We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Which baby monitor brand to buy in 2019

By Alison Potter

Find out which is the best baby monitor brand. See whether Angelcare, BT, Philips or Motorola baby monitors do well in our testing and which brand parents would recommend

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

In this article:

Our tough tests compare and identify the best baby monitors for picture and sound quality, battery life and practical features. We also ask parents how happy they are with their baby monitor brand.

This is so we can get a complete picture of how well a baby monitor works when new and how it fares over time. Some baby monitor batteries degrade quicker than others, or a fault can develop with signal range.

Best vs worst baby monitor brands compared 

As you can see, there’s a big difference between the best and worst baby monitors in our tests, and varying feedback from parents who own baby monitors from these brands.

Common baby monitor problems 

If your baby monitor becomes faulty, you should be able to claim for a repair or replacement. Our guide to your consumer rights with baby monitors explains how.

Baby monitor brands rated 

We asked 1,360 parents to tell us which brand of baby monitor they owned, and how satisfied they are with that brand. We also asked them whether they would recommend the chosen brand to a friend.

From these responses we've compiled an overall customer score.

Choose a baby monitor brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey.

Only logged-in Which? members can view the full results in the tables below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Angelcare baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 5
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 139 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate Angelcare baby monitors.
  • Angelcare is a popular brand that sells a large range of audio and video baby monitors.
  • Angelcare's baby monitors are pricey, but they often come with a motion sensor mat, which is marketed as a tool to protect against sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), also known as cot death.
  • See all our Angelcare baby monitor reviews.
BabyMoov baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 6
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 37 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate BabyMoov baby monitors.
  • BabyMoov is a French nursery brand that's been around for more than 20 years.
  • The BabyMoov YOO-Travel monitor has a parent unit and baby unit that can both run on rechargeable batteries, which makes it ideal for travelling.
  • See all our BabyMoov baby monitor reviews.
BT baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 6
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 174 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate BT baby monitors.
  • BT baby monitors are recognisable from their distinctive styling, and BT is a stalwart of the baby monitor market in the UK.
  • BT baby monitors are among the cheapest, ranging in price from about £32 for an audio baby monitor to £150 for a video baby monitor with lightshow features. The brand has just waded into the world of smart baby monitors, releasing its first wi-fi monitor in 2019.
  • See all our BT baby monitor reviews.
Motorola baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 12
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 275 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate Motorola baby monitors.
  • Motorola has a very large range of baby monitors, and we’ve tested more Motorola monitors than any other brand. Its monitors tend to be innovative and cutting edge. Motorola was among the first to make a foray into smart home tech.
  • You can pay from £20 for one of its latest audio monitors to £250 for its most premium wi-fi-connected video monitor, the Halo.
  • See all our Motorola baby monitor reviews.
Philips baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 5
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 181 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate Philips baby monitors.
  • Philips manufactures a wide range of baby products, including breast pumps, baby bottles, digital thermometers and, of course, baby monitors.
  • The brand claims to have a monitor to suit every parent, and you can pick up the three main types of monitor from it: digital video monitors, smart wi-fi video monitors and audio DECT baby monitors.
  • See all our Philips baby monitor reviews.
Tommee Tippee baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 2
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 119 parents, conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate Tommee Tippee baby monitors.
  • Tommee Tippee offers a reasonably small range of baby monitors.
  • Its monitors are packed with features. They have a useful vibration mode to let you know if your baby is crying when the sound is turned down low, and the camera has a digital zoom.
  • See all our Tommee Tippee baby monitor reviews.
VTech baby monitors overview
Number tested in the past five years 9
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of available models tested in the past five years (as of September 2019). The customer score and rating are based on a Which? member survey of 58 parents conducted in March 2019. The customer score is based on whether parents would recommend the brand to a friend.

Key

Member Content
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive recommendations. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access and see how parents rate VTech baby monitors.
  • VTech is most well known for its extensive range of electronic learning toys.
  • Its baby monitors, which tend to be fairly low in price, can typically be found at Argos.
  • See all our VTech baby monitor reviews.

Head to our baby monitor reviews

Know which baby monitor brand you want? Go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

Need help choosing? See all of our baby monitor reviews.

How we help you to choose the best baby monitor 

 

When you're choosing a baby monitor, you want a brand and a model you can trust. But there are also a number of other key things to consider. 

For example, do you want an audio baby monitor or a video baby monitor? You can find out more about the pros and cons of each in our audio baby monitor buying guide and video baby monitor buying guide.

With stories appearing in the news of baby monitors being hacked, you also want to make sure you're being savvy on baby monitor safety and security.

Read our guide to keeping your baby monitor safe from hacking if you've got or are interested in using a wi-fi video baby monitor.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all baby monitors