We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Which fridge freezer brand to buy in 2020

By Ben Slater

Choose a fridge freezer brand that lasts, with help from Which? reliability and customer satisfaction data. We've surveyed owners of Beko, Hotpoint, Indesit, John Lewis and Samsung fridge freezers to find out which brands customers are happiest with and would recommend, and which develop the fewest faults over time .

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

In this article

Cracked or broken drawers and flap lids, blocked drains and outlets, and a build-up of ice in the fridge are some of the most common fridge freezer faults, according to our annual survey of owners. 

Worryingly, we also found that catastrophic faults, such as a broken compressor or a faulty circuit board, are far more common in some fridge freezer brands than others. For the very worst brands, more than one in nine fridge freezers develop a fault within the first year of use.

Knowing which brands develop the most faults, and how quickly, is vital when you're buying a new fridge freezer. So we asked nearly 3,000 Which? members to tell us whether they had any problems with their fridge freezer, or whether they're happy with it, in our unique reliability and customer satisfaction survey.

Our survey data takes into account the reported fault rates, severity of these faults, and how quickly they occurred. In our latest analysis we've looked at the performance of the biggest fridge freezer manufacturers – including Beko, Hotpoint, Indesit, John Lewis and Samsung – and have calculated a reliability rating and customer score for each, so you know which brands to choose and which to steer clear of.

Best vs worst fridge freezer brands compared 

As you can see, there's a sizeable difference between the most and least reliable fridge freezer brands, and the satisfaction score reported by customers. 

The most reliable fridge freezer brands 

The table below summarises this year’s reliability results. Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether a brand's customers would recommend it. The higher the percentage score for reliability, the fewer problems reported.

But bear in mind that a fridge freezer can be reliable without being safe. Some brands in the table below are still selling fridge freezers with flammable plastic backing. Every model with this type of backing has been made a Don't Buy, regardless of how it performed in our chilling and freezing tests, because our research reveals that flammable plastic-backed fridge freezers can dramatically accelerate the spread of flames in the event of a fire. While the use of flammable plastic backing is legal and the risk of fire remains low, we think that all fridge freezers should have flame-retardant backs. 

Find out more about fridge freezer safety.

Use our table below to see which fridge freezer brands are the most reliable, but also make sure you check our list of Don't Buy fridge freezers for the models to avoid.

Only logged-in Which? members can view which brands are the most and least reliable, and which members are most satisfied with, in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand Reliability score Customer score
85% 85%
85% 85%
83% 85%
87% 84%
86% 84%
88% 81%
87% 81%
81% 79%
84% 77%
84% 74%
85% 70%
75% 69%
82% 68%
77% 67%
79% 66%
80% 65%
79% 65%
75% 58%

Table notes: The above data is based on a survey of2,776 Which? members in September 2019.

Sample sizes: AEG 86, Beko 257, Bosch 507, Electrolux 51, Fisher & Paykel 33, Haier 30,Hotpoint 182, Indesit 52, John Lewis 44, Kenwood 63, Lec 41, LG 112, Liebherr 77, Miele 89, Neff 102, Samsung 510, Siemens 107, Zanussi 109.

Key

Member Content

Common fridge freezer problems 

The most common problem people that experience with their fridge freezer is drawers, compartment doors or flap lids cracking or breaking. 

Other common problems include the build-up of ice in the fridge, and blocked drains or outlets, accounting for 11% and 9% respectively of all the fridge freezer faults reported in our survey.

Which fridge freezer brand stays fault-free for longest? 

The graph above shows how the fridge freezer brand that stays fault-free for longest compares with the worst brand and the overall average. Which? members can see how brands compare for faults over an eight-year period in the table below.
Brand name % fault-free after eight years
87%
86%
85%
83%
83%
82%
81%
80%
79%
79%
79%
76%
76%
74%
73%
71%
68%
63%
Table notes
Results based on feedback from more than 2,776 fridge freezer owners, surveyed in September 2019.

Key

Member Content

How long will my fridge freezer last? 

On average, a fridge freezer will last for 11 years. This is based on the experiences of Which? members who told us for how long they kept their previous appliance before they replaced it, either due to a fault, or because it wasn’t working as well as when they bought it. As you can see from the graph below, there’s a big difference between how long the best and worst brands last. 

Which? members can log in to view which fridge freezer brands last the longest before they need to be replaced. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

How we measure faults and reliability in fridge freezers

Our reliability score takes into account minor, major and catastrophic faults:

  • Minor: A fault that doesn't affect the product's performance significantly, or a fault that occurs only occasionally with minimal impact. This issue may be irritating or annoying but it isn't frequently problematic, and you can easily work around it. For example, cracked drawers in the fridge or freezer.
  • Major: A fault that has a noticeable effect on the product’s performance. This fault affects how you use the product and can be problematic. For example, a fridge not maintaining the correct temperature.
  • Catastrophic: A fault that renders the product unusable, with the fault needing to be repaired or parts replaced before it can be used again. For example, a broken compressor.

Fridge freezer brands rated 

Choose a brand from the list below to find out more detail about how good it is, including the number of Best Buys it has received and the average score of its fridge freezers in our reviews.

Only logged-in Which? members can view the hidden results in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Beko fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 46 (see all our Beko fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 257 Beko fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Beko fridge freezers score for reliability, and how Beko fares against rival fridge freezer brands such as Hotpoint, Bosch and Zanussi.
  • Find out the most common problems that people have with their Beko fridge freezers
  • We reveal how Beko fridge freezers tend to perform in our tough chilling and freezing tests.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Bosch fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 39 (see all our Bosch fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 507 Bosch fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • Bosch is a mid-range fridge freezer brand, so how does its reliability fare against rival brands such as John Lewis and Samsung? Our data reveals all.
  • Find out what the most and least common problems with Bosch fridge freezers are.
  • Find out how many Best Buy Bosch fridge freezers our tough tests have uncovered.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Haier fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 19 (see all our Haier fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 30 Haier fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 23 January 201

Key

Member Content
  • Haier has ambitions to be a top-end fridge freezer brand, so how does its reliability fare against rival brands such as Samsung and AEG? Our data reveals all.
  • Find out what the most and least common problems with Haier fridge freezers are.
  • Find out how many Best Buy Haier fridge freezers our tough tests have uncovered.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Hotpoint fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 40 (see all our Hotpoint fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 182 Hotpoint fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Hotpoint fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Discover the most common issues found with Hotpoint fridge freezers, and see how the brand's reliability record compares with key rivals such as Beko and Zanussi.
  • Find out how Which? members view Hotpoint and whether they'd recommend friends and family to buy a fridge freezer from this brand.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Indesit fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 13 (see all our Indesit fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 52 Indesit fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Indesit fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Find out the problems Indesit fridge freezer owners see the most, and whether spending more will get you a more reliable appliance.
  • See how likely current Indesit owners are to recommend you buy a fridge freezer from this brand.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
John Lewis fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 4 (see all our John Lewis fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 44 John Lewis fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • See where John Lewis ranks among other fridge freezer manufacturers when it comes to reliability.
  • Find out whether there are any problems specific to John Lewis fridge freezers that customers experience more often.
  • Discover how long you can expect your John Lewis fridge freezer to remain fault-free.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
LG fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 17 (see all our LG fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 112 LG fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 24 January 2020.

Key

Member Content
  • See where LG ranks among other fridge freezer manufacturers when it comes to reliability.
  • Discover how long you can expect your LG fridge freezer to remain fault-free.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Samsung fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 50 (see all our Samsung fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 510 Samsung fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Samsung fridge freezers score for reliability, and how Samsung fares against similar competitors such as Bosch and John Lewis.
  • See where Samsung fridge freezers tend to excel and struggle in our chilling and freezing tests.
  • Find out Samsung’s overall customer score to see how likely current owners are to recommend Samsung fridge freezers.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.
Zanussi fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 5 (see all our Zanussi fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2019) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September of 109 Zanussi fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 6 December 2019.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Zanussi fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Are Zanussi fridge freezers unreliable? Our survey data reveals how long they're likely to remain fault-free.
  • Find out how reliable the thermostat setting on Zanussi fridge freezers tends to be.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

How we calculate the best and worst fridge freezer brands 

Which? has a wealth of information on Britain's favourite appliance brands. Every year we ask Which? members to tell us about the home appliances they own – from how likely they would be to recommend a brand, to how reliable the products are once they get them home. This year, nearly 8,000 Which? members told us about more than 24,000 products. We calculate a brand's reliability and its customer score based on the results of our annual survey.

Our reliability surveys, combined with our extensive lab tests, mean we can recommend the best fridge freezers you should buy.

This data is crucial for our testing, too. If a brand falls far below the category average, we take away the manufacturer's Best Buy status and won’t recommend any of its products unless a marked improvement in reliability is shown.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all fridge freezers