We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?
1 October 2020

Which fridge brand to buy in 2020

Which fridge brands are best? Our expert charts reveal whether big names, such as Beko, Bosch and Samsung, are worth buying.
A small, built-in fridge
PG
Patrick Gallagher

We've tested and reviewed hundreds of fridges to find the best for chilling food. On the strength of our extensive test results, we’ve developed an in-depth knowledge of where brands excel and where they just don’t measure up.

We've crunched the masses of data from our test lab and combined it with our reliability scores to build in-depth profiles of the biggest brands, including Beko, Bosch, Samsung and Zanussi. 

The difference between the best and worst brand can be the difference between a fridge that remains fault-free for a decade and a fridge that begins to make a funny whirring noise after a matter of months.

If you already know what fridge brand you want to buy, head to our fridge reviews to pick out the best for you.

Fridge brands rated

We've brought together all our know-how about each fridge brand, including recent tests for individual models and owners' feedback from our Which? survey, so you can see straightaway which brands are best. For each brand you can find out:

  • Average test score how good each brand's fridges are overall, based on models tested between July 2015 and October 2019.
  • How reliable it is we ask owners to tell us about any problems they've had with their fridge, and use this data to assess how likely or otherwise each brand's fridge is to let you down.
  • How owners rate it how satisfied owners are with their brand of fridge, and whether they would recommend it to a friend.
  • Our verdict we tell you, in a nutshell, what we think of the brand.

All the well-known fridge brands feature in our tables, so whether you fancy splashing out on a Miele or a Beko fridge, first find out what owners of these brands really think of them. Here's a preview of how the best and worst brands stack up against each other:

We've ranked the top five fridge brands by customer score in the first table below. A brand can only be included in this first table if it doesn't make any fridges that we've reviewed and made Don't Buys for having flammable plastic backing. Every other fridge brand we have survey data for has been listed alphabetically in the second table.

Read more about how our investigation into fridge safety has affected our brand rankings below.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive ratings and verdicts in the tables below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Top five fridge brands
Top five fridge brands
Brand name Average review score Reliability score How owners rate this brand (%) Should I buy it?
60% 93% 89% There's a lot to like about this brand. Not only is it the most reliable fridge brand, but it also boasts the highest customer score. Although it hasn't done consistently well in our tough tests, resulting in a low average review score, it still has some good fridges on the market.
89% 90% 87% This is the best brand when it comes to consistent fridge performance, with an impressive average review score of 89%. There are clearly a lot of happy owners out there, too, because this brand earned the second highest customer score.
77% 88% 84% This brand ranks in the top half of our reliability table, plus it received the joint-third highest customer score of 84%. Although they can be expensive, fridges from this brand do consistently well in our tests.
61% 91% 84% This fridge brand is ranked the joint-second most reliable and Which? members who own this brand of fridge tend to be very satisfied, as reflected in its joint-third highest customer score. Although it's not among the very best in our tough tests, there are some good fridges from this brand out there.
57% 87% 78% This isn't the most reliable fridge brand, although it has a very respectable score, nor is it among the very best in our tough tests. But there are some good fridges from this brand out there and Which? members who own this brand of fridge tend to be very satisfied, as reflected in its fifth-highest customer score.
Table notes Reliability and owners' ratings are based on a September 2019 survey of 1,460 Which? members who own fridges. The average test score is a result of all models tested between July 2015 and October 2019 that are still available to buy in shops. Table last updated in December 2019.
Fridge brands: How the rest compare
Fridge brands: How the rest compare
Brand name Average review score Reliability score How owners rate this brand (%) Should I buy it?
44% 85% 75% We've only tested one fridge from this brand since 2015 and it was a Don't Buy. The brand earns a respectable reliability score and customer score, though.
59% 81% 72% This brand of fridge is affordable and very reliable, although its average review score isn't as high as some other brands. If this is the brand for you, you'll need to choose your model carefully to be among the 72% of Which? members who are happy with their fridge and would recommend the brand to a friend.
24% 76% 67% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
0% 84% 72% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
0% 91% 70% We've found that some fridges from this brand have potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
68% 82% 71% This is a good all-round fridge brand, ranking highly for all three measures - average review score, reliability and customer score. The only thing to bear in mind is that the fridges we've tested are a little on the pricey side.
76% 86% 76% This impressive all-round fridge brand, ranks well for all three measures - average review score, reliability and customer score. All of the fridges we've tested from this brand since 2015 have been Best Buys.
0% 81% 74% We've found a fridge from this brand that has potentially unsafe backing, which has affected its average review score.
Table notes Reliability and owners' ratings are based on a September 2019 survey of 1,460 Which? members who own fridges. The average test score is a result of all models tested between July 2015 and October 2019 that are still available to buy in shops. Table last updated in December 2019.

Choosing the best brand of fridge

As you can see from the tables above, the brand at the top of the pile is the one that has a customer rating of 89% and earns an impressive 93% score for reliability. While it's not the cheapest brand, it's worth bearing in mind that you're more likely to end up with a machine that will stand the test of time if you splash out.

The same can't necessarily be said for some of the brands in the second table. There is a mixed bag of results in there, with some brands receiving unimpressive customer scores and reliability scores.

Other brands earn a high customer score and reliability rating, but some of their models that we've reviewed have disappointed in our tough tests, bringing down their average review score. Nevertheless, the brand could still be worth considering, provided you avoid any models that struggled to meet our exacting standards.

Head to our fridge reviews

Know which fridge brand you want? Go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

How we calculate the best and worst brands

We conduct an annual reliability survey among thousands of Which? members, asking them to tell us about their household appliances. The responses are used to calculate a reliability score based on how long fridges last in the homes of real owners, and the types of faults they develop.

We also calculate a customer score, which reflects how satisfied real owners are with their brand of fridge and whether they would recommend it to a friend.

All this is combined with the years of testing data we have accumulated by putting fridges through their paces. This gives Which? a unique and comprehensive view of the best and worst brands of fridge. 

And because Which? buys all of the samples we test ourselves and we don't accept any advertising, we are completely independent and you can trust us when we make a recommendation.

Fridge safety 

At Which? we continually monitor and vary the assessments that underpin our reviews to take account of changing standards and areas of concern. 

Our research reveals that flammable plastic-backed fridges can dramatically accelerate the spread of flames in the event of a fire. Any fridges that either failed to withstand an open flame for 30 seconds in our fire tests, or else has been deemed to be identical to a fridge that failed to withstand an open flame for 30 seconds, has been made a Don't Buy and scores 0% regardless of how it performed in our chilling tests.

Our list of Don't Buy fridges shows every model we've uncovered that has flammable plastic backing. Just because a fridge isn't included in this list doesn't mean its backing isn't plastic, however. There's a chance it could be a model we haven't tested, or an older model that's not on sale any more. If after checking our fridge reviews, you haven't seen details of the backing material, please check with the manufacturer. 

If you already own a model with one of these flammable plastic backs, be assured that refrigerator fires are rare. Our March 2018 research into government data found that only 8% of fires caused by faulty appliances were caused by fridge freezers, fridges or freezers. And although these plastic backings may accelerate the spread of flames, they are not the cause of fire itself. 

The manufacture and sale of flammable plastic-backed fridges remains completely legal, thanks to flawed current safety standards that won't be replaced until 2019. However, many manufacturers have committed to replacing plastic backing and are either in the process of discontinuing plastic-backed appliances, or are upgrading to different backs. Our Don't Buy recommendations relate to the flammable plastic-backed versions of any upgraded product. They will remain Don't Buys until the flammable plastic version is no longer available to buy in shops.

Read more about fridge safety.

View all Fridges