We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Top fridge freezers brands for 2019

By Ben Slater

Unique Which? reliability and customer satisfaction data can help you choose a fridge freezer brand that lasts, as we survey owners of Beko, Hotpoint, Indesit, John Lewis and Samsung fridge freezers to find out which develop the least faults over time and which brands customers are happiest with and would recommend

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

In this article:

Cracked or broken drawers and flap-lids, blocked drains and outlets, and a build-up of ice in the fridge are some of the most common fridge freezer faults, according to our annual survey of owners. 

Worryingly, we also found that catastrophic faults such as a broken compressor or a faulty circuit board are far more common in some fridge freezer brands than others. For the very worst brands, more than one in nine fridge freezers develop a fault within the first year of use.

Knowing which brands develop the most faults and how quickly is vital when you're buying a new fridge freezer. That's why each year we ask nearly 4,000 Which? members to tell us whether they are happy, or have experienced problems, with their fridge freezer in our unique reliability and customer satisfaction survey.

Our survey data takes into account the reported fault rates, severity of these faults, and the speed with which they occurred. In our latest analysis we've looked at the performance of the biggest fridge freezer manufacturers – including Beko, Hotpoint, Indesit, John Lewis and Samsung – and have calculated a reliability rating and customer score for each so you know which brands to choose – and which to avoid.

 Best vs worst fridge freezer brands compared

As you can see, there's a big difference between the most and least reliable fridge freezer brands, and the satisfaction score reported by customers. 

 The most reliable fridge freezer brands

The table below summarises this year’s reliability results. Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether their customers would recommend it. The higher the percentage score for reliability, the fewer problems reported.

But bear in mind that a fridge freezer can be reliable without being safe. Some brands in the table below are still selling fridge freezers with flammable plastic backing. Every model with this type of backing has been made a Don't Buy, regardless of how it performed in our chilling and freezing tests, because our research reveals that plastic-backed fridge freezers can dramatically accelerate the spread of flames in the event of a fire. While the use of plastic-backing is legal and the risk of fire remains low, we think all fridge freezers should have flame-retardant metal or aluminum laminate backs. 

Find out more about fridge freezer safety.

Use our table below to see which fridge freezer brands are the most reliable, but also make sure you check our list of Don't Buy fridge freezers for the models to avoid.

Only logged-in Which? members can view which brands are the most and least reliable, and which members are most satisfied with, in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand Reliability score Customer satisfaction score
74% 89%
83% 86%
81% 83%
82% 82%
76% 82%
81% 81%
76% 80%
71% 77%
80% 76%
74% 73%
77% 72%
68% 69%
71% 68%
75% 66%
73% 66%
69% 65%
67% 65%
68% 62%
64% 59%
61% 51%

Table notes: The above data is based on a survey conducted on 3,871 Which? members June-July 2018.

Sample sizes: AEG 136, Beko 330, Bosch 652, Daewoo 34, Electrolux 56, Fisher & Paykel 47, Hoover 42,Hotpoint 348, Indesit 97, John Lewis 90, Lec 64, LG 175, Liebherr 103, Miele 127, Neff 121, Panasonic 53, Samsung 599, Siemens 158, Whirlpool 43, Zanussi 167.

Key

Member Content

 Common fridge freezer problems

The most common problem people experience with their fridge freezer is flap lids or drawers cracking or breaking. 

Other common problems include a build-up of ice in the fridge and a blocked drain or outlet, each accounting for 10% of all the fridge freezer faults reported in our survey.

 Which fridge freezer brand stays fault-free for longest?

The graph above shows how the fridge freezer brand that stays fault-free for longest compares to the worst brand and the overall average. Which? members can see how brands compare for faults over a five-year period in the table below.
Brand name % fault-free after eight years
84%
82%
81%
81%
77%
77%
76%
76%
74%
74%
72%
72%
71%
68%
66%
66%
63%
63%
61%
56%
Table notes
Results based on feedback from more than 3,871 fridge freezer owners, surveyed in June/July 2018.

Key

Member Content

How we measure faults and reliability in fridge freezers

Our reliability score takes into account minor, major and catastrophic faults:

  • Minor A fault that doesn't affect the product's performance significantly or a fault that only occurs occasionally with minimal impact. This issue may be irritating or annoying but it isn't frequently problematic and you can easily work around it. For example, cracked drawers in the fridge or freezer.
  • Major A fault that has a noticeable effect on the product’s performance. This fault affects how you use the product and can be problematic. For example, a fridge not maintaining the correct temperature.
  • Catastrophic A fault that renders the product unusable, with the fault needing to be repaired or parts replaced before it can be used again. For example, a broken compressor.

 Fridge freezer brands rated

Choose a brand from the list below to find out more detail about how good it is, including the number of Best Buys it has received and the average score of its fridge freezers in our reviews.

Only logged-in Which? members can view the hidden results in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Beko fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 22 (see all our Beko fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 330 Beko fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Beko fridge freezers score for reliability, and how Beko fares against rival fridge freezer brands like Hotpoint, Bosch and Zanussi.
  • Find out what the most common problems people have with their Beko fridge freezers are.
  • We reveal how Beko fridge freezers tend to perform in our tough chilling and freezing tests.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Bosch fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 18 (see all our Bosch fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 652 Bosch fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Bosch is a mid-range fridge freezer brand, so how does its reliability fare up against rival brands such as John Lewis and Samsung? Our data reveals all.
  • Find out what the most and least common problems with Bosch fridge freezers are.
  • Find out how many Best Buy Bosch fridge freezers are tough tests have uncovered.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Hotpoint fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 8 (see all our Hotpoint fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 348 Hotpoint fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Hotpoint fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Discover the most common issues found with Hotpoint fridge freezers, and see how the brand's reliability record compares to key rivals such as Beko and Zanussi.
  • Find out how Which? members see Hotpoint and whether they'd recommend friends and family to buy a fridge freezer from this brand.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Indesit fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 5 (see all our Indesit fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 97 Indesit fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Indesit fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Find out the problems Indesit fridge freezer owners see the most, and whether spending more will get you a more reliable appliance.
  • See how likely current Indesit owners are to recommend you buy a fridge freezer from this brand.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
John Lewis fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 5 (see all our John Lewis fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 October 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 90 John Lewis fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 10 October 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • See where John Lewis ranks among other fridge freezer manufacturers when it comes to reliability.
  • Find out whether there are any problems specific to John Lewis fridge freezers that customers experience more often.
  • Discover how long you can expect your John Lewis fridge freezer to remain fault-free.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Samsung fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 22 (see all our Samsung fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 599 Samsung fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Samsung fridge freezers score for reliability, and how Samsung fares against similar competitors such as Bosch and John Lewis.
  • See where Samsung fridge freezers tend to excel and struggle in our chilling and freezing tests.
  • Find out Samsung’s overall customer score to see how likely current owners are to recommend Samsung fridge freezers.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Zanussi fridge freezers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 5 (see all our Zanussi fridge freezer reviews)
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of models tested in the past three years (as of 1 December 2018) that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in July 2018 of 167 Zanussi fridge freezer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 1 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • We've found that some Zanussi fridge freezers have potentially unsafe plastic backing, which has affected the brand's average review score.
  • Are Zanussi fridge freezers unreliable? Our survey data reveals how long they're likely to remain fault-free.
  • Find out how reliable the thermostat setting on Zanussi fridge freezers tends to be.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.

 How we calculate the best and worst fridge freezer brands

Which? has a wealth of information on Britain's favourite appliance brands. Every year we ask Which? members to tell us about the home appliances products they own – from how likely they would be to recommend a brand, to how reliable the products are once they get them home. This year nearly 10,000 Which? members told us about more than 34,000 products. We calculate a brand's reliability and its customer score based on the results of our annual survey.

Our reliability surveys, combined with our extensive lab tests, mean we can recommend the best fridge freezers you should buy.

This data is crucial for our testing, too. If a brand falls far below the category average, we take away the manufacturer’s Best Buy status and won’t recommend any of their products unless a marked improvement in reliability is shown.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all fridge freezers