Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy.

Top five mattresses for 2017

By Ben Slater

We reveal our pick of the best - and worst - mattresses available to buy in 2017, helping you to wake up feeling refreshed for many years to come.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

With the quality of your sleep and the support of your spine at stake, do you really want to risk spending a fortune on an unsupportive mattress that won't stand the test of time?

Well, fortunately, if you’re a Which? member, you don't have to. Our independent and rigorous testing uncovers the best mattresses - and exposes the worst. With more than £1,000 separating our cheapest Best Buy mattress from our most expensive Don't Buy, a good night's sleep might cost less than you expect.

Whether you’re looking for a pocket sprung or memory foam mattress, you'll want to take a look at our recommendations below. We’ve picked out the highest- and lowest-scoring mattresses that are available to buy in 2017, so you can be sure of buying the best and avoiding the worst. Or, to see all the models that have impressed us, go to our full list of the best mattresses.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you're not yet a member, sign up for a £1 trial to get instant access.

Top five mattresses to buy in 2017

All five of the mattresses below performed well in our tough body-support and durability tests. But you should always try out the mattress in a shop if you can, because that’s the only way to know whether you will personally find it comfortable.

Typical price £750.00
Which? score 77%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Best Buy
Body support overall:
3 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

Although we tested it in 2015, this exceptional pocket sprung mattress  is still the one to beat in 2017. It will support your spine regardless of your body size or sleeping position, and it’s particularly well-suited if you’re smaller than average and sleep on your back, or are larger than average and sleep on your side. Plus, it aced our durability tests, so you can rely on it to remain supportive and retain its thickness.

Typical price £590.00
Which? score 73%
Reviewed Dec 2016
Best Buy
Body support overall:
3 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

At first glance, there’s little to choose between this mattress and another one on this list. Both score 73%, cost less than £600 and are memory foam mattresses that are only available online. But although this one is a bit less breathable and fractionally less supportive for side-sleepers, it’s slightly better when it comes to supporting people who sleep on their back. It’s also a little firmer, which will suit some people.

Typical price £550.00
Which? score 73%
Reviewed Dec 2016
Best Buy
Body support overall:
3 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

This trendy, bed-in-a-box memory foam mattress is only available online, but don’t let that put you off. There’s a long trial period, during which you can send it back for a full refund if you don’t find it comfortable. If you do like the feel of it, though, you can sleep safe in the knowledge that you’ve bought a very good mattress. It’s stable, breathable, easy to switch sleeping positions on and supportive, no matter what your body shape or sleeping position. And you should enjoy these benefits for years to come, too, because it’s also extremely durable.

Typical price £165.00
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Best Buy
Body support overall:
3 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

As you might expect at this price, this mattress isn’t stuffed with luxurious fillings such as silk and cashmere. In fact, it’s little more than a lump of foam. What you might not expect for under £200, though, is a mattress that provides good support for your spine, absorbs bounces to prevent you and your partner disturbing one another, and will remain more or less unchanged after years of use.

Typical price £540.00
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Best Buy
Body support overall:
4 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

This excellent pocket sprung option is one of the most supportive mattresses around. It even excels at supporting people who are larger than average and sleep on their back, which many mattresses struggle with. You can count on it to stand the test of time, too. Not only will it provide the same level of support after years of use, but also, unlike many other pocket sprung mattresses with natural fillings, this one doesn’t sag dramatically after a few years of use.

Which? members can log in to view all our recommendations in the table above.

Three mattresses to avoid in 2017

Even if you find these mattresses fantastically comfortable when you try them in the shop, we would advise against adding them to your shortlist. Comfort doesn't guarantee support or durability, and all three mattresses have serious flaws in at least one of these areas.

Typical price £1,349.00
Which? score 35%
Reviewed Jun 2014
Body support overall:
2 out of 5
Stability:
5 out of 5
Durability:
1 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

Despite coming from a well-respected brand, you should steer clear of this pricey mattress. It doesn’t offer good support for taller and heavier people, and that’s not even the biggest flaw. It failed our durability test, developing a severe tear halfway through. We recommend that you don’t buy it – that is, unless you want to risk spending more than £1,000 on a mattress that might develop a tear so large it renders it unusable.

Typical price £599.00
Which? score 48%
Reviewed Dec 2016
Body support overall:
2 out of 5
Stability:
3 out of 5
Durability:
3 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

This mattress has the word ‘ortho’ in the name, so it must be supportive, right? Well, not according to our rigorous body-support tests. They revealed that, regardless of whether you lie on your side or back, this mattress doesn’t do a great job at keeping your spine in the correct position. To make matters worse, it will also sag with time.

Typical price £549.00
Which? score 49%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Body support overall:
2 out of 5
Stability:
4 out of 5
Durability:
3 out of 5
Type:
Member exclusive
Warmth:
Member exclusive
Weight (kg):
Member exclusive

Pocket sprung mattresses with natural fillings can be very expensive, so this option is temptingly priced. But it’s not the bargain it might seem. Not only is this mattress unsupportive for most people, but it will also sag very noticeably after you’ve been using it a while, which is likely to make it less comfortable.

Which? members can log in to view all our recommendations in the table above.

Which? mattress reviews

Not only does no one else test mattresses like us, but we’re also totally independent, so you can have complete confidence in our results.

If you tend to sleep on your back, a good mattress will keep your spine in the same shape as when you’re standing. So, we measure the shape of a person's body at 36 different points when standing, and then again when lying on their back on the mattresses, to see how well they compare. If you’re a side-sleeper, your spine should be parallel to the mattress, so we use a laser to measure the angle of a person's spine  relative to the bed.

After simulating several years of use by rolling a heavy barrel over the mattress thousands of times, we then repeat the body-support tests to see whether the mattress becomes less supportive over time.

That’s not all. With our results, you can see how breathable a mattress is, how easy it is for you to turn over on and how stable it is. If you’re a light sleeper, you should try and buy a mattress with five stars for stability. These are the best at absorbing bounces, so you’ll be less likely to be disturbed when your partner rolls over or gets up in the night.

If you’re not yet a Which? member and want access to all these results and more, sign up for a £1 trial now.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all mattresses