We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Top five best shredders for 2018

By Andrew Laughlin

The top shredders we've tested are perfectly suited to destroying sensitive information. These are the best shredders money can buy.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Picking a new shredder that can shred documents securely without making a racket needn't be a struggle. We've tested shredders from big-name brands including Fellowes, Rexel and Staples, and only the best models are worthy of being Best Buys.

Below, we've rounded up some of the best shredders to pass through our test lab in 2017. None of the models mentioned will leave you waiting around for too long, and our experts guarantee they're perfectly secure. 

Your privacy and data security are worth taking seriously, so never take your chances with a sub-par shredder. We've also named underperforming shredders worth avoiding, so keep scrolling for the details.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Best Buy shredders

Typical price £258.00
Which? score 85%
Reviewed Mar 2017
Security:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

Although it isn’t cheap to buy, it's one of the best shredders we've ever tested. This cross-cutting shredder has a huge waste bin and useful automatic feed system. It sailed through our tests and will blitz any shredding task.

Typical price £113.00
Which? score 82%
Reviewed Dec 2015
Security:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

This micro-cut shredder can reduce sensitive documents to miniscule confetti. It's simple to use and not too noisy while operating. You'll be able to shred around 120 A4 sheets before the bin needs emptying.

Typical price £56.00
Which? score 79%
Reviewed Mar 2018
Security:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Durability:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

Proving that micro-cut shredders don’t have to cost a fortune, this big brand model offers fantastic quality for the price. It can comfortably chew through up to eight sheets of paper at once, so will handle most shredding jobs with ease.

Typical price £30.00
Which? score 76%
Reviewed Mar 2018
Security:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

Being on a budget doesn’t mean you have to skimp on quality – as this cross-cut shredder proves. You may not have heard of the brand that makes it, but you’ll be pleased with the way it securely shreds all your documents.

Typical price £60.00
Which? score 75%
Reviewed May 2016
Security:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Durability:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

Promising a mighty 25-litre shredder bin and the ability to shred 12 sheets of paper at once, this big brand shredder has some of the best credentials on the market. It cuts down your documents to a securely tiny size.

And here are three shredders to avoid

Without the help of our expert reviews, you risk buying a shredder that's a pain to use and won't securely shred your documents. The worst models we've tested produce confetti that's easy to reassemble, while making an excruciating noise that will leave you with your hands over your ears.

Keep scrolling to see which shredders you're better off steering clear of.

Shredders to avoid

Typical price £18.00
Which? score 55%
Reviewed Dec 2015
Security:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Speed:
1 out of 51 out of 5
Noise:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

This strip-cut shredder is small, yet not perfectly formed. We can forgive its tiny bin capacity, but not the lack of security. The strips it produces are better than ripping your paper in half, but only just. Better options are available elsewhere.

Typical price £20.00
Which? score 53%
Reviewed Dec 2016
Security:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Speed:
1 out of 51 out of 5
Noise:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

This may be one of the cheapest shredders to pass through our test lab, but it's also one of the lowest-scoring. It's slow, has a tiny waste bin, and simply isn't secure enough to recommend. Thankfully, we've found plenty of alternatives that are more secure but just as affordable.

Typical price £20.00
Which? score 46%
Reviewed Dec 2015
Security:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Speed:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Noise:
1 out of 51 out of 5
Actual page feed:
Member exclusive
Bin size:
Member exclusive
Bin capacity:
Member exclusive

We’re not impressed with this strip-cut shredder. It scores poorly for security and lets out a high-pitched whirr while it's at work. To add to its list of issues, it isn't exactly versatile - the brand makes no claims about it being able to destroy credit cards, stapled documents or CDs.

How to buy the best shredder

If you're looking to buy a shredder, you'll want a model that can destroy sensitive documents effectively. Different types produce different sizes of confetti, with cross cut (or diamond cut) models being the most common on sale. Our testing shows that you're better off avoiding strip or ribbon-cut shredders - the strips they produce can be put back together without much trouble. Key features to look out for include:

  • autostop - this will ensure the shredder stops working if it detects a jam
  • interlock - find a model with an interlock and it will only work when the bin is attached
  • credit card and CD slots - not every shredder is powerful enough to slice up cards

For more advice on picking a shredder for the office or your home, see our guide on how to buy the best shredder. Alternatively, pay a visit to our Best Buy shredders page to see our highest-scoring models.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all shredders