Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy

Which washing machine brand?

Hotpoint washing machines rated

By Matt Stevens

Article 7 of 12

Is it worth buying a Hotpoint washing machine? Find out in our reviews and reliability round-up.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Hotpoint is one of the biggest-selling and best-known washing machine brands in the UK. In the past, it has been independent, but came to be owned by the Italy-based Indesit company. More recently, it was acquired by American appliance firm Whirlpool, which also makes Maytag machines. Indesit washing machines are a sister brand to Hotpoint.

If you're considering a Hotpoint washing machine, find out how they score in our reviews and how reliable they are. It's all in our at-a-glance guide, below. If you'd rather read reviews of individual models, check out our Hotpoint washing machine reviews.

In the table below, we've outlined how many Hotpoint models we've tested, how well they did in our tests, how reliable they are and what their owners think of them. We've also highlighted the brand's pros and cons, based on years of our expert testing, to help you decide whether a Hotpoint washing machine is the right choice for you. And you can also read our expert verdict on whether we think it's worth buying a Hotpoint washing machine.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive ratings and verdicts in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, sign up for a Which? trial to get instant access.

Hotpoint washing machines overview table
Hotpoint washing machines overview table
Number tested in the last three years 17
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability rating
Customer score (%)
Loyalty score
Typical spend
Should I buy one?
Table notes The average test score is based on results of models tested between January 2015 and December 2017 that are still currently available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in October 2017 of 162 Hotpoint owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members' experience of that brand. Table last updated December 2017.

Key

Member Content

How much do Hotpoint washing machines cost?

Most Hotpoint washing machines will cost you between £200 and £500, making the brand among the most affordable on the market. 

Our surveys have told us that most people would spend around £300 on a Hotpoint washing machine – so you'll be able to find plenty of Hotpoint models within this price range. 

Even on cheaper Hotpoint washing machines costing around £200, you'll find high spin speeds and features such as remaining-time displays. That's not something we can say about many other affordable brands.

Top five best Hotpoint washing machines

Lowest price (in stock) £217.99
Which? score 68%
Reviewed Apr 2014
Washing cottons:
5 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This washing machine is great at cleaning clothes. The 40°C cottons wash does an outstanding job of getting clothes clean, so even the majority of tough stains should be removed. And the spin does a good job of removing water from your laundry.

Lowest price (in stock) £458.98
Which? score 65%
Reviewed Jan 2013
Washing cottons:
5 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This Hotpoint is a pretty decent machine. It does a good job of cleaning clothes, especially laundry washed on the 40 degree cottons cycle. Anyone looking for an integrated washing machine should have this model on their shortlist.

Lowest price (in stock) £299.99
Which? score 65%
Washing cottons:
4 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This is a good washing machine from Hotpoint - cleaning is above average, it's very easy to use and the spin cycle does a good job of removing water at the end of the wash.

Lowest price (in stock) £379.99
Which? score 63%
Reviewed Jun 2015
Washing cottons:
4 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

If you can find it at a good price, you could do a lot worse than this Hotpoint model. It cleans well, has an effective spin and it’s straightforward to use.

Lowest price (in stock) £499.99
Which? score 63%
Reviewed Sep 2014
Washing cottons:
4 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This Hotpoint does a good job of cleaning your clothes on both the 40°C cotton and synthetic cycles. This doesn't mean that it always gets rid of the most stubborn stains, but you can expect a good all-round clean from this machine.

Choosing the best Hotpoint washing machine

We've tested Hotpoint washing machines that have capacities ranging from a small 5kg to a large 11kg. Large-capacity machines tend to have super-fast spin speeds, and 1600rpm isn't uncommon at the top end of the Hotpoint range. On its top-end models, it's worth looking for functions such as Eco Tech, which keeps energy use low, and Super Silent mode, which works to cut down motor noise.

If the colour of the washing machine is a key consideration, you can find Hotpoint models in white, black and silver.

SHARE THIS PAGE