We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?
13 October 2020

Which baby monitor brand to buy in 2020

Find out which is the best baby monitor brand. See whether Angelcare, BT, Philips or Motorola baby monitors do well in our testing and which brand parents would recommend
Video baby monitor
AP
Alison Potter


Our tough tests compare and identify the best baby monitors for picture and sound quality, battery life and practical features. We also ask parents how happy they are with their baby monitor brand.

This is so we can get a complete picture of how well a baby monitor works when new and how it fares over time. Some baby monitor batteries degrade quicker than others, or a fault can develop with signal range.

Best vs worst baby monitor brands compared

As you can see, there’s a big difference between the best and worst baby monitors in our tests, and varying feedback from parents who own baby monitors from these brands.

Common baby monitor problems

If your baby monitor becomes faulty, you should be able to claim for a repair or replacement. Our guide to your consumer rights with baby monitors explains how.

Baby monitor brands rated

We asked 1,625 parents to tell us which brand of baby monitor they owned, and how satisfied they are with that brand. We also asked them whether they would recommend the chosen brand to a friend. From these responses we've compiled an overall customer score. 

As well as the overall customer score, we've ranked these baby monitor brands by our own average test score so you can compare easily in the table below.

Baby monitor brands leaderboard

Only logged-in Which? members can view the full results of our independent tests and customer scores in the tables below. 

If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand Number tested Average test score Customer score
Brand 1 6 58% 78%
Brand 2 2 80% 74%
Brand 3 5 81% 72%
Brand 4 14 69% 72%
Brand 5 12 71% 72%
Brand 6 5 77% 70%
Brand 7  1 n/a 69%
Brand 8 6 61% 65%
Brand 9  4 70% 64%
Brand 10  1 n/a 63%
Brand 11  0 n/a 61%
Brand 12  2 77% 58%

Baby monitor brands in-depth

Choose a baby monitor brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey.

Angelcare baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years5
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test scoreJoin Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 118 parents, conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Angelcare is a popular brand that sells a large range of audio and video baby monitors.
  • Angelcare's baby monitors are pricey, but they often come with a motion sensor mat.
  • See all our Angelcare baby monitor reviews.
BabyMoov baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years6
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 83 parents, conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • BabyMoov is a French nursery brand that's been around for more than 20 years.
  • The BabyMoov YOO-Travel monitor has a parent unit and baby unit that can both run on rechargeable batteries, which makes it ideal for travelling.
  • See all our BabyMoov baby monitor reviews.
BT baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years6
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 225 parents, conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • BT baby monitors are recognisable from their distinctive styling, and BT is a stalwart of the baby monitor market in the UK.
  • BT baby monitors are among the cheapest, ranging in price from about £32 for an audio baby monitor to £150 for a video baby monitor with lightshow features. The brand has just waded into the world of smart baby monitors, releasing its first wi-fi monitor in 2019.
  • See all our BT baby monitor reviews.
Motorola baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years12
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 266 parents, conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Motorola has a very large range of baby monitors, and we’ve tested more Motorola monitors than any other brand. Its monitors tend to be innovative and cutting edge. Motorola was among the first to make a foray into smart home tech.
  • You can pay from £20 for one of its latest audio monitors to £250 for its most premium wi-fi-connected video monitor, the Halo.
  • See all our Motorola baby monitor reviews.
Philips baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years5
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 115 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Philips manufactures a wide range of baby products, including breast pumps, baby bottles, digital thermometers and, of course, baby monitors.
  • The brand claims to have a monitor to suit every parent, and you can pick up the three main types of monitor from it: digital video monitors, smart wi-fi video monitors and audio DECT baby monitors.
  • See all our Philips baby monitor reviews.
Tommee Tippee baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years2
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 96 parents, conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Tommee Tippee offers a reasonably small range of baby monitors.
  • Its monitors are packed with features. They have a useful vibration mode to let you know if your baby is crying when the sound is turned down low, and the camera has a digital zoom.
  • See all our Tommee Tippee baby monitor reviews.
VTech baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years9
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 53 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • VTech is most well known for its extensive range of electronic learning toys.
  • Its baby monitors, which tend to be fairly low in price, can typically be found at Argos.
  • See all our VTech baby monitor reviews.
Arlo baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 31 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Arlo is better known for its range of wireless security cameras  
  • The Arlo Baby is a cute looking, high definition camera that can stream footage directly to your smartphone
  • See all our baby monitor reviews.
Summer Infant baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 4
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 34 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Summer Infant makes audio and video baby monitors, along with the wi-fi-enabled Liv Cam
  • Alongside baby monitors, Summer Infant also offers a range of stair gates
  • See all our baby monitor reviews.
Miniland baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 1
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 58 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • Miniland offers the Everywhere IP Cam, a smart baby monitor that stands on moveable legs
  • The brand also offers a range of baby thermometers
  • See all our baby monitor reviews.
Luvion baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 2
Number of Best BuysJoin Which? to reveal
Average test score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Customer score (%)Join Which? to reveal
Typical spendJoin Which? to reveal
Table notesAverage test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of August 2020). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 64 parents conducted in March 2020. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key points for this brand are:

  • We've tested the Luvion Prestige Touch 2 video baby monitor, along with the Luvion Supreme Connect wi-fi monitor
  • Luvion mostly makes baby monitors, but it also has a range of breathing and heart rate monitors, along with a night light product
  • See all our baby monitor reviews.

Head to our baby monitor reviews

Know which baby monitor brand you want? Go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

Need help choosing? See all of our baby monitor reviews.

How we help you to choose the best baby monitor

When you're choosing a baby monitor, you want a brand and a model you can trust. But there are also a number of other key things to consider. 

For example, do you want an audio baby monitor or a video baby monitor? You can find out more about the pros and cons of each in our audio baby monitor buying guide and video baby monitor buying guide.

With stories appearing in the news of baby monitors being hacked, you also want to make sure you're being savvy on baby monitor safety and security.

Read our guide to keeping your baby monitor safe from hacking if you've got or are interested in using a wi-fi video baby monitor.

View all Baby monitors