Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3: Panasonic MFT system lenses

Not all lenses fit all cameras. There are currently 17 mainstream lenses that have been built with the micro four thirds compact camera system in mind, 11 of which are produced by Panasonic and detailed in the table below.

Panasonic and Olympus are currently the only manufacturers of micro four third cameras and third party manufacturers of lenses, such as Sigma, haven't yet joined the party.

You can find out more about the benefits of the various lens types in our guide to choosing a digital SLR lens.

Panasonic micro four third system lenses
LensesFocal lengthApertureFilter sizeWeight
Standard zoom14-42mmF3.5-5.652mm165g
Standard zoom14-45mmF3.5-5.652mm195g
Standard zoom14-140mmF4.0-5.862mm460g
Telephoto zoom45-200mmF4.0-5.652mm380g
Telephoto zoom100-300mmF4.0-5.667mm520g
Wide-angle zoom7-14mmF4.0n/a300g
Fisheye8mmF3.522mm (rear-fitting)165g
3D lens12.5mmF12n/a45g

The 3D lens uses a fixed, twin lens set up to capture two separate pictures - one for each eye. The pictures are then turned into a single image which has a 3D look to it when viewed on a suitable 3D display - such as a 3D TV. The 3D lens works for both still and moving images (video).

Micro four thirds system

The micro four thirds system was created by Panasonic and Olympus in 2008

Olympus micro four third lenses and mount adaptors

At the time of writing there are currently six MFT lenses from Olympus, including a 9-18mm wide angle zoom, a couple of standard and telephoto zooms, and a 17mm single focal length pancake lens.

Both Panasonic and Olympus also manufacture mount adaptors, which allows lenses from other camera systems to be used - such as some digital SLR lenses.

If you're thinking of buying a digital SLR, make sure you read our in-depth digital SLR reviews