even better the Sony came supplied WITHOUT SONIC STAGE :) but with a software cd for converting your music cds into mp3's for should you not happen to have software like windows media player on your computer already.It works with windows media player and plays mp3's along with wav, wma and aac files. I guess Apple might get knocked off their top spot soon by itunes, like Sony did a few years ago by shooting themselves in the foot with sonicstage!
Pros:
Cons:
29/7/2010 10:57 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
TimothyW wrote:
ipod and itunes 9
having looked at the forums on ipod classic and the newly released itunes 9 - many peiple are having serious problems. itunes 9.3 has locked up many ipods including mine, does not allow synch up and the apple team have been unable to solve the problem. Iive visisted the genius bars in the apple shops (as have many others) and called the apple hotline - no help at all - the ipod seems to work in the showrooms on their apple computers, but the same issue arises back at home. Until apple solve this problem i'd not be in a position to recommend the ipod classic, or from the message on the forums - the ipod touch
Pros:
Cons:
12/3/2010 3:23 PM GST

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy