Which? uses cookies to improve our sites and by continuing you agree to our cookies policy

What size TV should I buy?

Top 5 best 32-inch TVs

By Ben Stockton

Article 2 of 5

If you want something cheaper or more modest than the big-screen sets, a 32-inch TV is for you. Here, we show you the best 32-inch TVs from our rigorous testing.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Despite TV screen sizes getting ever bigger in recent years, 32-inch is still the preferred option for many people shopping for a new set for their living room, or an additional TV for a bedroom, kitchen or study.

But unfortunately, many of these slightly smaller, cheaper sets don’t make the grade. With manufacturers focusing on mammoth 50, 55 and 65-inch TVs, these more modest models have been all but left behind.

That means if you’re looking for a new 32-inch set, for every great-value option there are dozens of shoddy ones sitting alongside it. Here, we reveal the models that impressed our expert lab tests, as well as the ones to steer well clear of.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, you can get instant access by taking a £1 trial to Which?.

Best 32-inch TVs

Lowest price (not in stock) £399.99
Which? score 69%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

Although not quite achieving a Best Buy, this is one of the best smaller TVs we’ve seen this year. It lacks the 4K found on bigger sets, but if you’re after a modest-sized TV with decent picture and sound quality, this is the one to go for.

Lowest price (in stock) £309.00
Which? score 58%
Reviewed Jun 2017
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
2 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

This TV is best if you're watching HD content, but you'll need to add a soundbar if you want good sound. You can access a range of smart TV apps from this set, too, and it has Freeview HD built in.

Lowest price (in stock) £299.99
Which? score 56%
Reviewed Nov 2016
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

This basic set is a no-frills 32-inch TV. Sound is its strong-suit and it’s very easy to use, but you’ll need to put it with a fair bit of motion blur. There’s no smart TV either, but you can always add an internet TV box if you want to access catch-up services and streaming apps.

Lowest price (in stock) £229.99
Which? score 56%
Reviewed May 2016
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

This TV isn’t short on features with smart TV apps, which you can access through the built-in wi-fi, and a Freeview HD tuner. The picture and sound quality are middling and the TV performs better when you’re watching HD content. You’ll get the best experience when you watch Freeview HD channels and HD content on Netflix and Amazon Video.

Typical price £329.00
Which? score 56%
Reviewed Jun 2016
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Curved:
Member exclusive
Resolution type:
Member exclusive

If the picture quality matched the sound then this TV would be a winner, but the standard of the images on screen was a let-down. It doesn’t have 4K or HDR, but the TV is smart, so you’ll be able to access a range of apps, including Netflix and BBC iPlayer, as well as Freeview Play. It’s not the best TV we’ve tested, but options are limited at 32 inches and there are plenty of significantly worse models at this size.

Prices, recommendations and test scores correct as of November 2017.

Not found the product for you? Browse all our TV reviews

And here are two 32-inch TVs to avoid

There are plenty of sub-par small TVs on sale. Their rock-bottom prices can make them difficult to ignore, but our picture and sound quality experts have found everything from sickly skin tones, washed-out contrast and raspy sound. Many also miss out on the latest smart TV features. Without access to catch-up and on-demand TV, these simple sets can seem dated.

32-inch TVs to avoid

Lowest price (in stock) £189.00
Which? score 42%
Reviewed Aug 2017
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
1 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
Freeview HD:
Member exclusive
Freesat HD:
Member exclusive

This 32-inch set doesn't come close to the quality you might expect from this manufacturer, with dreadful sound and poor image quality.

Lowest price (in stock) £178.00
Which? score 40%
Reviewed Jun 2017
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
1 out of 5
Ease of use:
4 out of 5
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
Freeview HD:
Member exclusive
Freesat HD:
Member exclusive

Despite its big brand label, this 32-inch TV is one to steer clear of. The dismal sound quality and mediocre picture are not worth pating with your cash for.

Lowest price (in stock) £189.00
Which? score 39%
Reviewed Aug 2017
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
1 out of 5
Ease of use:
3 out of 5
Resolution type:
Member exclusive
Freeview HD:
Member exclusive
Freesat HD:
Member exclusive

This screen was poor enough to become a dreaded Don't Buy. Sound is awful, the picture isn't much better and there's no smart TV functionality.

Prices, recommendations and test scores correct as of November 2017.

How to choose the best 32-inch TV

If you’re replacing your old 32-inch TV with one of the same size, you may find that you can jump up to a slightly bigger set. With bezels shrinking, a bigger screen can now fit in a smaller space. Height and width measurements for every TV can be found in the tech specs of our reviews.

Plus, with many 40-inch TVs now coming with 4K ultra-HD resolution, you can sit slightly closer without losing any detail. Our online TV size guide recommends that you sit about the same distance (around 2.5 metres) from a Full-HD 32-inch TV as you would a 4K 40-inch one.

Our testing has shown that the average quality in this larger size bracket is higher than that seen among 32-inch TVs. And choosing a 40-inch TV doesn’t mean spending a lot more money than you hoped – check out our guide to the best 40 to 43-inch TVs for sets to suit all budgets.

If you’ve decided that a 32-inch TV is for you, here are some features to look out for:

  • Full-HD display: To get the best possible picture quality, go for a 1080p, or Full-HD, TV. An HD-Ready set will let you view HD content but it typically won't be as good as a Full-HD model. New 4K TVs are available, but they're mainly in sizes of 40-inches and over.
  • Built-in HD tuner: You'll need HD content in order to enjoy your high-definition display to the full. Go for a 32-inch TV with a built-in Freeview HD or Freesat HD tuner, allowing you to get subscription-free digital TV channels. Some TVs even have both.
  • Smart-TV: Most new TVs from the big manufacturers come with smart-TV features, allowing you to watch catch-up and on-demand services such as BBC iPlayer and Netflix. But cheaper TVs from smaller brands may miss out. Head over to our What is smart TV? guide to find out if this is an important feature for you.
SHARE THIS PAGE