We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Best Dishwashers 2018

Choose the best dishwasher for you using our expert buying guide and independent dishwasher reviews.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Choose the best dishwasher for you

Buying a great dishwasher means kissing goodbye to washing up by hand. Our expert guide tells you what you need to know to buy the best dishwasher for your home.

One dishwasher may look like another, but our rigorous tests have revealed huge differences in how well they clean and dry. The best will leave your crockery gleaming, while the worst will see you standing at the sink re-washing still grubby plates and bowls.

Picking the right model for you also comes down to your budget, the size of your kitchen and the capacity and features you want.

Dishwasher features to look for

  • Delay start - most dishwashers come with a delay timer, which allows you to set the dishwasher hours before you want the wash program to start.
  • Adjustable racks - if you regularly host dinner parties you might want adjustable racks so you can fit platters and wine glasses in with ease.
  • A child-safe lock - will protect your dishwasher’s control panel from curious little fingers.
  • Large spray head – this extra feature can be used on extremely dirty items, such as roasting trays.
  • Anti-flood protection – this prevents flooding if something should go wrong.
  • Sensor wash or fuzzy logic – a more advanced feature, this measures how dirty the dishes are, and adjusts the temperature and length of the wash accordingly.

How to buy the best dishwasher >

Dishwashers running costs

Be careful not to pick an inefficient machine. Although most models have an A rating for energy efficiency, this doesn’t mean they won’t guzzle gallons of water during each wash. Which? rates each machine out of five stars for water and energy use. Shop smart and you could save yourself £37 every year.

Best dishwashers of 2018

We've selected our pick of the best dishwashers to help you find the right model for your home.

These models are great all-rounders and will leave your dishes sparkling clean - they are the very best dishwashers that we've tested this year.

Typical price £949.00
Which? score 89%
Reviewed May 2018

This is currently the highest scoring dishwasher we've tested, thanks to impressive cleaning and drying ability, simple loading and unloading, and efficient use of water and energy.

Lowest price (in stock) £888.97
Which? score 80%
Reviewed Jun 2016

This dishwasher stormed through our tests, thanks to its superb cleaning. It's no longer the newest model in the range, but it's still one of our highest-scoring machines and a great all-rounder that dries well, leaving dishes streak-free. It uses energy and water efficiently, too.

Lowest price (in stock) £729.99
Which? score 79%
Reviewed May 2016

It's difficult to fault this excellent dishwasher - its cleaning and drying ability is superb, and it's quiet, user-friendly and energy efficient, too.

Best dishwashers by size: full-width, slimline and compact

Whether you want a compact, slimline or full-sized dishwasher, we’ve got a top-scoring model for you. Hundreds of dishwashers have passed through our labs, including models from Beko, Bosch, Hotpoint, Miele, Zanussi and others. The picks in the table below are some of the very best dishwashers we’ve tested.

Best full-width dishwasher

Typical price £949.00
Which? score 89%
Reviewed May 2018

This full-sized dishwasher can clean 140 items in one wash, and it's got plenty of features such as a child lock, anti-flood sensor and a delay start. But how well did the it clean away sticky baked-on food such as egg, mince, spinach and oats? And how easy is it to load the machine with 14 place settings worth of crockery, cutlery and glassware? Read our full review of this dishwasher to find out.

Best slimline dishwasher

Typical price £899.00
Which? score 75%
Reviewed May 2018

This semi-integrated slimline dishwasher may be small, but it's packed with features including a child lock, anti-flood sensor and a delay start function. It's an expensive machine though, so how does it cope with dirty dishes smeared with baked-on egg, mince and spinach, and glasses clouded with milk? Find out if this dishwasher is worth the money by reading our full review.

Best compact dishwasher

Typical price £870.00
Which? score 58%
Reviewed Mar 2018

This semi-integrated one-drawer dishwasher that has room for 60 items. It has a child lock, a delayed start feature and six programs to choose from. But can this dinky drawer dishwasher get your dirty dishes sparkling clean? Read the full review to find out how it coped with sticky baked-on egg, spinach and mince in our tough lab tests.

Best dishwasher by type: freestanding and integrated

Freestanding dishwashers are designed for front door to remain fully visible. They're available in a range of colours white, black, grey and silver.

Integrated dishwashers are designed to be incorporated into built-in kitchens. They fall into two categories fully integrated and semi integrated. Fully integrated dishwashers are hidden behind a kitchen cabinet door. Semi-integrated – where most of the front is covered, but the control panel is left visible at the top.

Best freestanding dishwasher

Lowest price (in stock) £729.99
Which? score 79%
Reviewed May 2016

This is a pricey semi-integrated dishwasher with flashy features that include a self-opening door and sensors that check whether dishes are clean and dry. So how did it cope against tough grease and grime, and is it worth investing in? Find out how this dishwasher did in our test lab in our full review.

Best full integrated dishwasher

Lowest price (in stock) £790.50
Which? score 81%
Reviewed Jun 2017

This is a built-in dishwasher that's wi-fi connected, and will hold 140 items of crockery and cutlery. Its A+++ energy rating means it should be kind to your monthly bills, but we checked this claim in our testing. Read our review to find out if this dishwasher will leave your dirty dishes clean and spotless.

Best dishwashers: how much to spend

Whether you’re looking for a freestanding, integrated or slimline model, we’ve discovered that spending a fortune doesn’t guarantee quality. In fact, we've uncovered an £800 dishwasher that does such a bad job we've labelled it a Don't Buy, and Best Buy-rated models for half the price.

Cheapest Best Buy dishwasher

Typical price £230.00
Which? score 75%
Reviewed Oct 2018

Apart from being noisy, this dishwasher is fantastic, and it passed our tough cleaning tests with flying colours. It dries well, doesn't leave watermarks and the eco program doesn't use much water or electricity.

Best dishwasher brands

Discover the best and most reliable dishwasher brands, according to our independent test lab reviews and survey of dishwasher owners.

We’ve asked thousands of Which? members about their dishwashers, to find out which brands impress when you install them at home. Our tough tests have also uncovered plenty of Best Buy machines that will leave your crockery and cutlery spotless, but we've also found some that fail to shift grime.

Our research means you can now see at a glance the brands that should give you unrivalled cleaning over a number of years and those that could prove a costly waste of money.

Below, we share what we’ve learnt about the big dishwasher brands – such as Bosch, Hotpoint, Indesit and Miele – and bring you the top names for 2018.

Top 10 dishwasher brands for 2018 >

Most reliable dishwasher brands >

Three dishwashers to avoid

Some dishwashers do such a poor job of cleaning and drying in our tests that we’ve labelled them with our Don’t By warning. They're annoyingly noisy and the worst models are awkward to load and unload, too. The Don't Buy dishwashers below are definitely best avoided.

Lowest price (in stock) £689.00
Which? score 36%
Reviewed May 2017

We weren't impressed by this dishwasher. It's difficult to use and dreadful at cleaning, so you can expect to find traces of last night's supper left behind on your freshly washed dishes. It's definitely one to avoid so we've made it a Don't Buy.

Lowest price (in stock) £539.98
Which? score 34%
Reviewed Feb 2015

This dishwasher does such a poor job of cleaning and drying that we've named it a Don't Buy. It does manage to use both water and energy economically, but this doesn't make up for it not shifting grease and grime from plates.

Lowest price (in stock) £799.00
Which? score 33%
Reviewed Jun 2017

This semi-integrated one-drawer dishwasher that has room for 60 items. This 2017 model, however, failed to clean our dirty dishes, and is a disappointing Don't Buy.

How we test dishwashers

Which? is independent – we work for you, the consumer, so you can be sure that our dishwasher recommendations are influenced only by our test results. We don’t take advertising and we buy all the products that we assess ourselves. With more than 50 years expertise in testing appliances, you can trust that we’re the experts in separating the good from the bad.

Every dishwasher is assessed in the Which? test lab using a strict range of criteria. From how easy the machine is to load to how much water and energy it uses, our tests will reveal everything you need to know about a dishwasher.

Most importantly, we check how well each dishwasher cleans. We dirty dishes with milk, tea, minced meat, eggs, oat flakes, spinach and margarine, baking on these substances in a heated cabinet to ensure we give dishwashers a tough, realistic test. We then go one step further and add in some clean dishes to the load, to see if the dishwasher spreads grime around the dishwasher - you wouldn’t want to buy a machine that just moves dirt from one plate to another.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all dishwashers