We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Home & garden.

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

Updated: 24 Feb 2022

Marks & Spencer review

Find out how hundreds of M&S shoppers rate its stores for grocery shopping in our Marks & Spencer supermarket review.
Which? Team

Marks & Spencer is known for selling high-quality food at a premium. But does it deserve its reputation on either front?

In the annual Which? supermarkets survey, more than 200 M&S grocery customers rated the retailer on everything from queuing time to food quality and value for money. 

This enabled us to work out star ratings for different categories, as well as an overall customer score.

Are Marks & Spencer stores any good for groceries?

This is member-only content.

  • Join Which? now for instant access to the results plus all of our online reviews.
  • Which? members can log in to unlock the table below and reveal the ratings.
Marks & Spencer stores
Store appearance
Queuing time
Staff availability and helpfulness
Stock availability
Range of products
Overall quality of own-label and fresh products
Value for money

How safe are Marks & Spencer stores in the pandemic?

When we surveyed shoppers in October 2020, 79% said Marks & Spencer's in-store Covid-19 measures were good or excellent. Find out how that compares to the other supermarkets in our survey by visiting our guide to the UK's  best and worst supermarkets.

At the time of publishing this page (Feb 2022), Marks & Spencer said it was carrying out extra cleaning in its stores to keep shoppers and staff safe, and enabling shoppers to skip store queues by using its Scan & Shop service.

Does Marks & Spencer sell online?

Marks & Spencer sells clothing and home products through its own website (marksandspencer.com), but if you want to order M&S groceries online you'll have to head to Ocado (Ocado.com). 

The online-only supermarket has been selling M&S food and drink since September 2020, when it switched from its previous partnership with Waitrose.

Ocado and M&S have come under fire from some shoppers, who've noticed that items can sometimes be priced differently in M&S stores and on the Ocado website. 

Marks & Spencer in the news

M&S was the fastest-growing food retailer over Christmas 2021, according to data from NielsenIQ, with sales up by 9.4% in the last three months of 2021 compared to the previous year.

In November 2021, M&S announced that from spring 2022 a range of M&S food will be available in more than 2,500 branches of Costa Coffee.

As part of a move to attract more families, in February 2021 M&S launched its first own-brand baby care range, including nappies, baby wipes and bubble bath, called Little Smiles.

In December 2019, it launched its Fill Your Own concept – more than 60 lines of refillable grocery products designed to reduce packaging waste. In June 2021 it expanded to become available at 11 stores and said it planned to extend the range to almost 100 lines.

Marks & Spencer's plastic packaging

In April 2019, we investigated how much supermarket plastic packaging is recyclable. We ordered 46 of the most popular own-brand items from 11 major UK supermarket chains. We found 55% of Marks & Spencer's packaging, by item, was widely recyclable at the kerbside.

We also looked at how accurately the items in our basket were labelled with recycling advice. We found 43% of Marks & Spencer packaging was correctly labelled. See how M&S compared with other supermarkets and find out more about supermarket plastic packaging.

Find out more