Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy

All-new Mercedes E-Class unveiled

New E-Class boasts an array of safety features

BlueEfficiency features come as standard

BlueEfficiency features come as standard

The all-new E-Class debuted in Detroit last week, amidst impressive efficiency claims and a remarkable array of safety features. All nine of the engines available from launch include ‘direct injection’ for improved fuel consumption and performance.

One green highlight is the 2.2-litre turbodiesel engine in the new E250 CDI. This produces 201bhp and an enormous 369lb ft of torque, yet still returns 53.3mpg while emitting just 139g/km CO2 – incredible for such a large, powerful car. E220 CDI and E200 CDI lower power versions of this same engine are also offered.

Other notable additions to the engine line-up include new 1.8-litre turbo petrol engines, badged CGI. The E200 CGI variant of this will include a stop-start function as standard, helping it return 41.5mpg with CO2 emissions of 159g/km.

Mercedes BlueEfficiency

The new E-Class is highly aerodynamic

The new E-Class is highly aerodynamic

Each new E-Class sold in the UK (except V8 engined models) will also include features as standard, which help to reduce average fuel consumption across the range by some 3mpg. The new E-Class is highly aerodynamic, too – with a drag coefficient of just 0.25 making it ‘the world’s most aerodynamically efficient luxury saloon’.

Numerous new technological advancements have also been included, some of which are borrowed from its larger sibling, the luxurious Mercedes S-Class. Perhaps the most interesting innovation is the ‘Attention Assist drowsiness detect system’, which monitors over 70 different parameters to detect the driver’s level of alertness, and warn them if it senses impending drowsiness. This is intended to help avoid the dangers of falling asleep at the wheel.

E-Class safety features

Other available safety features include blindspot monitoring, a lane-keeping assist system, and highly-advanced adaptive headlights designed to avoid dazzling other road users while still providing maximum visibility at all times.

Finally, comfort levels in the new E-Class are improved with the latest in adaptive damping technology. Three trim levels will be offered – SE, Avantgarde, and Sport, which includes AMG styling – while everyone inside will benefit from a new seat design and the latest Mercedes innovations in in-car entertainment.

The new Mercedes-Benz E-Class arrives in the UK in June.

For the latest news and deals, sign up to the Which? Car email

Back to top