We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Home & garden.

When you click on a retailer link on our site, we may earn affiliate commission to help fund our not-for-profit mission.Find out more.

Updated: 11 May 2022

Best reusable freezer bags

We tested silicone and PEVA reusable freezer bags to see which are best and whether they're worth buying over a standard plastic freezer bag
Sam Morris
Stack of freezer bags in freezer.

To find out which reusable freezer bags coped best at freezing, which leaked, which were most durable and which were easiest to use and clean, we've put 10 of the most popular reusable freezer bags to the test since we first started testing them in 2020. Our most recent tests were carried out in May 2022.

We've tested six popular silicone freezer bags and four PEVA freezer bags – the most common materials available for this type of premium product – from brands including Joie, Green Island and Mlife and from popular retailers including Amazon, Lakeland and The Range. You can learn more about the different types of freezer bag further down the page. 

We deliberately didn't include a selection of the less sturdy bags that also pop up when you search for 'reusable freezer bags'. That's because even though these can be used in the freezer and are resealable, that doesn’t mean you can reuse them in the same way as these bags we tested, which are thicker and sturdier.

We know this because we tested one of these types of less-sturdy bags, from Xup Zip, and you can see how it compared with the sturdier bags in our results below. Spoiler alert: not great.

Two of the reusable bags we've previously tested have since been discontinued, but we have two reusable freezer bags from those currently on sale that we can recommend as well worth buying: one earned our Best Buy and one our Great Value recommendation.

Prices and availability last checked 29 April 2022.


Tips for living well - get our free Food & Health newsletter: shop savvy, eat well, stay healthy


The best reusable freezer bags

Only logged-in Which? members can view the reusable freezer bag test results below. If you're not yet a member, you'll see an alphabetically ordered list of the reusable freezer bags we tested.

Join Which? to get instant access to our test scores and to find out which reusable freezer bag is our Best Buy.

Green Island Ziplock Bags

Green Island reusable freezer bag

Only available at Green Island: £10.95 for 1

Date tested: December 2020

Material: Silicone

Key specs: Zip seal, Dishwasher safe, available in 1L and 1.5L bags

For every item sold Green Island states it will plant a tree. But it's not going to help your carbon footprint if you need to replace these reusable freezer bags sooner than you thought because they're not up to scratch.

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Joie Large PEVA Reusable Food Storage Bags

Joie Large Food Storage Reusable FreezerBags pack of 6

Cheapest price: £4.99 for 6 available at The Range, also available at Amazon

Date tested: May 2022

Material: PEVA

Key specs: Press seal, Not dishwasher safe, pack contains six 1.4L bags

A good capacity bag at a tempting price, but did these Joie food storage bags pass our tests?

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Kitchen Elements Premium Reusable Food Storage Bags

Kitchen Elements reusable freezer bags

Cheapest price: £19.99 for 6, available at Amazon, also available at Kitchen Elements.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: Silicone 

Key specs: Zip seal, dishwasher safe, pack contains four 1L and two 1.5L bags

The price of these freezer bags includes a handy gadget you clip to the sides of the bag to hold it open when you fill it.

Did it make a difference to what we thought of them?

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results


A great freezer bag needs a great freezer. Read our expert advice on getting the Best Freezer to suit your needs


Kollea Reusable Sandwich Bags

Kollea reusable freezer bag

Only available at Amazon£13.99 for 12.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: PEVA

Key specs: Press seal, Not dishwasher safe, pack contains six 0.18L and six 0.52L bags

Kollea says its reusable freezer bags are easy to clean, leakproof, and thick enough so you can't smell the contents inside. We found one of these claims to be untrue.

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Mlife Reusable Freezer Bags

Only available at Amazon£8.99 for 7.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: PEVA 

Key specs: Press seal, Not dishwasher safe, pack contains seven 0.65L bags

Leakproof, durable and easy to store away are some of the claims Mlife makes about these reusable freezer bags. 

To find out whether our testing results meant we agreed or not, log in now or join Which? to unlock all our reviews.

Russbe Reusable Freezer Bags

Cheapest price: £13.49 for 8 available at Amazon, Lakeland.

Date tested: May 2022

Material: PEVA

Key specs: Press seal, dishwasher safe, pack contains eight 3.7L bags

This multipack of Russbe freezer bags have a big capacity, perfect for freezing up big batches of food for the family.

Some reviews on the Lakeland website said these bags are difficult to clean and open, but we've tested both of these things and found results to the contrary.

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results


Looking for other Great Value kitchenware? Here are five kitchen utensils for under £10 that we love


Serveup Silicone Reusable Food Storage Bags

SERVEUP  resuable food storage freezer bags pack of 20

Only available at Amazon: £15.99 for 20

Date tested: May 2022

Material: Silicone

Key specs: Press seal, not dishwasher safe, pack contains six 0.3L, six 1L , six 1.5L, and two 3.7L bags

This multipack is great value, but a great freezer bag needs to not leak and not retain the smell of food once cleaned. We tested for both of these, and these bags were great at one of the them, but not the other.

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Stasher Reusable Food Storage Bag

Stasher reusable freezer bag

Cheapest price: £11.66 for 1 (450ml) available at Amazon, Boobalou.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: Silicone 

Key specs: Press seal, dishwasher safe, available in 0.29L, 0.45L and 1.9L sizes 

Stasher is one of the better known reusable freezer bag brands and is sold by a number of big retailers including Lakeland and JoJo Maman Bebe. 

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Soreli Reusable Freezer Bags 

Soreli reusable freezer bag

Only available at Amazon: £16.99 for 4.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: Silicone

Key specs: Zip seal, dishwasher safe, pack contains four 1L bags

The Soreli reusable freezer bags looked identical to us to the Kitchen Elements bags we also tested, but did our results reflect this seeming similarity?

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results

Xup Zip Food Storage Bags

Only available at Amazon: £9.99 for 40.

Date tested: December 2020

Material: Plastic

Key specs: Press seal, not dishwasher safe, pack contains 40 4.5L bags

We added one non-silicone or PEVA freezer bag to our test to see if it could match the other premium options. Did Xup Zip exceed expectations? Nope.

Log in now or join Which? to unlock all our test results and find a reusable freezer bag that's worth it. 

Zip Top Reusable Food Storage Container Large Cup

Zip Top Reusable Silicone Food Container Large Cup

Cheapest price: £16.99 for 1 available at Lakeland, also available at Amazon (set of 3).

Date tested: May 2022

Material: Silicone

Key specs: Press seal, dishwasher safe, available in 0.23L, 0.26L, 0.47L and 0.7L sizes

This top seller at Lakeland has a rigid cup design, allowing it to stand upright, and 'pour corners' for easy decanting. It is one of the more expensive reusable bags we've tested, did we find it was worth spending extra on?

Log in now or join Which? to unlock our test results


Looking for a low-price freezer? Check out our run down of the Best cheap freezers and chest freezers


Types of reusable freezer bags

Food-grade silicone – a popular choice because of its impressive durability. A silicone freezer bag should outlive your average resealable plastic food bag by years. You can even put silicone freezer bags in the oven and microwave.

PEVA (polyethylene vinyl acetate) – the material is a type of non-chlorinated vinyl and is commonly used as a safer substitute for PVC (a mass produced plastic that contains harmful chemicals). You'll often find shower curtains made from this material. Unlike silicone, PEVA is biodegradable which means its lifespan is shorter but it's also easier to recycle.

All the reusable freezer bags we tested can be used to store all foods: from meat and fish to fruit and veg.  

PEVA vs silicone freezer bags: what's the difference? 

While a number of the silicone bags did well, the PEVA bags we tested did a lot better on the whole.

Based on our testing alone, we’d recommend the PEVA. It's just an added bonus that PEVA bags also tend to be cheaper than silicone bags.

Functionality – silicone is able to withstand more extreme temperatures. Unlike silicone, PEVA can't be used in the oven or microwave and are typically hand-wash only

Lifespan – silicone isn't biodegradable, whereas PEVA is. This does mean that silicone freezer bags will last you longer

Recyclability – Both types can be recycled (though silicone recycling centres are more limited) so both are an eco-friendly alternative to standard resealable plastic bags

Seal type – while not a hard and fast rule, we've seen press seals (where you push the bag's sides together) are more commonly used on PEVA bags, while zip seals (where you pull a plastic bar across to close the bag) appear more often on silicone freezer bags. Overall we've found press seals far easier and quicker to use. 

Odour – our testing has found bags of both types can have residual food smell after being used and cleaned. On the whole, however, we found silicone tends to hold more smell than PEVA.

PEVA vs silicone freezer bags: what's the difference? 

Functionality – silicone is able to withstand more extreme temperatures. Unlike silicone, PEVA can't be used in the oven or microwave and are typically hand-wash only

Lifespan – silicone isn't biodegradable, whereas PEVA is. This does mean that silicone freezer bags will last you longer

Recyclability – Both types can be recycled (though silicone recycling centres are more limited) so both are an eco-friendly alternative to standard resealable plastic bags

Seal type  while not a hard and fast rule, we've seen press seals (where you push the bag's sides together) more commonly used on PEVA bags, while zip seals (where you pull a plastic bar across to close the bag) appear more often on silicone freezer bags.

Odour – even after following cleaning instructions, we still found that most silicone and PEVA bags had some residual staining and still smelled. We found one type of bag tends to hold more smell than the other though.

We found some key differences in our tests that Which? members can log in to read. Not a member? Join Which?


Our guide on storing food safely in the freezer can help make sure your frozen food is in the best shape when you get around to eating it


How to clean reusable freezer bags

Washing your reusable freezer bags correctly is vital to getting the most use out of them. 

PEVA bags should be hand washed to avoid the seal warping at hot temperatures. 

Silicone can be washed in the dishwasher but any zip seals can't, despite what some of the advertising we came across led us to believe. 

It’s best to let reusable freezer bags air dry where possible.

Even after following these instructions we still found that most silicone and PEVA bags had some residual staining and still smelled. 

Five tips when buying and using reusable freezer bags

Labelled freezer bag.
  1. Not all bags in a pack are guaranteed to be of the same quality. We found several leakers within some multipacks we tested
  2. It's best to label silicone bags on the rigid outer sides. Their main body wasn't the best base for the marker.
  3. Seal type makes a big difference. We found big differences in usability between the press seal (on the right) and the zip seal.
  4. Stated capacity isn't always true capacity and in many cases you will only be told the dimensions of the bag not the capacity.
  5. Some plastic freezer bags might be sold as 'reusable' but that doesn't necessarily mean they are.

How we tested these reusable freezer bags

We've tested silicone and PEVA reusable freezer bags, and one plastic reusable freezer bag.

We researched which companies people most commonly search for reusable freezer bags from. We then picked the most popular bags that fitted the premium freezer bag description from those companies.

We ordered and paid for all of the freezer bags we tested, just like you would. Which? doesn't accept freebies, which means you can trust us to tell consumers the truth. 

If a pack came with multiple sizes, we tested one of each in our seal ease of use and leakage tests. For the remaining tests we used single bag from each multipack, opting for the middle-sized one from the pack.

Seal ease of use

On the left a plastic bar seal and on the right a press seal
We tested the bag seals by opening and closing each 100 times. We rated how easy the bag seals were to open and close at the beginning and the end of our ease of use test.

Leakage

Leaking freezer bag.
To test for leaks we filled the bags with water to their capacity and held them upside down. We did this just before commencing the seal ease of use test, on the 50th try in the ease of use test and after 100 tries. This helped mimic 100 uses of the seal. Disappointingly, not all the bags passed this test.

Durability

To test the bags' strength we filled them to capacity and sat popular frozen items on top of them. We used a 500kg frozen item, a 1kg frozen item, and a 1.5kg item to mimic what these bags would likely be sitting under within your freezer draw. 

500g frozen item on top of a freezer bag.

Freezing ability

We put tomato pasta sauce or tomato soup into the bags, which were then stored in the freezer for 21 hours and marked on whether there was any notable freezer burn or damage.

Freezer bags in freezer draw.

Cleaning

After decanting the garlicy tomato pasta or tomato soup, we washed all the bags according to their instructions. We left them to air dry and then ranked them from the most stained to least stained, and most smelly to least smelly. 

Labelling

Before the bags went into the freezer, we labelled each bag using the appropriate black marker pen to see which was easiest to label and how many stayed on for the duration of the 21 hours in the freezer.

Freezer bags after freezing with labels on.

Read our Best cool boxes reviews to find the perfect travel container to keep your food cool while on the move