Protect your online ID Login details

Which? Archive

This article, Protect your online ID, was last updated on 23 July 2008 and is now out of date and held in our online archive for reference. Explore our latest Technology articles.

How do I switch off the autocomplete function?

Autocomplete is a feature that allows some browsers to ‘remember’ what you enter into online forms.

It’s useful if you frequently log into the same sites or fill out your postal address, telephone, etc in online forms but also represents a threat to your privacy, since anyone who has access to your PC can also automatically find out details from online forms. For shared PCs it’s wise to turn this off.

An extract from a Firefox preferences menu

Internet Explorer

Go to Tools > Internet Options and select the 'Content' tab. Under 'Autocomplete', click Settings. Remove the ticks next to ‘Forms’ and ‘User names and passwords on forms’.


Go to Tools > Options. Under the privacy tab, take the tick out of the box next to 'Remember what I enter in forms and the search bar'.

Is it safe to save login details?

Some websites and services give you the option to save your login details. This makes it convenient if you often use the same computer, since it means you don’t have to type your username and password in every time you want to access the site or service. 

Saving such information to a shared PC is a security risk, particularly on a public computer.

Some sites, Hotmail for example, offer an option to save just your email address.

This is appropriate for home use, but if you’re using a public PC ensure that the ‘Always ask for my email address and password’ box (or equivalent) is checked.