We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice
Reviews based on facts
Our rigorous tests find the facts, and our impartial reviews tell you the truth about how products perform. First month £5, then £9.99 per month, cancel anytime.
Try Which?

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

2 March 2021

Aldi review

Find out how hundreds of Aldi shoppers rate its supermarket stores in our Aldi review.
Which? Team

Discount supermarket Aldi has become known for its value for money and eclectic 'special buy' products. But how is it for product freshness, overall quality and customer service?

Are Aldi stores any good?

In the annual Which? supermarkets survey, more than 700 Aldi customers rated the retailer on everything from queuing time to the quality of its food and value for money. This enabled us to work out a customer score as well as star ratings for individual categories.

This is member-only content.

  • Join Which? for instant access to Aldi's results plus all our online reviews.
  • Which? members can log in to unlock the table below and reveal the ratings.
Aldi stores
Store appearance and layout
Member content
Queuing time to get into store
Member content
Queuing time at the checkout
Member content
Staff availability and helpfulness
Member content
Stock availability
Member content
Range of stock
Member content
Overall quality of own-label and fresh products
Member content
Availability of products with recyclable/no packaging
Member content
Value for money
Member content
Customer score
Member content

As well as accessing the supermarket scores, logging in or joining Which? will enable you to see how Aldi products fared when we reviewed products including champagne, cheese, and cleaning products, such as washing-up liquid and dishwasher tablets.

We also try out Aldi's special buy offers on electricals – from coffee machines to irons – to help you decide which ones are worth buying.

How safe are Aldi stores in the pandemic?

When we surveyed shoppers in October 2020, 73% said Aldi's in-store COVID-19 measures were good or excellent. Find out how that compares to the other supermarkets in our survey by visiting Supermarkets compared.

At the time of publishing this page (Feb 2021), like other supermarkets Aldi is refusing entry to anyone not wearing a face covering except for those who are exempt.

It has also introduced a traffic light system at most stores to limit the amount of people inside at any one time and make sure social distancing is possible – if there are too many, shoppers are asked to wait outside until others leave. Customers are asked to shop alone if possible.

When you order shopping via click and collect, your bagged order will be brought outside to you when you have arrived at the collection point. There are trolley and basket cleaning stations at all stores.

For the latest on the measures supermarkets are taking in the pandemic read our coronavirus supermarkets news story.

Does Aldi sell online?

Aldi (aldi.co.uk) doesn't offer a full grocery delivery service, but does sell selected ranges including toys, wine and 'special buys' (which can include electricals, clothes, sport and leisure items) online.

It has also started rolling out click and collect to some of its stores, meaning you can order groceries on its website to pick up at a pre-booked time slot. 

In some areas, you can order Aldi groceries to your home via Deliveroo.

Aldi in the news

Aldi reported record sales over the 2020 Christmas period – they were up by 10.6% in the four weeks before Christmas compared to the same period in 2019, with a jump in demand for its online wine and special buys. According to market research agency Kantar, though, it had the lowest growth of all the supermarkets from November 2020 to January 2021.

Aldi had extended its trial of click and collect to more than 200 stores before Christmas and is adding more.

In November 2020 it became the first UK supermarket chain to launch its own recyclable freezer bags and is aiming for all of its own-label packaging to be reusable, recyclable or compostable by 2022 and brands it sells to be the same by 2025.

In October 2020, Aldi opened its 900th store. It plans to have 1,200 in the UK by 2025.

Aldi's plastic packaging

In April 2019, we investigated how much supermarket plastic packaging is recyclable. We ordered 46 of the most popular own-brand items from each of 11 major UK supermarket chains. We found that 53% of Aldi's packaging was widely recyclable at the kerbside. 

We also investigated how much of the packaging was correctly labelled with recycling advice. Aldi's packaging was 69% correctly labelled. See how this compares with other supermarkets and find out more about supermarket plastic packaging.

Find out more