We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?
1 October 2020

Best fitted bedroom furniture brands

Find out how customers rate household fitted wardrobe brands Hammonds, Sharps and Sliderobes, alongside cheaper names Homebase, Wickes, B&Q, Argos and Ikea.
Bedroom with fitted wardrobe and fitted bedroom furniture 479076
LR
Liz Ransome-Croker

We've asked 1,744 customers to rate the companies they bought fitted wardrobes and bedroom furniture from, giving us ratings for 10 brands, including Ikea, Sharps, John Lewis, Wickes, Homebase and B&Q.

One excellent retailer earned an impressive customer score of 80%, while our bottom scorer got 69%. But customers felt that some brands are much better value for money – especally over time – than others.

Only logged-in Which? members can access the customer star ratings in the table below. Log in now, or if you're not yet a Which? member, join Which? for instant access.

Which is the best fitted bedroom furniture brand?

We asked people to rate the brands for their customer service, build quality and value for money, among other things, and for various installation measures.

In addition to surveying customers who bought within the last two years (since July 2018), we also asked others who bought between May 2010 and June 2018. That way you can truly see how well fitted wardrobes and furniture stand the test of time.

Log in or join Which? to unlock the results above, and find out which companies offer customers a less-than first-rate service.

Fitted wardrobes and bedroom furniture ratings
  Customer score Range and options Customer service Delivery speed Build quality Value for money Expectations met
Argos (199)
B&Q (126)
Hammonds (101)
Homebase (48)
Ikea (422)
John Lewis (150)
Next (36)
Sharps (156)
Wickes (33)
Table notes: The customer score results are based on an online survey of 1,744 adults – members of the Which? Connect panel and members of the public - conducted in April and May 2020.  The customer score is based on satisfaction with the brand and likelihood to recommend. Sample size of each brand/product is in brackets. A (-) means size too small to give a star rating. We weren't able to rate Sliderobes overall or for these ratings as not enough people responded to these questions.
Fitted wardrobes and furniture installation ratings
  Installers' attitude Mess during installation Installation quality
Argos (199)
B&Q (126)
Hammonds (101)
Ikea (422)
John Lewis (150)
Sharps (156)
Table notes: The customer score results are based on an online survey of 1,744 adults – members of the Which? Connect panel and members of the public - conducted in April and May 2020. Sample size of each brand/product is in brackets. We weren't able to rate Homebase, Next and Wickes for installation as not enough people answered. Brands ordered by customer score.
How well the fitted wardrobes and furniture lasts
  Build quality How well it lasted Value for money
Argos (92)
B&Q (105)
Hammonds (183)
Homebase (79)
Ikea (355)
John Lewis (124)
Sharps (234)
Sliderobes (32)
Table notes: The results are based on an online survey conducted in April and May 2020 of 1,204 adults - members of the Which? Connect panel and members of the public - who bought between May 2010 and June 2018. We weren't able to rate Next and Wickes as not enough people answered that specific question.

When you log in or join Which?, you'll also be able to read full reviews of  B&Q, Hammonds, Homebase, Ikea, John Lewis, Sharps, Sliderobes and Wickes for their fitted furniture, with details of the services on offer and comments from customers. 

You can also visit our guides to choosing and buying fitted wardrobes and fitted bedroom furniture ideas for design inspiration and planning tips to get the best for your money.  

How to choose a built-in wardrobe brand

More than eight in 10 people who bought new fitted bedroom furniture in the last 18 months went with a well-known brand. The rest used an independent firm or local carpenter or joiner.

The most common reason people chose the company they did was because it has a good reputation. Having a design or product they liked were also important.

 

Other important reasons for choosing a brand included it offering a fitting service, being impressed by examples of their previous work, having a wide choice of finishes and being recommended by family or friends.

A quarter (24%) of people said that they chose a firm because it was the cheapest.

Built-in wardrobe delivery times

For 79% of people who bought from a brand in the last two years (since July 2018) and installed the furniture themselves, it took up to one month for their furniture to be delivered. For 13%, it took longer than one and up to two months.

However, 5% had to wait between two and three months, and 1% more than three and up to four.

It's worth noting that as many of the companies provide bespoke furniture to fit your exact specifications, a lengthy delivery time isn't necessarily a bad thing.

But, do check this with your supplier to ensure you know how long you'll need to wait. If you're getting it installed by the company you're buying from, you'll need to factor in time to wait for the installation too.

You can find out more about the process of buying fitted bedroom furniture in our dedicated guide. 

You can also see what service each brand offers on our brand pages for B&Q, Ikea, Hammonds, Homebase, John Lewis, Sharps, Sliderobes and Wickes

Common fitted wardrobe delivery problems

Thankfully, 73% of people we asked didn't experience any issues with the delivery. But out of the 463 who did, the complications they experienced were:

 

Which? members can find out which companies were worst for delivery problems. Log in now or, if you're not a member, join Which? to get instant access to all the ratings on this page.

Common fitted wardrobe installation problems

We asked people about any installation issues they experienced with their wardrobes. Of those who had the furniture installed by the brand itself or someone recommended by the brand, the vast majority (74%) didn't have any problems.

However, 26% had some sort of hiccup. Out of those people, the top reasons were:

 

Log in to find out which company had the most wardrobe installation issues. If you're not a member, you can join Which? now to get instant access to all the ratings on this page.

Which? research into fitted wardrobe and bedroom furniture brands

In April and May 2020, we asked 3,762 Which? members and the general public about their experiences of buying fitted wardrobes and fitted bedroom furniture since 2010. 1,744 had bought since July 2018 and 2,018 had bought between May 2010 and June 2018.

The star ratings are based on a seven-point scale, from very poor to excellent. Our unique customer scores come from a combination of asking people how satisfied they are with a brand and whether they would recommend it, also using a seven-point scale. We need 30 people to respond to each element to be able to rate a brand.

Fitted bedroom furniture includes made-to-measure wardrobes and furniture, as well as wardrobes and furniture selected to fit a specific space. It doesn't include freestanding items.

LATEST NEWS IN Which? Home improvements See all news