Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy

Which? awards for the best of the best revealed

We name the top products and services


The Which? awards logo

For the first time in our 50 year history Which? has presented awards to the very best products and services in the UK.

The winners were announced this afternoon at a ceremony held at the British Museum.

Compered by broadcaster Fiona Bruce, there was a presentation from Richard Lambert, Director General of the CBI, and Prime Minister Gordon Brown also provided a special recorded message of support for the event.

There were ten award categories reflecting the breadth of Which?’s research, ranging from domestic appliances to financial products, and cars to broadband providers.

Consumer Champion

A special heritage award was presented to Panasonic, for achieving the most Which? Best Buy recommendations since Which? magazine was first published in 1957.

Pensions Minister, James Purnell MP, was named Which? Consumer Champion of the Year for his commitment to consumers in the development of the national pensions saving scheme.

Which? Chief Executive Peter Vicary-Smith said: ‘This is the first time in Which?’s 50 year history that we have so publicly celebrated the very best products and services available to UK consumers.

‘Which? is known both for its fierce independence and for its unparalleled high standards. People know they can absolutely trust the Which? name, so they will also know that these Which? Award winners really are the best of the best.

‘And for those companies that didn’t get an award this year, we hope today will inspire them to try for the winning spot next year.’


The Which? Award winners are:

Best Domestic Appliance Brand – Miele

Best Audio Visual Brand – Panasonic

Best Current Account Provider – Smile

Best Credit Card Provider – M&S ‘&More’

Best Retailer – John Lewis

Best Broadband Provider – Waitrose

Best Car Manufacturer – Toyota

Restaurant of the Year – Yorke Arms, Ramsgill

Consumer Champion of the Year – James Purnell MP

Heritage Award – Panasonic

Back to top