We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Which dishwasher brand to buy in 2019

By Aaron West

Unique Which? reliability and customer satisfaction data helps you to choose a dishwasher brand that lasts. We survey owners of AEG, Bosch, Miele, Neff, Siemens dishwashers to find out which brands develop the fewest faults over time, and which keep their customers happiest.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

In this article:

Blocked drains and worsening cleaning and drying are just some of the faults that plague dishwashers. But if you buy from the most reliable brands, you're much less likely to have the hassle of fixing these.

Knowing which brands develop the most faults, and how quickly, is vital when you're buying a new dishwasher. That’s why each year we ask more than 7,000 Which? members in our unique reliability and customer satisfaction survey to tell us whether they're happy with their home appliances, or if they've experienced problems. 

Our survey data takes into account the reported fault rates, severity of these faults and the speed with which they occurred. We've crunched the numbers on the biggest dishwasher manufacturers – including AEG, Bosch, Miele, Neff and Siemens – and have calculated a reliability rating and customer score for each, so you know which brands to choose and which to avoid.

Best vs worst dishwasher brands compared 

As you can see, there's a big difference between the best and worst dishwashers, most and least reliable brands, and the satisfaction score reported by customers.

The most reliable dishwasher brands 

The table below summarises this year’s reliability results. Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether their customers would recommend it. The higher the percentage score for reliability, the fewer the problems reported.

Only logged-in Which? members can view which brands are the most and least reliable, and which our members are most satisfied with, in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand Reliability score Customer satisfaction score
88% 83%
88% 77%
87% 87%
87% 84%
86% 69%
84% 65%
83% 68%
81% 74%
78% 66%
78% 65%
78% 75%
76% 71%
Table notes
The above data is based on a survey conducted on 3,211 Which? members in September 2019.

Key

Member Content

Common dishwasher problems 

The most common problem people experience with their dishwasher is a drop in how well it cleans. 

Other common issues include not draining properly (leaving a pool of water in the bottom of the dishwasher), and not drying, which accounts for 7% of all the dishwasher faults reported in our survey.

Faults in the internal electrics of the dishwasher stood for nearly 6%. This could be due to internal wiring or shortages.

Blocked pipes, broken control panels and broken dish racks were among the other faults reported.

Which dishwasher brand stays fault-free for longest? 

The graph above shows how the brand that stays fault-free for longest compares with the worst brand, as well as the overall average. Which? members can see how brands compare for faults over an eight-year period in the table below.

Only logged-in Which? members can view which brands stay fault-free for longest in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access. 

Brand % fault-free after eight years
85%
84%
84%
83%
81%
79%
78%
78%
77%
75%
73%
69%
Table notes
Results based on feedback from 3,211 dishwasher owners, surveyed in September 2019.

Key

Member Content

How long will my dishwasher last?

On average, a dishwasher will last 10 years. This is based on the experiences of Which? members who told us how long they kept their previous appliance before they replaced it because of a fault. But, as you can see from the graph below, there’s a big difference between how long the best and the worst brands last. 

Which? members can log in to view which dishwasher brands last the longest before they need to be replaced. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

How we measure faults and reliability in dishwashers

The table data takes into account minor, major and catastrophic faults (see below).

  • Minor A fault that doesn't affect the product's performance significantly, or a fault that only occurs occasionally with minimal impact. This issue may be irritating or annoying, but it isn't frequently problematic and you can easily work around it. For example, an unusually noisy motor or a small amount of water leakage.
  • Major A fault that has a noticeable effect on the product’s performance. This fault affects how you use the product, and can be problematic. For example, the cutlery rack or basket breaking, or a drop in how well the dishwasher dries.
  • Catastrophic A fault that renders the product unusable, with the fault needing to be repaired or parts replaced before you can use it again. For example, a key electrical fault which causes the dishwasher's control panel to be unresponsive.

Dishwasher brands rated 

Choose a brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey.

Only logged-in Which? members can view the hidden results in the tables below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access. 

AEG dishwashers overview table
Number tested 5
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 123 AEG dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well AEG dishwashers score for reliability, and how AEG fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their AEG dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Beko dishwashers overview table
Number tested 21
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 180 Beko dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Beko dishwashers score for reliability, and how Beko fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their Beko dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Bosch dishwashers overview table
Number tested 31
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Loyalty score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 1,410 Bosch dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Bosch dishwashers score for reliability, and how Bosch fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Neff and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their Bosch dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Hotpoint dishwashers overview table
Number tested 16
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 210 Hotpoint dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Hotpoint dishwashers score for reliability, and how Hotpoint fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their Hotpoint dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Miele dishwashers overview table
Number tested 27
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 360 Miele dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Miele dishwashers score for reliability, and how Miele fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Siemens.
  • Find out what the most common problems people have with their Miele dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Neff dishwashers overview table
Number tested 0
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 302 Neff dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Neff dishwashers score for reliability, and how Neff fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their Neff dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Siemens dishwashers overview table
Number tested 4
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of all models tested and available in October 2019. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September 2019 of 210 Siemens dishwasher owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how well Siemens dishwashers score for reliability, and how Siemens fares against rival dishwasher brands such as Bosch and Miele.
  • Discover the most common problems people have with their Siemens dishwasher.
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.

Head to our dishwasher reviews

Know which dishwasher brand you want? Use the link to go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

How we calculate the best and worst brands 

Which? has a wealth of information on Britain's favourite brands. Every year we ask Which? members to tell us about the home appliances they own – from how likely they would be to recommend a brand, to how reliable the products are once they get them home. This year 7,917 Which? members told us about more than 25,000 individual products. We calculate a brand's reliability and its customer score based on the results of our annual survey.

Our reliability surveys, combined with our extensive lab tests, mean we can recommend the best dishwashers you should buy.

This data is crucial for our testing, too. If a brand falls far below the category average, we take away the manufacturer’s Best Buy status and won’t recommend any of its products unless it shows a marked improvement in reliability.

Dishwasher repairs 

We've investigated what to do about some of the trickier problems you might encounter with your dishwasher, surveying 106 appliance repairers about what advice they'd give for fixing faults with dishwashers and other home appliances.

Repairers’ advice: Repairers were most likely to recommend getting a professional to fix it. One said: ‘It’s easy to damage the replacement part if you don’t know what you're doing,’ and others also stressed the importance of doing the job correctly.

Cost of professional repair: around £65.

Our advice: Check the instruction manual – it should explain how to fit a new spray arm yourself. If not, get a repairer in.

Repairers’ advice: Getting it fixed professionally was recommended by more repairers than replacing it or doing it yourself. ‘If it’s not done correctly, it could cause more damage to the dishwasher,’ said one repairer.

Cost of professional repair: around £55.

Our advice: You might be able to see and easily remove the glass causing the blockage by lifting the main large filter under the bottom spray arm. If you can’t see any blockage or can’t get it out, call a repairer.

Repairers’ advice: Slightly more repairers advised getting it fixed professionally than replacing the entire machine. ‘Securing the door is important, so brand new door locks would be the best option,’ said one who was in favour of replacement.

Cost of professional repair: around £70.

Our advice: Consider a replacement if the machine is old – otherwise, get a repairer to fix it.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all dishwashers