We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Which baby or child car seat brand?

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Which baby or child car seat brand?

We’ve been independently testing child car seats for 50 years putting hundreds of models through tough crash tests and usability assessments. We'll tell you which car seats are worth investing in and which to avoid.

In this article:

In this guide we review the most popular baby and child car seat brands for typical features to expect, average prices and give logged-in members the expert Which? Verdict and top Best Buy models.

If you've already decided which brand to go for head straight to our pick of the best baby and child car seats for a full list of tested Best Buys.

Baby and child car seat brands rated

In the table below, logged in Which? members can view and compare which car seat brands have the most Best Buys or Don't Buys. 

If you're not a member join Which? to reveal the brand results.

Brand

Total tested

Best Buys

Don't Buys

Range of scores

Join Which? to reveal 30 18 0 69% - 81%
Join Which? to reveal 25 5 2 54% - 79%
Join Which? to reveal 21 5 0 61% - 82%
Join Which? to reveal 14 4 2 39% - 78%
Join Which? to reveal 10 8 0 73% - 82%
Join Which? to reveal 10 0 2 37% - 70%
Join Which? to reveal 10 0 3 20% - 64%
Join Which? to reveal 8 2 0 54% - 79%
Table notes: based on models tested and available in June 2019.

As you can see from the results there is a range of test scores within each baby and child car seat brand so let’s take a closer look into what makes each unique.

 

BeSafe car seats review

  • Extended rear-facing specialists 
  • Mainly Isofix installation 
  • Seats use a harness rather than impact shield seats 
  • Some seats can be used as part of a travel system 
  • i-Size seats available

Average costs of Besafe car seats

Prices for the models we’ve tested range from £155-£400 including a seat with an Isofix base, approved to the latest child car seat rules.

BeSafe car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth BeSafe car seat reviews for each model.

 

Britax Römer car seats review

  • Britax car seats all use a harness and not an impact shield
  • Some also have a single-handed release feature (SHR); meaning you can remove the baby car seat from the pushchair with just one hand
  • Choice of seat belt or Isofix installation and i-Size seats available
  • Many come with indicators and belt guides to help ensure the seat is installed correctly
  • Extended rear-facing seats available

Average cost of a Britax car seat

Prices range from £35 for the basic Britax Adventure (Group 2/3) car seat to up to £350 for the Britax DualFix Group 0+/1 baby car seat. You can get a Best Buy Britax car seat for around £110.

Britax Römer car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Britax Römer car seat reviews for each model.

 

Cybex car seats review

  • Cybex baby car seats are lightweight to make them easy to handle
  • Baby car seats are travel-system compatible and can be used with a range of Cybex pushchairs
  • Cybex tends to use impact shields rather than a harness
  • Cybex seats have a feature it calls the telescopic L.S.P. System, which stands for linear side-impact protection. This can be adjusted to fit the specific vehicle to help absorb energy in a crash
  • i-Size and extended rear-facing child car seats are available

Average cost of a Cybex car seat

Prices range from £100 for a high-backed booster to £445 for the latest i-Size car seats. You can even get a Best Buy Cybex car seat for the lower end of £100 too.

Cybex car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Cybex car seat reviews for each model.

 

Graco car seats review

  • Often cheaper than many of the other top UK brands
  • Use five-point harness restraints rather than impact shields
  • Isofix and belt installation child car seats available
  • Graco infant carriers can be used with Graco strollers as a travel system

Average cost of a Graco car seat

Prices range from as little as £30 up to around £250.

Graco car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Graco car seat reviews for each model.

 

Joie car seats review

  • Belt fitting or Isofix installations possible
  • Some Joie car seats span all the seat groups you'll need - Group 0+, Group 1 and Group 2/3
  • You can choose from three base types - clickFIT, i-Base and i-Base Advance
  • Most use a harness rather than an impact shield

Average cost of a Joie car seat

If you're shopping for a Joie child car seat, be prepared to spend at least £60. We've seen prices rise to around £250 for Joie's high-end baby and child car seats.

Joie car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Joie car seat reviews for each model.

 

Kiddy car seats review

  • Lightweight construction
  • Many Kiddy baby and car seats use an impact shield system rather than integral harness
  • Kiddy has some Isofix and belt installation options in its range
  • i-Size seats available
  • Innovative lie-flat baby carriers available

Average cost of a Kiddy car seat

Prices range from around £100 to £300.

Kiddy car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Kiddy car seat reviews for each model.

 

Maxi-Cosi car seats review

  • Maxi-Cosi baby and child car seats have safety features, such as light and sound LED displays, to notify parents if the seat hasn't been installed safely
  • All its seats use harnesses rather than impact shields
  • Maxi-Cosi seats can be installed in your car using an Isofix base or the adult seatbelt
  • Baby car seats are travel-system compatible
  • A range of i-Size and extended rear-facing seats (up to four years old) available

Average cost of a Maxi-Cosi car seat

Expect to pay from around £90 for a basic Maxi-Cosi baby or toddler car seat to nearly £400 for a top-of-the-range i-Size-approved baby car seat and base. There’s a wide range of car seats and prices across the whole product range.

Maxi-Cosi car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019

Now read our in-depth Maxi-Cosi car seat reviews for each model.

 

Nania car seats review

  • Nania baby and child car seats are affordable
  • The brand makes seats suitable for babies, toddlers and young children
  • Usually forward-facing (although Nania does make some rear-facing models)

Average cost of a Nania car seat

Parents looking for a cheap baby or child car seat might consider Nania. At the time of writing, all of the child car seats we've tested from Nania are available online or in-store for under £100. The cheapest Nania car seat we've tested can be purchased for as little as £40.

Nania car seat verdict

Range of scores Log-in to reveal
Best Buys Log-in to reveal
Don't Buys Log-in to reveal
Which? brand verdict Log-in to reveal
Table notes: Based on all models tested and available in June 2019
Now read our in-depth Nania car seat reviews for each model.
SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all child car seats