We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Council tax calculator

Enter a postcode to see how much the local authority charges for each council tax band.

Council tax is charged on all homes in the UK to fund the work of local authorities.

The amount you pay is determined by the property you live in. Every property is given a 'tax band', based on its value on 1 April 1991 (or 1 April 2003 in Wales). 

Local authorities are able to set their own rates for each band, though there is a limit to how much these can be raised each year.

Use our calculator below to work out how much you'll pay in your local area (England, Wales and Scotland).

On 1 April 2021, some councils were merged and given a new name. The affected councils were:

  • Corby (now North Northamptonshire)
  • East Northamptonshire (now North Northamptonshire)
  • Kettering (now North Northamptonshire)
  • Wellingborough (now North Northamptonshire)
  • Daventry (now West Northamptonshire)
  • Northampton (now West Northamptonshire)
  • South Northamptonshire (now West Northamptonshire)

Do I have to pay council tax?

Some properties are exempt from council tax, based on who normally lives there or how it's being used.

Exempt properties include those occupied by students, under-18s and armed forces accommodation.

You can find out more in our guide: what is council tax?

What is my property's tax band?

In England, your property's tax band is based on its value on 1 April 1991. If your property was built later, an equivalent value will be worked out by the Valuation Office and assigned to the property.

The thresholds for each band are the same throughout England.

Scotland and Wales have slightly different systems for calculating council tax, while Northern Ireland continues to apply the old domestic rates system.

To learn more, read our guide to council tax bands.