We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Top five best Blu-ray DVD players for 2018

By Callum Tennent

Blu-ray players are no longer only about watching in 1080p Full-HD; 4K Ultra HD is upon us. Here are the best Blu-ray and 4K UHD players of 2017.

Put us to the test

Our Test Labs compare features and prices on a range of products. Try Which? to unlock our reviews. You'll instantly be able to compare our test scores, so you can make sure you don't get stuck with a Don't Buy.

Blu-ray players bring high-definition films from the cinema to your living room. The step up from DVD to Blu-ray 1080p (Full-HD) picture is noticeably different: colour, detail and sharpness is better - ideal for large screen TVs and projectors.

But the benefits don't end there - most Blu-ray players also come with Smart TV apps such as BBC iPlayer, Netflix and Amazon Video. Some support 3D and 4K playback too, with 4K or Ultra HD (UHD) offering up to four times the detail of Full HD pictures. The first Ultra HD are now available but unless you own a 4K TV, there is no need to buy into the format just yet.

The best Blu-ray players of 2017 will all make your favourite films look crystal clear and sound great without the buffering you can experience when streaming online video. To that end we've picked out five of the top models available right now from top brands like Samsung, Sony, LG and Panasonic.

Only logged-in Which? members can view our recommendations in the table below. If you’re not yet a member, join Which? to get instant access.

Top 5 best Blu-ray DVD players of 2018

Typical price £700.00
Which? score 76%
Reviewed May 2018
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

There's no denying that this is a lot of money to pay for a 4K Blu-ray DVD player, but it could actually be worth it to anyone looking for the ultimate home cinema setup - this player is one for the purists, but it certainly delivers. Read the full review to find out which model we're talking about.

Typical price £419.00
Which? score 74%
Reviewed May 2018
Picture quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

An unconventional choice, this 4K Blu-ray player also serves as an app-rich streaming device, a home media centre and more. It's pricey, but the quality of its footage plus all those extra features really make it worthwhile.

Lowest price (in stock) £185.00
Which? score 73%
Reviewed May 2018
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

Featuring Dolby ATMOS audio to give you that cinema experience in the comfort of your own home, this smart-enabled player also has built-in Wi-Fi and can play a range of audio or video files - it could be your home entertainment hub for years to come.

Lowest price (in stock) £199.99
Which? score 72%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
5 out of 55 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

One of the new generation of Ultra HD Blu-ray players, offering an increased colour range, 4K resolution and the promise of more realistic pictures. 4K streaming apps and backwards compatibility with DVDs, Blu-rays and 3D Blu-rays mean that this player should have everything required to be your home entertainment hub. But how did it fare in our rigorous lab tests? Read on to find out.

Lowest price (in stock) £89.99
Which? score 66%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Plays 4K UHD discs:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

It's not a true 4K player, but it can upscale Blu-rays to 4K resolution and play 3D Blu-rays and DVDs with the best of them, too. It comes with smart apps and built-in wi-fi so you can be fully connected to the internet without the need for wires - and of course the sound and picture quality impress, too. Read our full expert review to find out more about the player in question.

Not found the product for you? Browse all of our Blu-ray DVD player reviews.

And here's three to avoid

Three Blu-ray DVD players to avoid

Lowest price (in stock) £165.90
Which? score 50%
Reviewed Jan 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
1 out of 51 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

A top-of-the-range Blu-ray player, with 4K upscaling and a focus on high-quality audio playback. With wi-fi and other useful features, this model has almost everything you could ask for from a Blu-ray player - or so it seems. Read the full review to see where it goes wrong.

Lowest price (in stock) £234.00
Which? score 51%
Reviewed Jun 2017
Picture quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
2 out of 52 out of 5
Features:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

Are you a big-time cinephile with money to burn? Then say hello to the latest top-of-the-range 4K Blu-ray player from one of the world's biggest electronics brand. With an obscene number of features, and a price tag to match, it looked to be the definitive 4K Blu-ray player we've all been waiting for - but it fell seriously short of the mark.

Lowest price (in stock) £54.00
Which? score 52%
Reviewed Jul 2016
Picture quality:
4 out of 54 out of 5
Sound quality:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Overall ease of use:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Features:
3 out of 53 out of 5
Plays 3D Blu-rays:
Member exclusive
Upscales to 4K/UHD:
Member exclusive
Smart enabled:
Member exclusive
Can apps be added:
Member exclusive
Wi-fi:
Member exclusive

This Blu-ray player isn't the worst model we've ever seen. But it's pretty unimpressive and you'll be far happier if you spend your money on a better device. Picture quality when watching DVDs is blurry and Blu-rays look dull. Sound quality could be better too while the lack of wi-fi connectivity means you'll have to plug the player in via an ethernet connection if you want to use any of the internet streaming features.

What makes a brilliant Blu-ray DVD player

When we test Blu-ray players we make sure that we've got all angles covered, so that when you buy one you can do so with confidence. Of course we rate the picture and sound quality, but Which?'s unique testing goes deeper than that.

We watch a variety of movies to see how different colours and shades of light are depicted. We measure how well each player deals with motion blur during hectic scenes and whether you can tell where a regular Blu-ray has been upscaled to 4K, as well as what the standard definition and 3D picture looks like.

As you can see from the tables above, price is no indicator of a good Blu-ray player, and there are some bargains to be had - just as there are enticing, expensive pitfalls to avoid. Our testing also demonstrates just how big the gap between a good and bad Blu-ray player can be: just like TVs can drastically vary in quality, so can Blu-ray players.

SHARE THIS PAGE

Related products

See all blu-ray dvd players