We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Which? Council elections

The Council of the Consumers' Association is the ultimate governing body of our charity and the Which? Group as a whole.

The majority of Council members, who are our trustees, are directly elected from our membership. Trustees are responsible for the continued success of Which? and the achievement of our charitable mission.

2019 Council election is now open

Each year we hold elections for new trustees and this year we are seeking talented individuals for three trustee vacancies that will be elected by Which? members. These are substantial trustee appointments, offering an opportunity to help shape the future of a highly respected charity with a strong brand and reputation.

Information about the responsibilities of Council and its members, and the skills needed for the role of trustee, can be found below.

If you are (or someone you know is) interested in standing in this election, please get in touch by emailing council.election@which.co.uk. The application process closes on 14 June 2019.


Council election advert 48 Kb | 19 Mar 2019
Trustee Election 2019 Candidate Pack 278 Kb | 29 Mar 2019
Interview with Shirley Bailey-Wood, current trustee 102 Kb | 19 Mar 2019
The role of Council and its trustees 38 Kb | 19 Mar 2019
Governance at Which? - March 2019 40 Kb | 27 Mar 2019



2018 Council election

The results of the Consumers' Association election 2018 are as follows:

Elected: Shirley Bailey-Wood MBE - 17,247, Donald Grant - 17,056, Christine Forde - 14,552.

Not elected: Charles Wander - 10,222, Jonathon Burt - 10,022, Peter Hall - 9,529, Ann Kaye - 9,076

The Consumers’ Association would like to thank the candidates who stood for election and welcome new Council member Christine Forde. The elected members of Council took up their positions following the AGM on 28 November 2018.