PVRs: Compare features & prices Humax HDR Fox T2 review Back to Results

The easy to use and reliable Humax HDR Fox T2 is a twin-tuner Freeview HD PVR. It can tune into both the standard-definition Freeview channels, and the new Freeview HD service. Does this PVR box offer the right balance between functionality, features and performance?
Sign up to access the full review

What are customer views?

Customer views

It appears that you have JavaScript* switched off on your browser.

As a consequence, posting a customer rating and a view is unavailable. You can get guidance on how to enable JavaScript for your specific browser by performing a search on the internet.

*JavaScript is a programming language that is included on web pages to make them more interactive.

Posts (12)
User Image wrote:
2011-08-09 21:34:49.603 wrote:
A GOOD PVR - USELESS WHEN REMOTE CONKS OUT
Easy to set up and has sat there under the TV for 3 years working fine. Couple of weeks ago wife says remote playing up. Batteries fine but changed, it works for me until yesterday - 4 days before Christmas! On line now find Humax remote is common problem and needs to be replaced for more than £20. Other remotes we have had for many years - AIWA colour TV and video recorder since 1998, Neovia TV since 2005 - all working fine. This could be a difficult Christmas with the Humax PVR out of action because of useless remote control. Why has Humax not addressed this problem?
Pros:
Cons:
22/12/2014 10:10 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Maisy1 wrote:
Pixelating problems
When this machine works it is good, but after only 1yr and 10 months the picture pixelates and becomes impossible to use or record from. It has nothing to do with the arial as tv fine. Having to buy a replacement within 2 years is not good!
Pros:
Cons:
10/11/2014 8:59 PM GST
User Image wrote:
Shinkansen wrote:
A Really Good Product
I have owned my Humax Fox T2 HDR since January 2012 and it has barely put a foot wrong. My only niggle is the difficulty involved in transferring recordings to different media. (My assumption is that following a recent change in the law this now entirely legal providing the recording are for personal use only. Perhaps this could be clarified in Which?)I went away for a couple of months, put the word "proms" into the search box and came back to find 32 programmes waiting for me - some in both standard and high definition. I wanted to preserve these and free the PVR disc space for other things. The only way I have found to do this is by using a USB key as a transfer method - can take hours - and the using crummy Nero software (don't get me going) to produce DVD copies. But this does not work for HD material.Although the media destinations it shows includes my computer network I have not found any way of recording directly to my NAS device. I note that another reviewer mentions "alternative firmware". I shall investigate this.I must stress, though, that the download problems are the only ones which I have encountered. Apart from these, this product is excellent
Pros:
Cons:
25/10/2014 9:54 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-07 19:38:47.847 wrote:
Poor reliability
Good whilst it works. First failed in many ways at 11 months and the replacement is failing at 5 months. Faults are not turning on, picture freeze, no sound all of which mean viewing is impossible. Would not recommend it.
Pros:
Cons:
5/10/2014 7:54 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
melmar wrote:
Good Buy
I bought this in March 2012 and it has given excellent service but the remote control stopped working in Feb 2014. As it was out of warranty I bought a new remote from Amazon (half the price of Humax). The only niggle I have is that after retuning you have to redo your recording schedule.
Pros:
Cons:
19/9/2014 11:52 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-08-07 12:19:14.333 wrote:
Anything more reliable around ?
Remote stopped working after about 6 months, Humax sent a new one without hesitation.Now after 14 months or so it just does not record everything it is asked to record…Reliability??Not best impressed
Pros:
Cons:
5/9/2014 10:54 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
dwalkeruk wrote:
Stopped responding to remote after 13 months
I have bought 3 Humax PVRs (1 Freesat and 2 Freeview). I bought this model for my mother. It stopped responding to the remote after 13 months: so it's out of the warranty period. Humax customer services say "tough" - which apparently they are quite good at. Quite a few people seem to have had the problem: would be good if Humax acknowledged it and fixed it instead of saying "Out of warranty". (Another Humax box responds to the remote, this box does not respond to another remote.)
Pros:
Cons:
12/8/2014 10:37 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
RobertOxford wrote:
Don't buy
Yes, it's a great machine until the day the HDD packs up. Then you lose everything. We had ours for 2 1/2 years. Humax customer service just said the equivalent of 'tough'. At least with a VHS recorder you only lost a couple of hours if a tape was corrupted or chewed up. With an HDD, you may lose hundreds of hours of precious stuff. The internet is full of posts about its long-term lack of reliability but this isn't one of the things which 'Which' tests.
Pros:
Cons:
27/6/2014 6:46 AM GDT
User Image wrote:
2011-07-23 00:16:47.397 wrote:
Impecable!
We've had this machine for 3 years. I wish all electronic products were as good and reliable. The recorded picture is good and it is easy to operate (basics Ok but it takes a week or two to master all facilities and some are still a bit vague but seldom used). The one problem we've had was finding the right channels to tune it to on set-up which need a phone call to Humax, who were helpful and efficient. Handset also well laid out.
Pros:
Cons:
18/6/2014 8:08 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
Bodrick wrote:
More features than you might think...
I was interested on what makes this box tick. A bit of searching on the 'net found a site dedicated to "alternative" firmware for HDR-Fox T2. I followed the simple instructions and have been using this fimware for over 2 years without problem. It gives the ability to copy recordings directly from the Humax over the ethernet network cable or a cheap (compatible) wifi dongle which means I can keep certain things without running out of space on the device - it's otherwise painfully slow using the provided USB connecter. It will also allow you to decrypt the HD recordings so they can be played on other devices, not just the one it was recorded on, ensuring you do not breach any copyrights, of course. Oh, and you can browse what it has on its disk through a web browser on your PC, set recordings etc etc. I'm pretty sure using this firmware voids the warranty, but my Hummy is around 4 years old anyway. You can revert it to "normal" if you want to.If you just want it to record Freeview/Freeview HD programmes and play them back then it does that brilliantly too...The only minor niggle is that it has such an early - and clunky - implementation of the internet catch-up TV services that I find it much easier to do this another way.
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2014 10:53 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
mjbruce1940 wrote:
Great whilst it worked
I have had this machine for nearly three years.Whilst it worked I was most impressed by the ease of use and quality of sound and vision.But after a software update it has gone into spasm and is completely unusable.Very disappointing as I have lost a great series of recordings.
Pros:
Cons:
20/5/2014 7:06 PM GDT
User Image wrote:
nollaig wrote:
Perfection
Have owned my T2 since 2011. It is one of those rare products which behaves impeccably and unobtrusively day in, day out with no glitches or temperamental behaviour. Thanks to the clear program guide, it is a cinch to set recordings in advance, and both picture and sound are indistinguishable from live TV. Highly recommended.
Pros:
Cons:
14/5/2014 10:40 AM GDT
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 >> Last

By posting a view you are agreeing to abide by the Which? Acceptable Use Policy