We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Which washing machine brand?

Bosch washing machines rated

By Matt Stevens

Article 5 of 12

Bosch washing machines are popular. Find out how they score in our reviews and how long they tend to last before developing faults.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Bosch is part of the BSH Group of companies, which also includes washing machine brands Neff and Siemens. In our latest survey of washing machine owners, 25% of respondents owned a Bosch. 

But you won't find a bargain-basement Bosch washing machine, so before you splash out, find out whether it's a brand you can rely on for your outlay. 

In this guide you'll find, at a glance, the key information you need to know about Bosch washing machines before buying one. Discover how Bosch scores in our reviews and how reliable the brand is. We'll also tell you how likely Bosch owners are to recommend the brand and how loyal they are to it. If you'd rather read reviews of individual models, head to our Bosch washing machine reviews.

Every piece of information has been independently researched – we buy the Bosch washing machines we test and carry out our own surveys to find out what owners really think of their machines.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive ratings and verdicts in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Bosch washing machines overview table
Bosch washing machines overview table
Number tested in the last three years 20
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability rating
Customer score (%)
Loyalty score
Typical spend
Should I buy one?
Table notes The average test score is based on results of models tested between January 2015 and December 2017 that are still currently available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in October 2017 of  873 Bosch owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members' experience of that brand. Table last updated December 2017.

Key

Member Content

How much do Bosch washing machines cost?

Expect most Bosch washing machines to set you back between £300 and £600; so there should be a model available in your price range, but don't expect to find bargain-basement, budget-priced Bosch machines – it's not that kind of brand. The Bosch Classixx range is the most affordable of its machines. Machines from the Advantixx, Logixx and Maxx ranges can cost a bit more. We know from talking to our Which? members that most would pay around £391 for a Bosch washer. 

If you want to see how Bosch compares with other major washing machine manufacturers, have a look at our guide to the best washing machine brands. You'll be able to compare how reliable and popular different brands are, as well as view our expert verdicts on each brand covered.

Top five best Bosch washing machines

Lowest price (in stock) £709.00
Which? score 82%
Reviewed May 2017
Washing cottons:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Spinning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This is an absolutely outstanding built-in washing machine, It does a sensational job of removing stains from clothes and is a worthy Best Buy.

Lowest price (in stock) £640.00
Which? score 81%
Reviewed May 2017
Washing cottons:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Spinning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

We love pretty much everything about this integrated washing machine. It washes clothes brilliantly and spins them as though its very existence depended on the results. If you're looking for an integrated machine, this Best Buy simply has to be on your shortlist.

Lowest price (in stock) £625.00
Which? score 78%
Reviewed May 2017
Washing cottons:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Spinning:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This is the latest in a long line of hugely impressive washing machines from this manufacturer. It's great at washing, good at spinning and we found it to be dead easy to use. So, it's a worthy addition to our ranks of Best Buy washing machines.

Lowest price (in stock) £789.00
Which? score 77%
Reviewed May 2017
Washing cottons:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Spinning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

If you're looking for an all-around good washing machine then you needn't look further than this excellent Best Buy. Its overall cleaning ability is top notch and it will give a great clean to your synthetics and cottons alike. It wasn't too shabby in the noise or energy departments either - you won't find this brilliant washing machine particularly noisy or energy hungry.

Lowest price (in stock) £404.00
Which? score 76%
Reviewed May 2017
Washing cottons:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Spinning:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Max spin speed (rpm):
Member exclusive
Energy label:
Member exclusive
Cotton capacity (kg):
Member exclusive

This Best Buy washing machine does an outstanding job of cleaning clothes, whether on the cottons or synthetics cycles. The spin cycle is effective at removing water from laundry, and you’ll find this washing machine simple to use. It’s worth bearing in mind that the cottons cycle is quite slow and inefficient with energy use, though – which might be key considerations for you.

Bosch washing machine faults

We've analysed the most common faults typed into Google for Bosch washing machines. If their Bosch washing machine is not working properly the problems owners report include:

  • Machine not spinning
  • Door wont open  
  • Machine wont spin  

Choosing the best Bosch washing machine

Bosch washing machines have a variety of load capacities, including 6kg, 7kg, 8kg and 9kg. Most Bosch washing machines are white, but you can buy some models in silver or stainless steel and a few in black.

Each Bosch washing machine falls into one of these ranges:

  • the value-added Series 4/Bosch Classixx range
  • the mid-level Series 6/Bosch Exxcel range
  • the premium Series 8/Bosch Logixx range
  • the ‘non-core’ Bosch Maxx range.

Interesting wash programs to look for on Bosch washing machines include those for allergy sufferers and a hygiene wash.

ActiveWater is Bosch's way of intelligently matching water use to how dirty the load is, and the SoftSurge drum is Bosch's way of allowing you to wash gently or more vigorously, based on the type of clothes you're washing

SHARE THIS PAGE