We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Which freezer brand?

Top five freezer brands for 2018

By Ben Slater

Article 1 of 2

Which freezer brand is best? Our rankings reveal whether big names such as Beko, Bosch and Samsung are worth buying.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

We've tested and reviewed hundreds of freezers to find the best for freezing food. On the strength of our extensive test results, we’ve developed an in-depth knowledge of where brands excel and where they just don’t measure up.

We've crunched the masses of data from our test lab and combined it with our reliability scores to build in-depth profiles of the biggest brands, including Beko, Bosch, Samsung and Zanussi. 

In the table below, we've collated all our freezer test results on the current test programme, so you can see at a glance how the key brands of freezer stack up against one another. We've also given our expert view of the brand to help you decide whether it's the best one for you.

If you already have a freezer brand in mind, take a look at our freezer reviews to find the right model for you.

Freezer brands rated 

We've brought together all our expertise on each freezer brand, including recent tests for individual models and owners' feedback from our Which? survey, so you can see straightaway which brands are best. For each brand you can find out: 

  • Average test score - how good each brand's freezers are overall, based on models tested between July 2015 and November 2017. 
  • How reliable it is - we ask owners to tell us about any problems they've had with their freezer, and use this data to assess how likely or otherwise each brand's freezer is to let you down. 
  • How owners rate it - how satisfied owners are with their brand of freezer, and whether they would recommend it to a friend. Brands are given a customer score based on this. 
  • Our verdict - we tell you, in a nutshell, what we think of the brand. All the well-known freezer brands feature in our tables, so whether you fancy splashing out on a Miele freezer or a Beko, first find out what owners of these brands really think of them. Here's a preview of how the best and worst brands stack up against each other:

We've ranked the top five freezer brands by customer score in the first table below. A brand can only be included in this first table if it doesn't make any freezers that we've reviewed and made Don't Buys for having non-flame-retardant plastic backing. Every other freezer brand we have survey data for has been listed alphabetically in the second table.

Read more about how our investigation into freezer safety has affected our brand rankings below.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive ratings and verdicts in the tables below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Top five freezer brands
Top five freezer brands
Brand name Average review score Reliability rating How owners rate this brand (Customer score - %) Should I buy it?
Subscriber only content 68% 90%

With an outstanding customer score of 90%, the vast majority of Which? members who own this brand are satisfied with their purchase and would recommend the brand to a friend. This brand also topped our reliability rankings, so you're less likely to run into problems a few years down the line. We've only tested one Best Buy freezer from this brand in recent years, though.

Subscriber only content 87% 85% This is one of the top freezer brands around. It ticks all the boxes because it has the second-highest customer score, a five-star reliability rating and, although we've only tested a small number so far, an impressive track record in our tough freezing tests.
Subscriber only content 60% 85% These freezers tend to be reliable and very energy efficient, so they should be a low-maintenance and low-cost option to run. They're often not cheap to buy, though, and the ones we've subjected to our tough tests have mostly been good, rather than exceptional.
Subscriber only content 71% 84% This is a very good all-round freezer brand. While it only currently has one Best Buy to its name, lots of the other freezers from this brand performed well in our tests and the brand also earns the third-highest reliability rating and the fourth-highest customer score overall.
Subscriber only content 71% 83% The freezers we've tested from this brand in recent years may be pricey but they perform well, albeit not quite well enough to earn our Best Buy recommendation. If you're tempted, you'll be pleased to know that the brand is reliable and most owners are happy with their purchase and would recommend it to a friend.
Table notes Reliability and owners' ratings are based on a September 2017 survey of 1,843 Which? members who own freezers. The average test score is a result of all models tested between July 2015 and March 2018 that are still available to buy in shops. Table last updated in June 2017.
Freezer brands: How the rest compare
Freezer brands: How the rest compare
Brand name Average review score Reliability rating How owners rate this brand (Customer score - %) Should I buy it?
Subscriber only content 0% 74% We've found a fridge from this brand that has potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Subscriber only content 72% 74% We've tested some impressive freezers from this brand in recent years and, although they don't all live up to such high standards, this is still a good all-round brand. Its freezers tend to be both affordable and reliable, which perhaps contributes to its good customer score of 74%.
Subscriber only content N/A 70% We haven't tested any freezers from this brand in recent years, so we can't guarantee they'll be a good home for your frozen food. While they earn a decent reliability score, the brand's customer score is the second-lowest in our table, so you may want to consider another brand ahead of this one.
Subscriber only content 0% 65% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Subscriber only content 0% 74% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Subscriber only content 75% 74% These freezers tend to do well in our tough performance tests and the brand has a respectable customer score. This brand of freezer also earns four stars for reliability, so there's a good chance its freezers will stay fault-free for years to come.
Subscriber only content 31% 73% We've found a fridge from this brand that has potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Subscriber only content 66% 81% These freezers earn four stars for reliability and tend to be very energy efficient, so they're less likely to drive up your energy or maintenance bills. But there are slightly better options when it comes to performance, so if you want to fully maximise the amount of nutrients that are locked into your food when you freeze it, you might want to look elsewhere.
Subscriber only content 10% 71% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Table notes Reliability and owners' ratings are based on a September 2017 survey of 1,843 Which? members who own freezers. The average test score is a result of all models tested between July 2015 and March 2018 that are still available to buy in shops. Table last updated in June 2017.

Can't see the brand you're interested in here? Head to our freezer reviews to compare reviews of all popular models.

Choosing the best freezer brand

As you can see from the table above, two brands stand out at the top of the pile, with full marks for reliability, and impressive customer scores. If you buy your freezer from either brand, you are more likely to end up with a machine that you're satisfied with and will stand the test if time.

The same cannot necessarily be said for brands that score three stars for reliability, or have an average review score or customer score of less than 60%.

How we calculate the best and worst brands

We conduct an annual reliability survey among thousands of Which? members, asking them to tell us about their household appliances. The responses are used to calculate a reliability score based on how long freezers last in the homes of real owners, and the types of faults they develop.

We also calculate a customer score, which reflects how satisfied real owners are with their brand of freezer and whether they would recommend it to a friend.

All this is combined with the years of testing data we have accumulated by putting freezers through their paces. This gives Which? a unique and comprehensive view of the best and worst brands of freezer. 

And because Which? buy all of the samples we test ourselves and we don't accept any advertising, we are completely independent and you can trust us when we make a recommendation.

Freezer safety 

At Which? we continually monitor and vary the assessments that underpin our reviews to take account of changing standards and areas of concern. 

Our research reveals that plastic-backed freezers can dramatically accelerate the spread of flames in the event of a fire. Any freezer that either failed to withstand an open flame for 30 seconds in our fire tests, or else has been deemed to be identical to a freezer that failed to withstand an open flame for 30 seconds, has been made a Don't Buy and scores 0% regardless of how it performed in our freezing tests.

Our list of Don't Buy freezers shows every model we've uncovered that has plastic backing. Just because a freezer isn't included in this list doesn't mean its backing isn't plastic, however. There's a chance it could be a model we haven't tested, or an older model that's not on sale any more. If after checking our freezer reviews, you haven't seen details of the backing material, please check with the manufacturer. 

If you already own a model with one of these plastic backs, be assured that refrigerator fires are rare. Our March 2018 research into government data found that only 8% of fires caused by faulty appliances were caused by fridge freezers, fridges or freezers. And although these plastic backings may accelerate the spread of flames, they are not the cause of fire itself. 

The manufacture and sale of plastic-backed freezers remains completely legal, thanks to flawed current safety standards that won't be replaced until 2019. However, many manufacturers have committed to replacing plastic backing and are either in the process of discontinuing plastic-backed appliances, or are upgrading to different backs. Our Don't Buy recommendations relate to the plastic-backed versions of any upgraded product. They will remain Don't Buys until the plastic version is no longer available to buy in shops.

Read more about freezer safety.

SHARE THIS PAGE