Backup software: Compare features & prices Carbonite Online backup review

Just like backup software on your desktop, the key to an effective online backup solution is simplicity. So is it possible to leave Carbonite's online backup software service to get on and do the job? We've tested it to find out.
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (7)
User Image wrote:
2011-07-09 16:53:46.263 wrote:
I've been using Carbonite for more than four years, and, contrary to the 'Cons' in the Which review, my experience is that it *does* keep earlier versions of a file. As the number of versions of a file increases it doesn't keep them all, and I don't know how it decides what to keep - for example, I have a recent file with nine changes, and Carbonite has kept versions 1, 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9, and another, older file has 15 versions and Carbonite has kept 1, 14 and 15. Nevertheless, I have found it useful in the past to be able to go back to an earlier version of a file.I've given it a rating of Good rather than Excellent because it sometimes seems to slow my computer down while it backs up - but overall I'm pretty pleased with it.
Pros:
Cons:
1/4/2014 7:50 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-11 17:02:03.907 wrote:
I think this produc...
I think this product is brilliant. I went for this rather than DropBox as I wanted to back up my Outlook files. It's very easy to use and the web site is really good if you have questions with lots of screenshots so you can see what you need to do. The email support is good too, although i don't expect to use it much.I've used another online backup before and it's just not a patch on this. Carbonite have one very satisfied customer.
Pros:
Cons:
10/1/2013 6:25 PM GST
User Image wrote:
jamesy437 wrote:
You can't forget to back up
I've had Carbonite for about 3 years and fortunately haven't yet had to test it fully in a PC failure. But while there are a few downsides to the software - eg. won't automatically back up video files, doesn't back up programs - the upside is having a little friend running silently in the background instantly backing up everything you do. It really is a set and forget option. So if you're a bit like me and would rather not have the hassle of a manual backup to an external hard drive (or if you would likely forget to do it regularly) never mind finding a secure place for the drive (can't be in your home in case it gets stolen!) etc. etc., this is a reliable, no-nonsense alternative.
Pros:
Cons:
2/12/2012 2:56 PM GST
User Image wrote:
mrbat5 wrote:
Install and forget it - it works efficiently in the background
I have been using Carbonite for over 4 years and have 12GB stored on line. It took a couple of days to back up everything initially (it may be quicker now and, of course, will depend upon the amount of data being backed up). It is very satisfying to know that immediately I save a file it is backed up automatically. Likewise with photos, upload from the camera and Carbonite will straight away start to back them up. Should you need support it is prompt, personal and helpful. At extra cost it is now possible to back up an image from a second hard drive. Their website is worth looking at. I feel it is an excellent program and good value for money.
Pros:
Cons:
13/3/2012 11:29 AM GST
User Image wrote:
john.eaton wrote:
Bseaboy
What is not made crystal clear is that Carbonite will only back up an internal hard drive. Due to C drive capacity limitations I have thousands of photos and music files on an external hard drive. Carbonite does NOT back these up. It takes quite a bit of hunting on the Carbonite website to find this out - after I'd bought the software. Software is great, but only if you're using your C drive alone.
Pros:
Cons:
10/7/2011 5:26 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
rogerholden99 wrote:
Easy to operate
I switched to Carbonite from Mozy after they started losing my data and then quadrupled the price for large backups. It really is easy to setup and I like the little traffic light dots by each file which tell you its backup status. I have used it on both Windows and Mac computers. It gives you a feeling of solidity and never behaves unreliably. The acid test will be if I ever have to restore anything, but fingers crossed so far.
Pros:
Cons:
28/6/2011 7:09 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
somewhensoon wrote:
There when I needed it
It does take a while to do the initial backup, but once up and running it works without you noticing. My PC died last year and I was able to access my documents from another PC while I was without a machine, and then able to easily download the whole lot when I had a new computer. One thing to note is that whilst it is compatible with Windows and Macs the two versions are not compatible with each other. Therefore when I changed from a Windows computer to a Mac I had to find a Windows computer to download to and transfer with an external drive and then upload to Carbonite again. It was worth the hassle though and I would recommend.
Pros:
Cons:
4/4/2011 7:33 PM GDT

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy