PVRs: Compare features & prices Humax HDR Fox T2 review Back to Results

The easy to use and reliable Humax HDR Fox T2 is a twin-tuner Freeview HD PVR. It can tune into both the standard-definition Freeview channels, and the new Freeview HD service. Does this PVR box offer the right balance between functionality, features and performance?
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
RobertOxford wrote:
Don't buy
Yes, it's a great machine until the day the HDD packs up. Then you lose everything. We had ours for 2 1/2 years. Humax customer service just said the equivalent of 'tough'. At least with a VHS recorder you only lost a couple of hours if a tape was corrupted or chewed up. With an HDD, you may lose hundreds of hours of precious stuff. The internet is full of posts about its long-term lack of reliability but this isn't one of the things which 'Which' tests.
Pros:
Cons:
27/6/2014 6:46 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-23 00:16:47.397 wrote:
Impecable!
We've had this machine for 3 years. I wish all electronic products were as good and reliable. The recorded picture is good and it is easy to operate (basics Ok but it takes a week or two to master all facilities and some are still a bit vague but seldom used). The one problem we've had was finding the right channels to tune it to on set-up which need a phone call to Humax, who were helpful and efficient. Handset also well laid out.
Pros:
Cons:
18/6/2014 8:08 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Bodrick wrote:
More features than you might think...
I was interested on what makes this box tick. A bit of searching on the 'net found a site dedicated to "alternative" firmware for HDR-Fox T2. I followed the simple instructions and have been using this fimware for over 2 years without problem. It gives the ability to copy recordings directly from the Humax over the ethernet network cable or a cheap (compatible) wifi dongle which means I can keep certain things without running out of space on the device - it's otherwise painfully slow using the provided USB connecter. It will also allow you to decrypt the HD recordings so they can be played on other devices, not just the one it was recorded on, ensuring you do not breach any copyrights, of course. Oh, and you can browse what it has on its disk through a web browser on your PC, set recordings etc etc. I'm pretty sure using this firmware voids the warranty, but my Hummy is around 4 years old anyway. You can revert it to "normal" if you want to.If you just want it to record Freeview/Freeview HD programmes and play them back then it does that brilliantly too...The only minor niggle is that it has such an early - and clunky - implementation of the internet catch-up TV services that I find it much easier to do this another way.
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2014 10:53 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
mjbruce1940 wrote:
Great whilst it worked
I have had this machine for nearly three years.Whilst it worked I was most impressed by the ease of use and quality of sound and vision.But after a software update it has gone into spasm and is completely unusable.Very disappointing as I have lost a great series of recordings.
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2014 7:06 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
nollaig wrote:
Perfection
Have owned my T2 since 2011. It is one of those rare products which behaves impeccably and unobtrusively day in, day out with no glitches or temperamental behaviour. Thanks to the clear program guide, it is a cinch to set recordings in advance, and both picture and sound are indistinguishable from live TV. Highly recommended.
Pros:
Cons:
14/5/2014 10:40 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
Gonzo999 wrote:
Niggles
Purchased Feb 2012. Started going wrong in June 2012. Trying to change channels, and the new channel number appeared on the screen but then all the controls froze, although the present channel continued to broadcast. Rebooted the PVR and it would work fine for a while (half hour) and then the problem recurred. After a week of this, the half hour gradually reduced to a quarter. Found various forums online, which showed various problems with this machine. As a result, I tried downloading, new software over the air (see manual) but it always told me that my software was up-to-date. Eventually I got in touch with Humax support and the guy there was pretty helpful but still the problem persisted. Eventually, he arranged a courier to bring me a replacement and take away the old machine. Apart from one niggle, this has been working fine. I may be watching a program on my Samsung TV's own receiver and then want to switch to the PVR. If I change the PVR from stand-bye to active, I have to wait a while, before switching the TV to pick up the PVR picture. If I change too early, I get presented with a green screen or, less often, a message saying that HDMI was not supported. Leaving it, does not seem to resolve the problem. I have to reboot and that usually sorts it out (not always though). I suspect that the PVR has a processor that takes time to warm up, similar to booting a PC. This is all very irritating, if I want to change over quickly. Apart from this, I like the machine. I get good pictures and the recordings are great. If you want to copy a recording to USB memory stick, that is easy, providing you have not recorded in HD. HD recordings are very large and I have never made one that fits a 16 GB stick. I tried attaching a portable hard drive but it had an NTFS filing system, which the PVR didn't like. This PVR is good, as long as you can accept its limitations and as long as you are lucky enough not to purchase one of the seemingly many dodgy ones (see online forums and some of the reviews here)!
Pros:
Cons:
29/4/2014 7:48 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
TVJohn wrote:
TVJohn
I have been using the product for a year now and find it very satisfactory but with a few minor niggles. It is used in conjunction with the previous 9300 SD PVR whose pictures are marginally better in SDThe PVR is mostly used in HD with very acceptable results connected to a Sony 37" TV (KDL37EX503) via HDMI. I nearly always use this instead of the TVs own tuner so that I can take advantage of the "pause" feature. The four minute jump feature is good for cutting out adverts since at peak time all slots are four minutes but off peak sometimes miss the start of next section so use the 30 second reverse jump.The remote has the toggle between stations feature of previous units missing and I find this VERY annoying! I have the high capacity model but so far have not quite half filled the disc since I regularly cancel programmes I do not want to keep.I could not receive HD programmes on the TV's tuner when daisy-chained through the aerial system and have to use a splitter at the wall. There is loft amplifier also feeding bedroom sets. This problem is known to Sony since they produced the cure!
Pros:
Cons:
24/2/2014 12:59 PM GST
User Image wrote:
DickieMint wrote:
New BBC HD channels bug
I'm disappointed that Which? has not investigated the erratic recording of the new BBC Freeview HD channels. Users are reporting failure to record BBC3HD or BBC4HD. Humax have so far not come up with a fix, nor admitted to a problem. Which? should use it's clout to get Humax to sort it!
Pros:
Cons:
17/1/2014 3:17 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-05 18:04:30.487 wrote:
Better than Virgin Tivo
Had for about a year, given to me by a family member who didn't need it. In its default state it's excellent but with the addition of custom firmware (do a search) it's absolutely wonderful. My previous PVR was a Toppy and I thought I'd never replace it but I don't miss it now! We also have a Tivo and frankly, although pretty good, it has some very annoying "features" where the T2 does not - such as auto deleting recordings and having innumerable (mainly useless) sub menus and most recently, muting itself. It seems some people are having reliability issues but I've not experienced any. If it wasn't for weak aerial reception at my home I'd not use the Tivo at all.
Pros:
Cons:
15/1/2014 11:15 AM GST
User Image wrote:
Brian999 wrote:
Fantastic Buy
I use this as a Freeview box on a daily basis and love the ability to pause live TV when the phone rings and then continue watching after the call. Great recording facilities with Freeview+. My only criticism is that it is rather noisy but you get used to this and eventually ignore it.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 4:32 PM GST
User Image wrote:
frances51 wrote:
HUMAX FOX T2 500MB
My second Humax PVR, bought to go with a new HD TV. Easy to set up although had to turn off a lot of the automatic power-saving functions as they didn't allow enough time to go and make a cup of tea! Have tuned Humax remote to TV which makes life simpler.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 12:44 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-06-03 17:40:11.057 wrote:
Humax Fox
I love my Humax; on those evenings when there is only rubbish on TV I have lots of programmes I have recorded to watch, I can get programmes which clash, I don't even have to get up to put in a DVD. Compared with my old videotape recorder it is brilliant, doesn't run out of space, can stop and restart a programme with no trouble, and if I have recorded a programme on spec I can kill it if it turns out to be a lemon.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 8:28 AM GST
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy