We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

The Which? Awards

The Which? Awards were launched in 2007 to celebrate and reward the very best businesses in the UK. Each year we select and publicly recognise those companies and individuals that consistently get it right for their customers.

In this article
2019 Which? Awards Shortlist 2019 Your Consumer Champion Award Shortlist

We recognise businesses that have achieved positive change and deliver excellent products and services.

The Which? Awards are an independent endorsement, judged by our rigorous research and testing experts. There are award categories across a wide range of sectors, from retailers to cars, banks and home appliances.

This year the ceremony will be held on Thursday 20 June 2019.

2019 Which? Awards Shortlist

Which? Banking Brand of the Year 2019
First Direct
Nationwide Building Society

Which? Insurance Provider of the Year 2019
John Lewis Financial Services
M&S Bank
NFU Mutual

Which? Travel Brand of the Year 2019
Premier Inn
Viking Cruises

Which? Utilities Brand of the Year 2019
Octopus Energy
Utility Warehouse
Zen Internet 

Which? Retailer of the Year 2019
John Lewis
Liz Earle
Richer Sounds

Which? Technology Brand of the Year 2019

Which? Large Home Appliance Brand of the Year 2019

Which? Small Home Appliance Brand of the Year 2019
Sage Appliances

Which? Car Brand of the Year 2019

Which? Sound & Vision Brand of the Year 2019
Polk Audio 

Which? Trusted Trader of the Year 2019
Furlonger Tree Services
Inspiration Computers
Tincknell Heating
Splash of Colour

2019 Your Consumer Champion Award Shortlist

About the new award

Which? has given businesses the opportunity to submit nominations to the Which? Awards with the introduction of a brand new category Your Consumer Champion. The award recognises individuals who have done something in the last 12 months in a business capacity that makes an outstanding contribution to improving the lives of consumers to show positive changes, big or small,  have the power to make an impact.

We asked businesses to nominate a colleague who has gone above and beyond for their customers. Whether it’s extraordinary customer service, a creative new idea or a challenge to the status quo. As well as a £300 voucher and a prestigious Which? award the winner will be invited to join a Which? Awards alumni network and receive a coaching session with a consumer expert to help champion them and their award-winning idea.

The shortlist

Natalie Ledward, Vulnerable Customer Specialist, Monzo
Natalie was shortlisted for her work to create a gambling block to protect vulnerable customers. Natalie listened to consumers and took the initiative to develop a completely new concept to help some of the bank’s most vulnerable customers. The block has not only had a direct impact for the 100,000 Monzo customers who now use it but it has also had a profound impact on the financial industry as a whole with other banks now following suit to develop their own blockers.

Tina Walls, Customer Service Assistant, Coventry Building Society
Tina had come to know a customer with learning difficulties well over many years. Since he retired she worried that his balance was getting unusually low, at a time when a family bereavement was also affecting him. She knew he should have a decent pension but found out that he’d received nothing since retiring. She asked him to bring in his paperwork, discovered a mistake and arranged a meeting with the Pension Advisory Service. An independent financial adviser put things right, but it’s testimony to Tina’s dedicated care and support that she spotted this life-defining issue and made sure it was resolved.

Sophie Mohns, Principal Officer, National Trading Standards Scams Team
Sophie managed the implementation of a call blocking project which saw around 1,500 consumers receive call blockers to help protect them from scams. Sophie was shortlisted as the scheme she led saw a 97% reduction in users losing money to scam and nuisance calls and an 85% reduction in users feeling helpless to stop these calls.

If you have any questions about the event, please contact whichawards@which.co.uk.

If you are a nominee and have any questions about the Which? Awards endorsement, including how you may use it for promotional purposes, please contact endorsementscheme@which.co.uk.

You can view a round-up of last year’s winners here.