We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?
13 October 2020

Which cot mattress brand to buy

Unique Which? customer satisfaction data helps you choose which cot mattress brand to invest in. Find out whether John Lewis, Mamas & Papas, Mothercare or Ikea cot mattresses are rated top by parents.
Cot-mattress-advice2
AP
Alison Potter

Our tough tests look for any hidden safety issues, and assess the firmness and body support of each cot mattress. But we also ask parents how happy they are with their cot mattress brand.

Although all cot mattresses look generally similar, there are differences in the materials used and their construction, which can mean they don’t provide the comfort, support or convenience you think you’re getting.

Best vs worst cot mattress brands compared

Our tests have uncovered two cot mattresses that pose a potential suffocation risk and, as a result, we’ve given them both a score of 0%.

As you can see, there’s a sizeable difference between the best and worst cot mattress in our tests, and varying feedback from parents who own cot mattresses from these brands.

Common cot mattress problems

Our reviews will tell you how easy it is to wash the cover, and whether it shrinks at all, because a shrunken cover can compress the mattress and lead to an unsafe gap where your baby could trap a limb.

We also check to see how resistant each cot mattress is to taking moisture into its inner layers, and whether a mattress changes at all after two to three years of constant use.

Find out more in our guide to how we test cot mattresses.

Cot mattress brands rated

We asked 1,598 parents to tell us which brand of cot mattress they owned, and how satisfied they are with that brand. We also asked them whether they would recommend it to a friend.

From these responses we've compiled an overall customer score and star rating.

Choose a cot mattress brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey and tests.

Only logged-in Which? members can view the hidden results in the tables below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Babystyle cot mattresses overview
Number tested1
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • The BabyStyle Dream Sprung Mattress is a reasonably priced reversible traditional spring mattress.
  • Read our Babystyle Dream Sprung Mattress review.
Ikea cot mattresses overview
Number tested2
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • We've tested the Ikea Skonast and the Ikea Krummelur, which are both foam cot mattresses.
  • See all our Ikea cot mattress reviews.
John Lewis cot mattresses overview
Number tested2
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • We've tested the John Lewis Baby Sleep Pocket Spring Cotbed and the John Lewis Premium Foam Cot Bed Mattress.
  • See all our John Lewis cot mattress reviews.
Mamas & Papas cot mattresses overview
Number tested2
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • We've tested the Mamas & Papas Essential Pocket Spring Cot Bed Mattress and the Mamas & Papas Premium Pocket Spring Cot Bed Mattress.
  • See all our Mamas & Papas cot mattress reviews.
Marks and Spencer cot mattresses overview
Number tested1
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • We've tested the mid-priced M&S Pocket Sprung Cot Bed Mattress.
  • Read our M&S Pocket Sprung Cot Bed Mattress review.
Silentnight cot mattresses overview
Number tested2
Number of Best Buys
Member icon
Average test score
Member icon
Customer rating
Member icon
Customer score (%)
Member icon
Typical spend
Member icon
Table notesAverage test score based on results of models tested in the past four years (as of 15 July 2019) that are still available. The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 1,598 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend. Table last updated 15 July 2019.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
  • We've tested both the Silentnight Safe Nights Luxury Pocket Cot Bed Mattress and the Silentnight Airstream Anti Allergy Cot Bed Mattress.
  • See all our Silentnight cot mattress reviews.

Head to our cot mattress reviews

Know which cot mattress brand you want? Go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

Need help choosing? See all of our cot mattress reviews.

How we help you to choose the best cot mattress

Our tough tests investigate the firmness of each cot mattress and how well it supports the body of a baby and a toddler, which we assess using a 12kg and a 20kg dummy. We use two heavy weights for the head and the bottom, which shows us whether a cot mattress will sag or be supportive.

Babies sleep a lot, so we check whether it’s durable and will offer a good level of body support night after night, as your child grows bigger.

Find out more about how we test cot mattresses, and why it’s important to opt for a cot mattress that's easy to clean and resistant to moisture.

View all Cot mattresses