We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Which washer-dryer brand to buy in 2019

Unique Which? reliability and customer satisfaction data can help you to choose a washer-dryer brand that lasts. We survey owners of AEG, Bosch, Hotpoint, Indesit, Miele and Zanussi washer-dryers to find out which develop the fewest faults over time and which brands customers are happiest with and would recommend.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

In this article:

Choose the wrong washer-dryer and it could be costly. More than a quarter of washer-dryer faults owners reported to us were classed as catastrophic, which meant their washer-dryer ended up unusable. Failing to dry properly is the most common washer-dryer fault. 

Knowing which brands develop the most faults and how quickly is vital when you're buying a new washer-dryer. That’s why each year we survey more than 700 Which? members in our unique reliability and customer satisfaction survey to find out whether they're happy, or have experienced problems with their washer-dryers. 

Our survey data takes into account the reported fault rates, severity of these faults and the speed with which they occurred. In our latest analysis we've looked at the performance of the biggest washer-dryer manufacturers – including AEG, Bosch, Hotpoint, Indesit, Miele and Zanussi – and have calculated a reliability rating and customer score for each so you know which brands to choose – and which to avoid.
 

 Best vs worst washer-dryer brands compared 

We found a lot of variation between washer-dryer brands, as shown in the graph above. The biggest difference was seen for customer satisfaction where the best brand scored 85% and the worst just 56%.

 The most reliable washer-dryer brands 

The table below summarises this year’s reliability results. Brands are ranked by their customer score, which relates to whether their customers would recommend it. 

Only logged-in Which? members can view which brands achieved the ratings and verdicts in the table below. If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand Reliability score Customer satisfaction score
70% 85%
66% 79%
76% 74%
68% 72%
73% 70%
64% 70%
70% 60%
69% 56%
Table notes
The above data is based on a survey of 740 Which? members in September-October 2018.

Key

Member Content

 Common washer-dryer problems 

Failing to dry properly is the most common fault experienced by washer-dryer owners. A blocked filter, noisy machine and electrical failure were also common issues.

Owners believe their washer-dryer should remain fault free for at least nine years. But we found that after just six years, a third of those buying a washer-dryer from the worst-rated manufacturer for reliability reported a fault.


Paying more for a washer-dryer won’t guarantee yours remains fault free. Of the washer-dryer brands that owners told us about, the brand where they'd paid out the least on average on average scored an impressive four out of five for reliability.

 Which washer-dryer brand stays fault free for longest? 

The graph above shows how the washer-dryer brand that stays fault-free for longest compares with the worst brand and the overall average. Which? members can see how brands compare for faults over an eight-year period in the table below.
  

If you're not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Brand name % fault-free after eight years
80%
77%
71%
71%
70%
70%
69%
66%
Table notes
Results based on feedback from 740 washer-dryer owners, surveyed in September-October 2018.

Key

Member Content

How we measure faults and reliability in washer-dryers

The table data takes into account minor, major and catastrophic faults (see below).

  • Minor A fault that doesn't affect the product's performance significantly or a fault that only occurs occasionally with minimal impact. The issue may be irritating or annoying but it isn't frequently problematic and you can easily work around it. For example, a machine that is unusually noisy.
  • Major A fault that has a noticeable effect on the product’s performance. This fault affects how you use the product and can be problematic. For example, a faulty sensor.
  • Catastrophic A fault that renders the product unusable, with the fault needing to be repaired or parts replaced before it can be used again. For example, an electrical failure.

Washer-dryer brands rated 

Choose a brand from the list below to find out more detail about its performance in our survey.

AEG washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 5
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 175 AEG washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how reliable a washer-dryer from AEG is compared to rival brands such as Hotpoint, Bosch and Zanussi
  • Discover how many AEG washer-dryers develop minor, major and catastrophic faults
  • Find out what the most commonly experienced fault is
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Bosch washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 6
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 108 Bosch washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Discover how many Bosch washer-dryers develop faults after each year of use
  • Find out what the most common fault is – and whether it’s just a minor annoyance, or a problem that significantly impacts your machine’s performance
  • Reveal how satisfied customers are with a Bosch washer-dryer
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Hotpoint washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 12
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 61 Hotpoint washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Discover how satisfied customers are after buying a Hotpoint washer-dryer
  • See how many Hotpoint washer-dryers become faulty in the first year
  • Find out how well Hotpoint washer-dryers fare on reliability compared with other brands such as Indesit and Zanussi
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Indesit washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 9
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 52 Indesit washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Discover whether the price you pay affects the chance of your machine becoming faulty
  • See how satisfied Indesit customers are after buying a washer-dryer
  • Find out how many Indesit washer-dryer faults are simply irritations and how many render the washer-dryer unusable
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
John Lewis washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 2
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 77 John Lewis washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Discover the most common issues found among John Lewis washer-dryers
  • Find out how satisfied customers are after buying a John Lewis washer-dryer
  • See whether you can trust a John Lewis washer-dryer to stay fault free
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Miele washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 2
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 45 Miele washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • We reveal whether splashing out on a Miele will get you a more reliable washer-dryer
  • Find out what the most common issues are with Miele washer-dryers
  • See how well Miele washer-dryers have done in our tests
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.
Zanussi washer-dryers overview table
Number tested in the past three years 6
Number of Best Buys
Average test score
Brand reliability score
Customer score (%)
Typical spend
Table notes Average test score based on results of tested models that are still available. The customer score and brand reliability rating are based on a Which? member survey conducted in September-October 2018 of 64 Zanussi washer-dryer owners. The customer score is based on whether members would recommend the brand to a friend, and reliability is based on members’ experience of that brand. Table last updated 4 December 2018.

Key

Member Content
  • Find out how many faults a Zanussi washer-dryer develops compared with rivals such as AEG, Bosch and Indesit
  • Discover the most common problems owners of Zanussi washer-dryers face
  • See how many Zanussi washer-dryers develop minor, major and catastrophic faults
  • Only logged-in Which? members can view our exclusive reliability ratings and verdicts. If you're not yet a member, Join Which? to get instant access.

Head to our washer-dryer reviews

Know which washer-dryer brand you want? Use the links to go straight to our reviews and find your ideal model:

 How we calculate the best and worst brands 

Which? has a wealth of information on Britain's favourite washer-dryer brands. Every year we ask Which? members to tell us about the washer-dryer products they own - from how likely they would be to recommend a brand, to how reliable the products are once they get them home. This year 740 Which? members told us about their washer-dryers. We calculate a brand's reliability and its customer score based on the results of our annual survey.

Our reliability surveys, combined with our extensive lab tests, mean we can recommend the best washer-dryers you should buy.

This data is crucial for our testing, too. If a brand falls far below the category average, we take away the manufacturer’s Best Buy status and won’t recommend any of their products unless a marked improvement in reliability is shown.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all washer-dryers