We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

7 July 2021

Marks & Spencer review

Find out how hundreds of M&S shoppers rate its stores for grocery shopping in our Marks & Spencer supermarket review.
Which? Team

Marks & Spencer is known for selling high-quality food at a premium. But does it deserve its reputation on either front?

In the annual Which? supermarkets survey, more than 500 M&S grocery customers rated the retailer on everything from queuing time to the quality of its food and value for money. 

This enabled us to work out star ratings for different categories, as well as an overall customer score.

Are Marks & Spencer stores any good for groceries?

This is member-only content.

  • Join Which? now for instant access to the results plus all of our online reviews.
  • Which? members can log in to unlock the table below and reveal the ratings.
Marks & Spencer stores
Store appearance and layout
Queuing time to get into store
Queuing time at the checkout
Staff availability and helpfulness
Stock availability
Range of stock
Overall quality of own-label and fresh products
Availability of products with recyclable/no packaging
Value for money
Customer score

As well as accessing the supermarket scores, logging in or joining Which? will enable you to see how M&S fared when we reviewed items including champagne, cheese, and cleaning products, such as washing-up liquid and dishwasher tablets.

How safe are Marks & Spencer stores in the pandemic?

When we surveyed shoppers in October 2020, 79% said Marks & Spencer's in-store COVID-19 measures were good or excellent. Find out how that compares to the other supermarkets in our survey by visiting supermarkets compared.

At the time of publishing this page (Feb 2021), like all supermarkets Marks & Spencer has social distancing measures in place and Perspex screens at the tills to keep shoppers and staff safe.

It is also enabling shoppers to skip store queues by booking slots via its Book and Shop service.

M&S has not said it will refuse shoppers entry if they are not wearing a face covering.

For the latest information about the measures supermarkets are taking in the pandemic visit our coronavirus supermarkets news story.

Does Marks & Spencer sell online?

Marks & Spencer sells clothing and home products through its own website (marksandspencer.com), but if you want to order M&S groceries online you'll have to head to Ocado (Ocado.com). 

The online-only supermarket has been selling M&S food and drink since September, when it switched from its previous partnership with Waitrose.

Ocado and M&S have come under fire from some shoppers, who've noticed that items can sometimes be priced differently in M&S stores and the Ocado website.

Marks & Spencer in the news

As part of a move to attract more families, in February 2021 M&S launched its first own-brand baby care range, including nappies, baby wipes and bubble bath, called Little Smiles.

In January 2021, M&S said it would give an extra £5 to families receiving the government's weekly £15 free school meals vouchers during the lockdown.

In December 2020, it launched its Fill Your Own concept – more than 50 lines of refillable grocery products designed to reduce packaging waste – at a third of UK store. It plans to roll it out further in the future.

M&S reported its first half-year loss in 94 years in November 2020 as clothing and home product sales fell during the pandemic. Food sales were up by 3% though. 

Online is the new frontier for M&S food, having paid £750m for half of Ocado’s UK retail business in February 2019 in a new joint venture that has given M&S groceries an online presence for the first time. 

Marks & Spencer's plastic packaging

In April 2019, we investigated how much supermarket plastic packaging is recyclable. We ordered 46 of the most popular own-brand items from 11 major UK supermarket chains. We found 55% of Marks & Spencer's packaging, by item, was widely recyclable at the kerbside.

We also looked at how accurately the items in our basket were labelled with recycling advice. We found 43% of Marks & Spencer packaging was correctly labelled. See how M&S compared with other supermarkets and find out more about supermarket plastic packaging.

Find out more