PVRs: Compare features & prices Humax HDR Fox T2 review Back to Results

The easy to use and reliable Humax HDR Fox T2 is a twin-tuner Freeview HD PVR. It can tune into both the standard-definition Freeview channels, and the new Freeview HD service. Does this PVR box offer the right balance between functionality, features and performance?
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
TVJohn wrote:
TVJohn
I have been using the product for a year now and find it very satisfactory but with a few minor niggles. It is used in conjunction with the previous 9300 SD PVR whose pictures are marginally better in SDThe PVR is mostly used in HD with very acceptable results connected to a Sony 37" TV (KDL37EX503) via HDMI. I nearly always use this instead of the TVs own tuner so that I can take advantage of the "pause" feature. The four minute jump feature is good for cutting out adverts since at peak time all slots are four minutes but off peak sometimes miss the start of next section so use the 30 second reverse jump.The remote has the toggle between stations feature of previous units missing and I find this VERY annoying! I have the high capacity model but so far have not quite half filled the disc since I regularly cancel programmes I do not want to keep.I could not receive HD programmes on the TV's tuner when daisy-chained through the aerial system and have to use a splitter at the wall. There is loft amplifier also feeding bedroom sets. This problem is known to Sony since they produced the cure!
Pros:
Cons:
24/2/2014 12:59 PM GST
User Image wrote:
DickieMint wrote:
New BBC HD channels bug
I'm disappointed that Which? has not investigated the erratic recording of the new BBC Freeview HD channels. Users are reporting failure to record BBC3HD or BBC4HD. Humax have so far not come up with a fix, nor admitted to a problem. Which? should use it's clout to get Humax to sort it!
Pros:
Cons:
17/1/2014 3:17 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-05 18:04:30.487 wrote:
Better than Virgin Tivo
Had for about a year, given to me by a family member who didn't need it. In its default state it's excellent but with the addition of custom firmware (do a search) it's absolutely wonderful. My previous PVR was a Toppy and I thought I'd never replace it but I don't miss it now! We also have a Tivo and frankly, although pretty good, it has some very annoying "features" where the T2 does not - such as auto deleting recordings and having innumerable (mainly useless) sub menus and most recently, muting itself. It seems some people are having reliability issues but I've not experienced any. If it wasn't for weak aerial reception at my home I'd not use the Tivo at all.
Pros:
Cons:
15/1/2014 11:15 AM GST
User Image wrote:
Brian999 wrote:
Fantastic Buy
I use this as a Freeview box on a daily basis and love the ability to pause live TV when the phone rings and then continue watching after the call. Great recording facilities with Freeview+. My only criticism is that it is rather noisy but you get used to this and eventually ignore it.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 4:32 PM GST
User Image wrote:
frances51 wrote:
HUMAX FOX T2 500MB
My second Humax PVR, bought to go with a new HD TV. Easy to set up although had to turn off a lot of the automatic power-saving functions as they didn't allow enough time to go and make a cup of tea! Have tuned Humax remote to TV which makes life simpler.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 12:44 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-06-03 17:40:11.057 wrote:
Humax Fox
I love my Humax; on those evenings when there is only rubbish on TV I have lots of programmes I have recorded to watch, I can get programmes which clash, I don't even have to get up to put in a DVD. Compared with my old videotape recorder it is brilliant, doesn't run out of space, can stop and restart a programme with no trouble, and if I have recorded a programme on spec I can kill it if it turns out to be a lemon.
Pros:
Cons:
7/11/2013 8:28 AM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-07 21:14:37.38 wrote:
Nol
The Fox T2 corrupts the signal on our TV's around the house when it is in standby, producing pixilation and clicks. I am in email contact with Humax and they are trying to help, but we still have the problem.It is temporarily cured by turning on the Humax and then turning it off again. When the Humax left on we have no problem. Otherwise it is an excellent machine.
Pros:
Cons:
5/11/2013 8:03 PM GST
User Image wrote:
brat673 wrote:
humax to internet
Have not found how to stop the recorder going into sleep mode. or how to make connections for iplayer internet connections
Pros:
Cons:
5/11/2013 5:27 PM GST
User Image wrote:
2011-08-06 14:07:09.45 wrote:
Woldn't be without it
We've been using various Humax machines over the years as they seem to better than the competition. We upgraded to this to get the HD and that all seems fine. The only niggles are the occasional crashes and some more clicks needed for some operations than on earlier models (deleting being the most annoying).
Pros:
Cons:
5/11/2013 4:59 PM GST
User Image wrote:
steadyeddie wrote:
in daily use
I find this PVR excellent. I can even transfer programmes to a 2nd device with a DVD burner to make permanent copies via its AV channel. The only problem I have had is well known - even though it has twin tuners, if you are watching say BBC1 using Timeslip and a scheduled recording starts, BBC1 is instantly transferred to LIVE time with no option to rewind. Very frustrating. I have also been able to make use of internet channels by connecting the PVR to the house mains supply via a NETGEAR powerline adaptor (the router being connected similarly).
Pros:
Cons:
26/10/2013 12:24 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
nickshaw wrote:
Ronseal
Great machine with easy controls and idiot proof set up. Don't know how we managed without it!!
Pros:
Cons:
23/8/2013 3:06 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Fiona015 wrote:
Poor Picture Quality
I bought this to replace an old Topfield 500 which was getting old plus I wanted an HD recorder to match my new HD TV. Once I'd added in user-created add-ons my Topfield box, though quite old, it is still far superior to the Humax. In particular the picture quality with the Humax at the higher resolutions is poor - quite fuzzy. Reading some user forums I found that setting the resolution using the V-format button to 576 instead of 1080 did improve the picture but it was still not nearly as clear as my old Topfield. Additionally actions that could easily be achieved by pressing one button on my Topfield required at least 2 on the Humax. It's a decent box lacks some of the functionality I'm used to, particularly in relation to searches. I was hoping for more from this new model.
Pros:
Cons:
23/8/2013 1:12 AM GDT
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy