We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

UK holidaymakers to pay £6 visa fee to visit EU after Brexit

EU confirms introduction of visa-waiver scheme

UK holidaymakers to pay £6 visa fee to visit EU after Brexit

British holidaymakers travelling to Schengen EU countries will have to pay a €7 visa fee, the European Commission has confirmed.

Like the American ESTA visa-waiver system, travellers have to pre-register their details and pay the fee in advance of travel.  The authorisation would then be valid for three years, or until your passport expires.

Known as ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization Scheme), it will allow citizens of 61 countries to visit the Schengen Area with travel pre authorisation rather than a full visa. This includes the UK, which will be considered a third country after Brexit regardless of any deal.

The ETIAS scheme will start in January 2021.

The US was the only non EU country on the list of the top ten countries visited by UK citizens in 2017. Although Ireland, which is the fourth most visited country by UK holidaymakers, is unlikely to enrol in the scheme. It is only mandatory for those EU countries in the Schengen Zone.

Pound to Euro prices

Holidays to Eurozone countries have already become far more expensive for UK holidaymakers since the Brexit vote, thanks to a fall in the euro to pound exchange rate. The pound has fallen a further 1.8% this year against the euro.

The top rated city in our most recent world city survey was Krakow. With the better zloty to pound exchange rate and affordable prices it was the only city in Europe rated five stars for value for money.

Back to top
Back to top