We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to analyse site performance to improve your experience and for advertising. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies as per our cookie policy which also explains how you can change your cookie preferences at any time.

Top five best Blu-ray DVD players for 2018

By Callum Tennent

Blu-ray players are no longer only about watching in 1080p Full-HD; 4K Ultra HD is upon us. Here are the best Blu-ray and 4K UHD players of 2017.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Blu-ray players bring high-definition films from the cinema to your living room. The step up from DVD to Blu-ray 1080p (Full-HD) picture is noticeably different: colour, detail and sharpness is better - ideal for large screen TVs and projectors.

But the benefits don't end there - most Blu-ray players also come with Smart TV apps such as BBC iPlayer, Netflix and Amazon Video. Some support 3D and 4K playback too, with 4K or Ultra HD (UHD) offering up to four times the detail of Full HD pictures. The first Ultra HD are now available but unless you own a 4K TV, there is no need to buy into the format just yet.

The best Blu-ray players of 2017 will all make your favourite films look crystal clear and sound great without the buffering you can experience when streaming online video. To that end we've picked out five of the top models available right now from top brands like Samsung, Sony, LG and Panasonic.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, you can get instant access by taking a £1 trial to Which?

Top 5 best Blu-ray DVD players of 2018

Lowest price (in stock) £179.00
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

One of the new generation of Ultra HD Blu-ray players, offering an increased colour range, 4K resolution and the promise of more realistic pictures. 4K streaming apps and backwards compatibility with DVDs, Blu-rays and 3D Blu-rays mean that this player should have everything required to be your home entertainment hub. But how did it fare in our rigorous lab tests? Read on to find out.

Typical price £379.00
Which? score 71%
Reviewed Jul 2015
Picture quality:
5 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
5 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A premium Blu-ray player with a modern-but-elegant traditional design. As well as playing DVDs, 2D and 3D Blu-rays, it can also be used with an Ultra-HD (4K) TV to upscale Blu-rays to 4K (Ultra HD) resolution and display 4K Jpegs. It is packed full of features, such as wi-fi, smart-TV apps, screen mirroring with Android devices, plus many audio sockets for amps, receivers, speakers and sound bars, to satisfy those serious about their home cinema. On paper it promises a lot, but did it live up this when we took it to the test lab? Read on to find out.

Typical price £700.00
Which? score 69%
Reviewed Dec 2017
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

There's no denying that this is a lot of money to pay for a 4K Blu-ray DVD player, but it could actually be worth it to anyone looking for the ultimate home cinema setup - this player is one for the purists, but it certainly delivers. Read the full review to find out which model we're talking about.

Lowest price (in stock) £99.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

It's not a true 4K player, but it can upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs with the best of them, too. It comes with smart apps and built-in wi-fi so you can be fully connected to the internet without the need for wires - and of course the sound and picture quality impress, too. Read our full expert review to find out more about the player in question.

Lowest price (in stock) £64.00
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This Blu-ray player is packed with plenty of smart features for a very reasonable price. It may not rate quite as highly as other models in this table, but for the price it offers outstanding value. If you're not too fussy and are angling for a deal ahead of market-leading performance this could well be the product for you.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

And here's three to avoid

Three Blu-ray DVD players to avoid

Lowest price (in stock) £89.99
Which? score 48%
Reviewed Jul 2015
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
1 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

An entry-level Blu-ray DVD player which also offers access to Smart TV apps, such as BBC iPlayer and Netflix over an ethernet or wi-fi connection. It lacks 3D Blu-ray playback found on models higher up in Sony's range but it offers a 'screen mirroring' feature to display videos on TV from an Android device. It fared poorly in our testing though - don't make the mistake of purchasing it.

Lowest price (in stock) £168.00
Which? score 50%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
1 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A top-of-the-range Blu-ray player, with 4K upscaling and a focus on high-quality audio playback. With wi-fi and other useful features, this model has almost everything you could ask for from a Blu-ray player - or so it seems. Read the full review to see where it goes wrong.

Lowest price (in stock) £234.99
Which? score 51%
Reviewed Jun 2017
Picture quality:
3 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
2 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscale to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

Are you a big-time cinephile with money to burn? Then say hello to the latest top-of-the-range 4K Blu-ray player from one of the world's biggest electronics brand. With an obscene number of features, and a price tag to match, it looked to be the definitive 4K Blu-ray player we've all been waiting for - but it fell seriously short of the mark.

What makes a brilliant Blu-ray DVD player

When we test Blu-ray players we make sure that we've got all angles covered, so that when you buy one you can do so with confidence. Of course we rate the picture and sound quality, but Which?'s unique testing goes deeper than that.

We watch a variety of movies to see how different colours and shades of light are depicted. We measure how well each player deals with motion blur during hectic scenes and whether you can tell where a regular Blu-ray has been upscaled to 4K, as well as what the standard definition and 3D picture looks like.

As you can see from the tables above, price is no indicator of a good Blu-ray player, and there are some bargains to be had - just as there are enticing, expensive pitfalls to avoid. Our testing also demonstrates just how big the gap between a good and bad Blu-ray player can be: just like TVs can drastically vary in quality, so can Blu-ray players.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all blu-ray dvd players